Flexibility is fun

Hi, everyone.  The benefit of a Monday off is that every day always feels earlier!  It felt like a Tuesday, but it’s Wednesday!  How ‘bout that.

After being on the road last week, I was craving fresh fruits and veggies…so that was my lunch.  I ate a huge bowl of cantaloupe, a spinach salad, and a pile of fresh strawberries.  (Some went on my Chobani, some went on my salad!)  I also had a sandwich thin with almond butter.  Seriously, since I’ve been home, all I’ve wanted is fruit, yogurt, peanut butter, and eggs.  WTF?  I’ll go with it, though.

0421 001

Also, Operation Tooth-Stainy Stuff Free Day One was a success.  No coffee or diet Coke.  Hooray!  One down, sixteen to go.

After work I hit up the gym for the first times in awhile!  It felt good to be back.  The only exercise I’ve done since my half on the 10th was one trail run in Napa with my sister, and lots of recreational walking on vacation.

Unfortunately, when I started running…pain.  My left knee, outside of my left shin, and my left ankle started throbbing.  So, after a mile, I realized, “Hey!  You’re not specifically training for a  race right now!  Go do something less taxing on your leg!” and decided to hit the weights for the first time in for-ev-er instead.  As much as I like having a schedule and being in serious training mode, it’s nice to have a little bit of flexibility.

So, I went to the weight room and gave my upper body a quick  beating like so:

  • 3 sets of 12 overhead presses using 15 lb. dumbbells
  • 3 sets of 12 deadlifts using 30 lb. dumbbells
  • 3 sets of 12 upright rows using 15 lb. dumbbells
  • 3 sets of 12 squats using 25 lb. dumbbells
  • 3 sets of 12 bench presses using 20 lb. dumbbells
  • 3 sets of 12 lat pulldowns at 48 lbs.
  • 3 sets of 12 underhand grip lat pulldowns at 48 lbs.
  • 2 sets of 12 reverse crunches holding a 25 lb. plate

Yowza.  My upper body feels like jelly!  It’s been far too long since I’ve hit the weights, but it felt good to do something different.  Also, my arms are really the only flesh that will be exposed in my dress, so they might as well look rockin’. 

I came home and we’d gotten a fun package from My Blog Spark of some most excellent goodies for me to try.  Buckley preferred the box.

0421 002

Speaking of which, in honor of Earth Week, visit Cascadian Farm on Facebook and make a pledge to be more eco-friendly!  They will donate $1 to the Organic Farming Research Corporation for every pledge.  Cool, huh? 

Anyhoo.  Have a great night, all!

Do you prefer to be on a workout schedule or do you like going with the flow in the gym?

5 Responses

  1. I prefer to go with the flow at the gym according to what machines are available.

    Why is it that cats LOVE boxes?? No matter what size the box (or how small) my fat cat will try to get into it!

  2. I like a workout schedule. I had been religious about attending classes each night, but recently started a new job and the only class I can make it to is Monday nights…..so now I’m revamping my schedule, which sucks! I really need to focus on my upper body too (had first dress fitting last week and I’ve got some back fat/flab arm issues) – so thanks for posting your upper body workout!

  3. I prefer a schedule for my workouts. What can I say, I love routine!

    As my dress is strapless, I’ve been upping my push-ups lately! I agree that since my arms are all that show, they better look awesome!

  4. When I come back from vacation, I crave apples like a crazy person. For some reason they make me feel really good and refreshed. Odd.

    I like going with the flow! Schedules freak me out and make me all stressed. Especially when it involves outdoor exercise, as mother nature never seems to coordinate with my training schedule.

  5. Nice upper body workout! I really need to quit being a weenie and strength train more 🙂

Leave a Reply

