Surprise! A 26.2 Mile Long Announcement

Here is what I did last night.  It required wine and money.

Ta-da!

I am running the Chicago Marathon on October 10, 2010.  Or rather, I’m not, but Brie Marriedname is.  (WEIRD.)

(excuses self to vomit and hyperventilate)

I blame Caitlin, Meghann, Megan, Ashley, and Monica for their awesome Disney Marathon recaps.  And Marathon Challenge on PBS.

I can’t fully articulate why I did this.  I just know I watched all this going on a few weeks ago and said, “I have to do this.”

For those of you who haven’t seen it, Marathon Challenge is a nice little documentary about twelve average Joes who train to run a marathon.  Many of them were overweight, or had health problems, or were far older and had more commitments than I do.   I watched this and said, “Hell, if that lady can’t even run a mile and she finished the marathon, I definitely can.”  I have no children, and no commitments outside of going to work and loving Tim and the animals.  I am in good health, I’m young, and, appropriately, I’ll be 26 years old when I run it.  I don’t know that I’ll ever be in such a good position to train properly again

Sunday’s 10K also cemented this decision in my head.  I ran a 10K, not particularly fast, but smart.  I paced well.  I walked through aid stations.  I felt solid, and well-trained, and I realized, “hey, I’ve prepared for this, and I did a great job.”

I chose to run Chicago and not Kansas City for a few reasons. First of all, Chicago is known for being a flat, fast course, with great organization and crowd support.  Kansas City is not recommended for first time marathoners–it is a difficult course, very hilly and with a particularly treacherous uphill climb around mile 24.    I’ve heard it’s very scenic, though, and has a lot of support from the city, but I’m not ready for a difficult marathon.  Maybe in 2011!  Kansas City would have been cheaper and easier–no flying, no hotel–but I wanted to focus on the course primarily.

I also chose Chicago for sentimental reasons.  Chicago is my home.  Don’t get me wrong, I like living in Kansas City, but Chicago has my heart. My family and friends will be able to cheer for me there, and I’ll be running past the landmarks I’ve known so well since I was a child.   If I’m going to give a city 26.2 miles worth of blood, sweat, and tears, it’s gotta be Chicago.

Anyway, wish me luck.  I will probably start training in June with a Hal Higdon Novice plan, but I’ll work out the details later.   Stick around–I’m going to need the support.  And it’s always fun to watch a trainwreck, right?

31 Responses

  1. OMG. I just saw you tweet this and had to come right over. Holy moly you’redoingafrickinmarathon!!! I’m SO excited for you. It’s been pretty obvious that you’ve been dreaming of marathons lately so I’m proud you took the plunge. You can 100% do it. Time shmime, you’ll get past that finish line 😀

  2. That is SO awesome!!!! And so inspiring 🙂

  3. Awesome news, Brie! Good luck on your marathon adventure. I’m running in my first, as well. Somehow my husband convinced me that we should run Disney together. He has already run in a marathon and is willing to slow down his pace ( a lot) to run with me. I think it’s the dumbest thing I’ve ever agreed to, but it’s still kind of exciting at the same time.

    How cool to run 26 (.2) miles when you’re 26. I’ll be, ahem, 34 when Disney rolls around again next January.
    Lots of luck to you.

  4. Ahhhh!!! So excited! Good luck and totally feel free to email me if you have questions 🙂

    I would volunteer to do Chicago with ya, but I’m hoping to be in a far land by that point 😉

  5. Hi Brie, I am just a lurker, but thought I would wish you good luck! I read your blog like crazy and find you very inspiring. Reading your blog has helped me realize that getting in shape CAN be done, and you’ve motivated me to start running again.

    How did you find a good plan when you started running? Did you just get out there and run until you were tired or what? Sorry for all the questions, but you’ve just inspired me so much!

    • I just started running by adding a little bit every day–I’d run 30 seconds or a minute more than I had the day before, OR I’d run the same amount, but faster than I’d done it the day before.

      For beginners, check out the Couch to 5K program–I wish I’d known about it!

  6. Congrats! Signing up is one of the biggest hurdles in the entire process.
    Are you planning to run a half to prepare? I know its kind of soon, but Olathe has a nice flat one in April. 🙂

    • ZOMG, another KC running blogger? Hi! Yes, I’m running Olathe in April, and I am considering Hospital Hill in June too.

