Hurt Box/Love Box

So, about 12 hours after the 10K, the pain set in.  I really give my max effort in races, and my body was in the hurt box.   Before bed, I foam rolled and took some Advil and iced.   I felt 80% better in the morning, but my hips especially are feeling a bit tender.   Not in a bad hurty way, in a “wow, you worked hard!  Phew.” way.

Because he is awesome, Tim took over grocery shopping for me yesterday when I whined about my legs hurting.  As requested, he brought home a big bag of oranges.  I always get nervous about buying oranges–isn’t it the worst to get your hands all gross and spend time peeling an orange only for it to be mealy and flavorless?  But this one was delicious.  I predict lots of oranges in my future.

I’m traveling for work on Thursday and Friday, and I have to work Saturday, so I’m getting my mileage in early this week.  I fueled for a four miler with a Cherry Pie Larabar.  I’m not a big fan of this flavor–it’s super tart–but it was free and I’m cleaning out my snack drawer at work this week.  So, here’s an extreme close-up.

Meh.  Anyway, I made it to the gym and ran a lackluster 4 miles.  It was hard.  My legs hurt.  I wore my new tech tee, which was too loose and fluttered awkwardly when I ran.  I did it at a slow-ish pace for me–10:00/miles–and just did it.  Annoying, but another run in the books.

Rewind: a few weeks ago Leah mentioned she had finished Cleaving and was interested in a blogger book exchange.  I’m always up (down?) for reading, so I said I’d love to.  In exchange, I mailed her a Missouri-themed care package which I hope she will be receiving shortly.  Little did I know I’d be getting a lot more than a book!

I got a sweet note…

And lots and lots of goodies!

Tim was also super excited and helped me open everything.  (This may have been a slight re-enactment.)

Look at all this awesome stuff!

Holy cow.  Butter toffee peanuts, peppermint bark, and a dark chocolate espresso truffle bar.  (licks screen)

Pancake mix, marionberry syrup, and jams for breakfast!  (Tim was especially excited about these, since he is the designated pancake maker in our house.)

Tortellini soup mix and spinach dip mix (both of which I love).  Plus, some onion mustard that I could not get my camera to focus properly on.

And, of course, Cleaving, which I’m going to read as soon as I’m done with the book I’m working on now.

I may or may not have had some peppermint bark immediately.  Heh.

Thank you so much, Leah!

Anyway, I am tired and got home late and am about to have a glass of wine and do something wild and crazy and stupid.  Come back tomorrow to find out what it is!

8 Responses

  1. Peppermint bark is one of the best creations of all time… just sayin’

  2. wow, fun package! i’m jealous over here!

  3. Wow, thats an amazing package! And I have to agree with Amy about peppermint bark, there are not a lot of things better!

  4. I adore Clementine oranges. They are hard to find in the winter, but they are easy to peel and eat – and are just plain delicious.
    I hope you feel recovered soon!

  5. So glad you like it!!
    xoxo

  6. My best friend (and MOH) love your blog! She’s also getting married and I shared it with her. Love that your friend sent you a WA care package. I live in AZ, but was born and raised in Seattle and we’re getting married there! good luck with your races! My next one is in April, the Pat Tillman run! 🙂

  7. […] had taken me up on my offer to send her Cleaving so I threw together a little care package for her with the book. She sent me a box of goodies, direct from Kansas City in […]

Leave a Reply

