Three weeks to go!

Time is really flying now.  For the first year and a quarter of our engagement or so, time crawled and it seemed like now would never be here.  People kept telling me “oh, it’ll fly by!” and I kind of wanted to punch them, because it wasn’t.  But now…it’s flying.

Since the one month mark, I’ve…

  • Finished the program wording.  They need to be printed, cut, and assembled.
  • Kept up with thank you notes and written/mailed them all for my second shower.
  • Been working on the seating chart as RSVPs come in.  It’s actually been falling together pretty easily.  There’s a good chance we will fall below our room minimum (the monetary equivalent of 114 guests attending), which surprises me.  A lot of people haven’t been able to come because we have a high percentage of out-of-town guests (many of which are unemployed, unfortunately), and our wedding is on Mother’s Day weekend, which is also a) finals time for college kids and b) graduation weekend for some.  We currently have 85 yeses, 59 nos, and 60 question marks—but a lot of the question marks are people we aren’t expecting to come.  If we DO wind up falling below the minimum, we will probably end up adding an extra appetizer or two. 

Now, in the next week or so, I need to….

  • TIM.  Buy your groomsman gifts, please.
  • Parent gifts.  Unless Tim comes up with anything brilliant, I think we are going to go the photo album route, with possibly a spa gift card for my mom who has really been doing a lot of the work.
  • Wrap the gifts for the wedding party.  This is not something I want to be doing at the last minute.  Brie+nerves+stress+scissors+tape=disaster.
  • Buy some whitening strips for my teeth.  I drink too much coffee/red wine/diet coke.
  • Continue with my awesome self-tanning regime.
  • Nail down a wedding day timeline.  I have really zero clue on this one.
  • Take care of my nails.  I have no problem biting them, but they are kind of peely and flaky which is annoying.
  • Return a duplicate gift we received.
  • A few more thank you notes.

And that’s that.  Now, we wait.

10 Responses

  1. I can’t wait to read about your wedding day!!!

  2. very exciting — our wedding is less than 4 months away & now time is really starting to fly. I am also trying to avoid the last minute panic & getting as much done now so the month prior I can do seating charts & other small things to my heart’s content.

  3. I’m totally crashing your Italian feast reception 😉

    In all honesty though, I really want to go to Chicago in August for the Healthy Living Summit. You should think about it too! 🙂

  4. You might consider teeth whitening either at a dentist office or at one of those little mall kiosk things. It’s more expensive, but it’s quick and a one time deal. I’m sure you will do research and decide which is best for you!

  5. Can you post a picture of how the self tanner worked out. I have been looking into getting some and would love to see how it turned out on real person.

  6. I don’t know you but I am VERY excited for your wedding! Thank you for sharing your journey with all of us.

  7. your big day is right around the corner!!! My fiance keeps telling he me will order his groomsman gifts…but still, nothing. we have 28 days so he better get moving.

  8. Wah 3 weeks! We are 6 months out!

    I totally sympathise with the notes to Tim regarding his jobs!!

    Keep us updated as to progress!

    Julia aka British Bride

    p.s. I am going to blogroll you on my site – http:..www.britishbride.wordpress.com – haven’t blog rolled many other blogs yet, but I think we fit brides need to stick together!

  9. I love all this wedding day prep stuff! I love weddings! I cannot wait to read all about your wedding! Oh and by the way, I love your dress!

  10. Lol- everyone has been telling me it will fly by since I got engaged…while I am surprised that July is less than 3 months away I also feel like I’ve been thinking about this wedding for a LIFETIME.

    Looks like you are getting a lot of stuff done early, good work 🙂 I need to get moving on my to do list!

Leave a Reply