  7. How exciting!! I drunkenly signed up for the Berlin Marathon (September 26, 2010) right before New Years. *barf*, so I’ll be on a similar track as you! Except for the fact that I’ve never run further than 9K before. *double barf*.

    Good luck!!!

  8. Awesome job! I did Chicago a few years ago and LOVED it! You will too!!!!!

  9. awesome!! good luck with training. I’m way too scared to even attempt a marathon, even with my competitive racing past. I’m excited to read about how training plan!

  10. YAY!!! CONGRATS!! I didn’t know registration was open for the Chicago marathon! Its on my list for runs to do. Maybe in 2011 for my BQ. 🙂

    You are going to rock it!

  11. congrats! i knew you would, but wondered which one it would be. i want to sign up for disney princess half next march and maybe st.jude’s half in december this year. on 3/6, i’m running a spring training 10K here at home- my first.

  12. good luck!!! i am debating chicago myself. that marathon documentary on youtube really sold it for me, especially the part about how flat it is. i’m running the nashville half (my first!) in april, so timing/training wise, chicago would make sense.

    plus, chicago! what a great city. you will do great!

  13. YAY good luckkkkkkkkkkk! you can do it!

  14. Yay! I am running Chicago too 🙂

    I registered for KC last yeat but couldn’t run it because of a stress fracture.

  15. Good for you…I know you will do a fantastic job.

  16. WOOOOOOHOOOOO! That is so exciting! I want to run Chicago some day too – but decided to run Marine Corp here in DC again before I do so. The marathon was the most grueling and rewarding experience ever. You’re going to have so much fun!

  17. Oh wow, that’s so great!! I’m going to sign up for a half marathon that is in June pretty soon and couldn’t be more nervous/excited.

    Good luck ahead of time!

  18. You are going to do amazing!! I have never done a race, but I am excited for you and the journey…it will be a great accomplishment!

  19. Way to go, I’m glad you decided to to this. But you’re making me want to run the Detroit (one of my life goals is to run a marathon) and I’m in now way prepared to do so this year! I’ve got a half in the works for this summer/fall though. I’ll be following your training!

  20. Wow! Well done!!!
    I’ve been in Chicago when the marathon is and it made me consider running a marathon. Which is weird because I’m not a fan of running… I guess it’s just VERY inspiring.

    Good luck – I’m sure you’ll rock it!

  21. CONGRATULATIONS!!! you will do fantastic! Way to take charge and go for it. It is so inspiring, so thank you! It makes me want to sign up for it as well- my grandparents and aunts, uncles and cousins all live in chicago. I might just have to sign up for it too!

    🙂

  22. That’s great! You can absolutely do it! I’ve heard that Chicago is great for first-time marathoners too.

  23. That is awesome news! You’re going to do great. I wanted to thank you also for the inspiration – I’ve signed up for my first 5K in almost 2 years. I hope to run a 6 mile Mud Run in April.

  24. First time posting, but—That’s awesome! I saw that it’s on 10-10-10 and for some reason that makes me want to do it more than ever? Makes no real sense haha. But the Chicago Marathon is my MARATHON GOAL. I haven’t run longer than a four-mile race yet (though I’m set for the Shamrock Shuffle 8k in March) so I hesitate to sign up. But… I want to so BAD!! Good luck, you’re going to OWN it!

  25. How exciting for you! I am so totally jealous…all my running friends are doing Chicago this fall, and I’m DYING to, but I’m starting my teaching job this fall. Somehow I don’t think first year teaching + training for first marathon will allow me to maintain my sanity. 😦 At least I’ve got 2 halfs to look forward to this spring, lots of shorter summer races, and a possible half or 10k this fall. Best of luck with your training, you can do it!

  26. Good Luck!!! You can totally do this. I signed up for my first marathon out of work boredom. After I did my first, I signed up for a second. 🙂

  27. Just stumbled across your blog. Found you through Twitter. Congrats on registering for Chicago. I’ve heard great things about it.

  28. WOW!!! Congrats on registering for the Chicago marathon! What a great goal! I’m sure it was SCARY to actually sign up! You will do great and I can’t wait to follow along in your training!

  29. Woohooo!!! How exciting!!! You’re going to do great!!!

    I’m right there with you. Once I survive to half marathons in March, I’ll sign up for a marathon. I can’t believe I actually just said that!

    I’m really looking forward to following your training!

Leave a comment