Lunchtime workout

So, lately…I’ve kind of been resenting the gym a little bit.  I have STUFF to do at home, what with, y’know, the wedding and all.  I also admit that the combination of our upcoming nuptials and being so busy/traveling so much have me feeling like a clingy koala bear and I want to spend as much time with Tim as possible.   If I go to the gym…I don’t get home until 6:30, have to shower, and basically make the quickest dinner possible.  Normally I don’t mind, but I just haven’t been feeling it lately.

But, that doesn’t mean I don’t want to work out.  Au contraire!  I’ve been craving a good workout all weekend.  So, today, I randomly decided to work out over my lunch hour!  My gym is only 0.4 miles away (according to Google) from my office, and the weather was nice. 

So, I had a little snack around 11:30:

0426 001

And at noon, I changed in my office, ran to the gym, and worked out!

I ran the 0.4 miles to the gym, then 1.5 miles on the treadmill.  (I decided to keep the run short to see how my knee/leg felt.  It felt awesome!  I’m going to try longer tomorrow.)  Then, I hit the weights and did…

  • 3 sets of 12 squats at 95 lbs.
  • 3 sets of 12 shoulder presses at 30 lbs.
  • 3 sets of 10 overhead lat pulldowns at 60 lbs
  • 3 sets of 10 underhand grip pulldowns at 60 lbs
  • 3 sets of 12 upright rows at 30 lbs.
  • 3 sets of 10 deadlifts at 40 lbs.

And sprinted the 0.4 mile back to my office.  All in all, it was quite a good workout—I think I’m going to keep this up, at least for the foreseeable future!  Obviously it won’t work for longer runs, but it’s definitely do-able, especially while the weather is nice.

I do need to make sure to bring some kind of powder for my face, some kind of body spray, and a change of undies for next time, though!  (I already keep deodorant and face wipes in my desk.)

I promptly devoured the rest of my lunch. 

Spinach with balsamic…

0426 002

A multigrain bagel…

 0426 003

And Greek yogurt with strawberries and a little GoLean crunch.

 0426 004

Around 4:00 I snacked on a Chocolate Raspberry Luna Bar.  Is it just me, or are they getting smaller? 0426 005

All in all, I was home and showered by 5:45.  Love the new routine!  I felt nice and cozy and worn out all afternoon, too, rather than antsy and eager to get up and move.

In wedding news, my mom sent me a picture of the flower girl basket she’s devised:

FG Basket 001

And we are still waiting on six RSVPs.  Yaaargh.  This is seriously driving me nuts!  DUDE.   

What time of day do you prefer to work out?

11 Responses

  1. I have the same problem with wanting to do things at home and skipping a run. I can’t work out at lunch time, because I work 30 miles from home and my gym. I TRY to get up early and get on the treadmill at home, but that doesn’t always work. I don’t have a lot of energy for runs in the afternoon or evening if I’ve worked all day.

  2. My new work schedule doesn’t get my home until about 6:40 – so after the gym, I’m not home until almost 8! UGH! However, with my wedding 47 days away, I am dedicated to the cause. I am much more of an afternoon/evening worker-outer…….I find if I go for a run in the morning I feel like I want to puke/die. Plus, I am a HUGE snooze button pusher. I’d love to do a lunchtime workout – but I sweat way too much…..so I’ll just stick to my evening routine…..for now! 🙂

  3. I am in college and dont currently have a job, so I am very lucky and get to go to the gym after I am done with school everyday of the week. I usually like to go to the gym @ 4:15pm so that I am done by either 5:30 or 6:30pm each day of the week!! 🙂

  4. What time I like to work out and the time that is most effective for me are totally opposite. I like to work out mid morning. But obviously, that doesn’t jive with my work schedule. I’m best at working out first thing in the mornings… when I have a buddy and a routine.

  5. My ideal work out time is sometimes around 2 or 3 PM. When I had a (real) job, I used to love lunchtime workouts! Along with getting it over with for the day and leaving my evening free, I always found it a good incentive to get a very efficient and intense workout in. Lots of short, intense treadmills runs and hard-core, low-rest weight circuits.

    You’ve got some good heavy weights there in your workout! I love seeing other girls who run and lift real weights. 🙂

  6. My ideal tme to work out woulf be 10am – but I work – so thats not possible. I either have to work out Morning or evening. Strangely, in the summer I find evenigns easier, in the winter, I find mornings easier.

    Loving the fowergirl basket – all your wedding stuff is so pretty!!

    Julia
    British Bride

  7. I’m a stay at home mom and my only major daily work task goes to school at 8:20 am, so I’m lucky enough to have the opportunity to go to the gym most every morning. I’m so used to the am workout that my body doesn’t like pm exercise. I always feel so weighed down and heavy. By the end of the day, I’m DONE and the gym has lost it’s appeal.

    I’m glad you were able to get in a lunch workout, to free up your evening. That’s a huge relief for you, especially with all of those last minute wedding details to tend to. I sweat like a freakshow, even if the workout is on the lighter side, so I’m not sure I’d be able to accomplish what you did and still look at least halfway decent.

    Love the flowergirl basket!

  8. Ooh, I’ve never tried a noon-hour workout!! I sweat like a beast though, I’d have to shower and that would eat up half my time. I used to see people at the pool who would swim over a lunch break – I don’t know how they fit it in!

    My optimal workout time is around 9-10am. Unfortunately, my boss won’t let me out during that time 😛 So it’s before work. Every minute that passes is an excuse for me not to workout, so I need to get it over with first thing. I’m actually attempting to do an evening spin class today. We’ll see how that goes…

    Oh, and yes, I think Lunas ARE getting smaller. Not sure about in the US, but they changed the recipes here. A lot of the nutritionals have changed on them too.

  9. Your new schedule sounds like a winner for you! I’m definitely a morning person and have been known to get up ridiculously early to squeeze in my workouts.

    Good for you for keeping up with working out in light of EVERYTHING you have on your plate right now! 🙂

  10. I prefer evening workouts. I don’t really come alive until about 5! I’d love to be able to do a morning workout and get it out of the way but I sleep until the very last second! A lunchtime workout would be cool but I’m a big sweater and I turn super reddish purple so I’d look crazy for the rest of the day! lol!

  11. I like my lunchtime runs a lot. They’ve freed up my evenings for relaxation, TV watching, fun stuff with friends and time with the boyfriend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

