I’m sorry I made you cry.

You GUYS.

You are all too incredible. 

I have been reading your comments on my last post all day long and smiling and tearing up with you all.  I am so thrilled that we raised over $650 for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society today!  I am almost 20% of the way to my goal.  Thank you, thank you, thank you.  I can’t say it enough.  I will be inspired by your kindness when the going gets tough tomorrow.

I feel like I had to write that post for a few reasons.  I’m going to be talking a lot about marathon training and, consequently, Team in Training quite a bit from here on out, and I want everyone to realize that this is really and truly something very important to me. This is not something I’m doing on a whim, and I am taking my fundraising commitment very seriously.  Every little bit helps!

I also wrote it for myself.  I haven’t talked about those details for a long, long time and I was literally sitting in my bloggin’ chair sobbing.  It was cathartic.  I don’t have a reason to share that time in my life much of the time, and it truly helped me to be able to write about it.  I don’t walk around sad anymore, but the little twinges over the course of eighteen years add up. 

A few commenters suggested that I also recommend everyone register for the National Bone Marrow Donor Program, and I wholeheartedly agree!  I am a registered marrow donor, and I hope you will visit their website and learn more about how you can become one too.  Even though a transplant didn’t help my dad, it is an incredible cure for many, many people and I’m so grateful to the donor who gave my dad his best chance at life.

Anyway, tomorrow’s the BIG DAY.  So I did things today one does before a half marathon.  Such as charge Sheila the Garmin:

0409 001

Carb load:

0409 002 

And pick up my race packet.

0409 004

(Quite an expo, huh?)  There wasn’t too much there, but there was a Team in Training booth.  I stopped to talk with the rep a little bit and she gave me her card and told me to e-mail her and I could train with the Kansas City team!  Whee!

And a preview?

0409 003

I…don’t think this is going to be a very interesting course. 

The shirt isn’t half bad.  At least it’s not bright orange!

  0409 005

And my number.  Nice and round.  I like that.

0409 006

I also finished my official half marathon playlist.

image

I still can’t decide whether to wear my tiny iPod shuffle or carry my larger iPhone in my SPIbelt.  If I bring the iPhone, I can possibly take pictures along the course…but it would require more gear.  Decisions, decisions.

I am off to get everything arranged and re-arranged for tomorrow.  Can’t be too prepared!

Hopefully next time I ‘see’ you…I’ll be a half marathoner!  Eep! 

What’s your favorite pre-race breakfast?

10 Responses

  1. Have a GREAT race tomorrow!
    I always eat the same thing before a race as I do before a long run – ww bagel, ripe banana and a bit of peanut butter.
    I always eat the same the night before as well – I am seriously anal like that.

  2. Your previous post was amazing and I really appreciate you being that honest and sharing with us just how important Team in Training is to you. You are going to be AWESOME tomorrow, we are ALL cheering for you!

  3. You are going to rock that race!!! Good Luck!

  4. Best of luck tomorrow! Be confident.
    I just took Ready Steady Go. Off my long run playlist. It was annoying me. You have several songs I want to check out.
    We have a 5K in the morninng. I has one great
    longish run this week and one miserable
    three miler, so I hope tomorrow is
    good. I let my husband set the pace. He is so slow on Saturday long runs that I go on ahead. But in races, he sets a quick but not too quick on the beginning pace. We’re doing this one because there is supposed to
    be a famous Irish breakfast at the end.
    Just got a postcard about se local Team in Training informational meetings. May go to one.

  5. It may be too late, but you should add the song I Made It to your list. It’s a great running song!

    Good luck!!

  6. I just remembered to donate! You will do great!!

  7. I used to eat oatmeal, but lately can’t ever get the whole bowl down. I’ve been really happy with my bagel pb & j combos. Good luck!

  8. Good luck at your race this morning!!

  9. Oatbran with banana, protein powder and PB. Gets all the bases covered with simple and complex carbs, protein and fat 🙂

    You’re probably running already, so sending positive running vibes to KC!!!

  10. My pre-race breakfast is an english muffin with peanut butter, banana and honey. So tasty!

Leave a Reply

