There’s never enough time

I feel like Jessie Spano in that episode of Saved by the Bell lately.  You know, the one with the caffeine pills, where she freaks out because she has to simultaneously study for geometry and perform with Hot Sundae (was that their name?) and whatnot.

I’m not pill popping.  But I’m-a stressed.  Being gone for a week this close to the wedding was probably not the best plan.

My lunch was the opposite of local.  I got this salad at the San Francisco airport last night before my flight, but didn’t feel like eating it (or anything, really), so it became today’s lunch.  It was delish.

0420 001

I jetted home from work and immediately hit the grocery store.  I was thinking about the gym, but getting SOME food in the house seemed like a more immediate priority.  Tomorrow. 

Anyway.  Generally speaking, I drink a cup of coffee a day and a Diet Coke a day.  But, I’m broadcasting here (and Tim, hold me to this)—no more of that until after the wedding.   It stains my teeth and I always see an improvement when I stop.  I don’t drink enough of either to have caffeine withdrawal, so it won’t be an issue, but I’m sure I’ll be craving them here and there.

I bought Crest Whitestrips and whitening toothpaste.  I’ve done them before with good results, so hopefully they’ll come through for me this time!  I took a “before” picture tonight and will hopefully do a “before” and “after” later on.

0420 003

Our fridge is finally happy again.  It was literally bare today. 0420 004We also got a wedding gift—four of our place settings!  We now have all 12.  Hooray!

Anyway, I have to go do laundry, and write thank you notes, and make breakfast/lunch for tomorrow, and our house is a mess, and…..ack.  A million other things. 

Also, why don’t people send back their RSVPs?  Our RSVP date is Saturday and we still haven’t heard from 50 people.  Come on now.  It’s not that hard. 

How do you prioritize your to-do list when everything seems incredibly pressing?

10 Responses

  1. First, I LOVE that you referenced Saved by the Bell. Second, the next few weeks will be rough, but you’ll make it through and your wedding will be AMAZING! This too shall pass.

    P.S. I went running on the Thursday night before our wedding. Everyone arrived in town and instead of meeting them for drinks/dinner, I went to the gym. I felt like a jerk at the time, but it helped my sanity immensely.

  2. This may sound like a lame tip to you, but I drink my pop out of a straw and I even use straws for my coffee when possible (careful you don’t burn yourself!) Yeah, it looks a little bit dorky, but it’s completely necessary for me because I’m a total caffeine addict. I drink probably 3 times what you do in a day, and it makes a huge difference. The whitening strips are definitely the best fix in the few weeks before your wedding, but this will help in between treatments. Good luck…I hope things calm down a bit for you! 🙂

  3. Can you get a massage? Maybe a spa day of pampering and destressing?

  4. I feel ya on the stress-meter. Jodus is going to be gone the week before the week before our wedding. Um, yeah, I’m freakin’ it. You are almost done, babe. Almost done. You are going to have a beautiful, fantastic wedding.

  5. I’m so EXCITED, I’m so EXCITED, I’m so…so…SCARED!

    Sorry. 🙂 Probably one of my favorite SBTB episodes ever (and as someone who is marginally employed and watches every morning, I can say this confidently).

    Anyway. Sorry about the stress! I had major travels (work related, and bachelorette/shower/etc related) in the couple of weeks before my wedding too and it was tough. I know it’s easier said than done, but just roll with it…it’s going to be an amazing day, no matter what you do in the next couple of weeks. Take some time for yourself. It will be over before you know it. 🙂

  6. New reader – love your blog! The band name I think was the Hot Fudge Sundaes, right?

  7. I totally understand about the RSVPs. I’m having the same problem. I was thinking about it this morning and starting to doubt myself by making excuses for them like maybe they think they are only supposed to respond if they are coming? I’m glad I read your post because you are right they should respond and it’s not that hard to take 5 minutes and send back the card. Hang in there! If it feels any better I’m feeling the same way : )

  8. I also drink my soda from a straw to try to stop it from staining my teeth. I recently started whitening for my wedding (I’m on day 4 of a 10-day pack, and I’m going to do a second 10 days right before the wedding). I’ve noticed great results already!

    And I totally hear ya about the RSVP’s. The very last one from my friends came yesterday, and it was a bridesmaid. Come on! Haha.

  9. Yey! How exciting! Albeit stressful… Multitasking is my specialty, but sometimes you need to take a step back and focus on one task. I know that sounds crazy right now, but it might help you relax a little.

    Saved by the Bell is the shizz! My friend has a shirt that says “I’m so excited! I’m so..scared!!” haha

  10. Let us know how the Crest Whitestrips work out – I was just posting about my bridal toothcare regime over on my blog! I was thinking of buying these.

    Thanks

    Julia
    British Bride

Leave a Reply

