Tropical storms

Day two in Florida.  Of course, all day I was in meetings, from 7:30 am to 4:00 pm.  Boooring.

I did manage to sneak outside for a little while at lunch to enjoy the Florida sunshine!  The view from this hotel is absolutely incredible.  I found some nice lounge furniture and kicked up my heels and read for awhile.0603 001

0603 002 0603 003 0603 004

All in all, I have been fairly happy with the conference food.  The options have been reasonably healthy!  Of course, I’ve forgotten to photograph them.  So, imagine the following:

Breakfast:  Coffee.  Pineapple, canteloupe, strawberries, blackberries.  Banana nut mini-muffin.  Scrambled eggs.

Lunch: Minestrone soup.  Salad with spinach, grapefruit sections, blueberries, and a vinaigrette dressing.  About a quarter of some kind of flank steak wrap.  Tiny square of cookies n’ cream cheesecake.  (SO GOOD.)

Snacktime was provided.  I resisted, even though it looked pretty good.

pro_vab_101I wasn’t REALLY hungry.  I had my third cup of coffee for the day instead.  (Yes, I’m in caffeine overload.  I’ve also been drinking a ton of water—when I’m bored, I drink!)

Of course, by the time we were free for the afternoon and evening, torrential rain and thunderstorms had started.  My plans to relax on the beach were foiled. 

0603 005

Boo.  Hiss.

The planned dinner event was a four hour dinner and booze cruise.  I skipped it.  The thought of spending four hours on a boat on the stormy ocean didn’t sound appealing.  I totally would have gone if the weather had been nice and I could sit outside with a glass of wine and see the sights, but…staying inside in the pouring rain didn’t sound fun.

Instead I decided tonight called for some greasy pizza and trashy TV!  A total “me” night.  Completely unhealthy…but a little pizza once in awhile is fine by me.

0603 006

I am taking the day off running—I’ve run Sunday-Wednesday this week, and I have tomorrow afternoon off, so I’m planning on resting today and doing a “long” run tomorrow.  (Not THAT long yet—I’m hoping for 6 miles or so.)

In other news…we got the exciting news today that we’re going to be Aunt Brie and Uncle Tim to a BOY in October!  I’ve already been scouring Etsy for cute boy stuff.  I can’t wait!

What’s your favorite kind of pizza?

9 Responses

  1. What about running every other day instead of every day?

    I love Greek pizza…Feta, olives, artichoke hearts… The best!

  2. Greasy pizza + trashy tv sounds heavenly to me; a rocky boat in a Florida storm does not.
    When I was a kid in California, we used to go to a pizza place called Mountain Mike’s and they had the best veggie pizza. It’s been 18 years since I ate it last and I still think about it. Yum.

  3. That pizza looks pretty divine! We’ve been making pizza at home a lot lately and I like to use peppers and olives. But I do love a classic pepperoni!

  4. mmmmm….pizza. I made homemade pizza the other night with lots and lots of veggies.
    My all time fav is Hawaiian!

  5. Pineapple Jalapeno thin crust, extra sauce, light on the cheese!

  6. Congrats on becoming an auntie! Saw your other posts but didn’t respond.

    As for pizza I love a good veggie pizza or a Margherita pizza with fresh basil, tomato and mozzarella with a few crumbles of goat cheese, yum!

  7. Veggie or just regular pepperoni.

    Isn’t business travel ridiculously boring sometimes?

  8. My favorite pizza is a thin whole wheat crust, pesto sauce, mushrooms, artichoke hearts, tomatoes, mozzerella & parmesan! Mmm, just thinking about it makes me want some!

  9. Congrats on becoming an aunt!

    I looooove pizza. My go-to pizza is pepperoni, mushrooms, and red onions with mozzarella cheese.

    My favorite “fancy” pizza is olive oil (in place of sauce), spinach, red onion, sun dried tomatoes, mushrooms and mozzarella cheese. Sometimes I add pesto as the sauce.

Leave a Reply

