My favorite shower gift

I was instructed at my shower that there was one box I had to open before all the others.  So, of course, I did, and I opened it to find this beautiful recipe box.

bridalshowerbachelorette 094

(Gorgeous, no?)

My aunt asked my cousin, Jason, to make one for me, thinking he’d slap one together with plywood or similar, but he took the job really seriously and went out and bought some beautiful (and very expensive!) maple and cherry to make it.  It’s absolutely stunningly beautiful and well made.  I’ll have it forever.

The reason I had to open it first was because everyone had put a recipe on their package as a tag.  The first one was from Maddie the flower girl.

bridalshowerbachelorette 095 bridalshowerbachelorette 096

I died.  SO FREAKING CUTE.

By the end of the day, I had quite the collection.

bridalshowerbachelorette 097

Including some super vintage ones—my great-grandmother’s recipe for Baked Stuffed Tufoli, and my grandma’s aunt’s recipe for (super delicious) Raisin-Oatmeal Cookies.

My great-grandma’s recipe must be good, because it was in the newspaper.  They quoted her as saying, “Secret of a good sauce is to make it the day before.  And make plenty of it.”  Sounds like my kind of lady, even though I never met her!

 bridalshowerbachelorette 098

My mom also contributed several, though she’s much more of a baker than a cook.  (As you can probably tell by the recipe on top.)

bridalshowerbachelorette 099

I need more to fill it with, but this is a great start!

 bridalshowerbachelorette 100

All in all, I got recipes for the following, many of which are my FAVORITES from my family members.  (If anyone wants any of them, leave a comment letting me know which ones you want to see!)

  • Great-grandma’s Baked Stuffed Tufoli
  • Fresh Apple Cake
  • Cookie Dough Brownies
  • Aunt Vi’s Raisin-Oatmeal Cookies
  • Strawberry Crepes
  • Cheesy Potato Soup
  • Chicken Vesuvio
  • Fettucine Alfredo (including 1 stick of butter and a pint of heavy cream!)
  • Sweet Potato Casserole
  • Buster Bar Dessert
  • Baked Potato Salad
  • Pretzel Jello
  • Red Jello
  • Fruit Dip
  • Whipped Frosting
  • Christmas Rice
  • Chipmunk Pie
  • Caramel Corn
  • Banana Egg Rolls
  • Penne with Spicy Vodka Cream Sauce
  • Strawberry Pizza
  • Caramel Apple Pie
  • “Pat’s Crack” (a maple-flavored sweet snack mix)
  • Make-your-own Cleaning Wipes
  • Chocolate Eclair Cake
  • Hot Sausage Dip
  • Vanilla Raspberry Pudding Shots
  • Campbell Corn Bread (from Tim’s mom!)
  • Girl Scout Chicken (also from Tim’s mom!)
  • Buffalo Chicken Dip
  • Taco Lasagna

Disclaimer: none of these recipes are healthy.  But they are all yummy and special to me!

Anyway, I love, love, love this and will definitely do this at any showers I host in the future.

What’s your favorite family recipe?

16 Responses

  1. That’s such a great gift! I love it when they’re from the community of people you know! Gifts, I mean, I’ve yet to jump on the bridal train:) Congrats!

  2. What a wonderful gift! My favorite family recipe is my great-grandmother’s ice cream – made with cream, egg yolks, sherry, sugar and dark chocolate pieces. Definitely not health food either!

    Can I ask about the pretzel jello? It sounds a a bit scary :). Everything else sounds delicious, though!

  3. That is a great gift. I really wanted to receive recipes at my shower, but my MOH didn’t send out cards with the invites.

  4. at my first shower they did the same thing for me. I loved it! Now I have a really cute recipe box filled with family recipes.

    I loved looking at your shower pictures, looks like a blast!

  5. I really don’t have a favorite. I have about 10 of them! There are things that my mother always makes for me when I come visit but the list is endless – she’s such a good cook!

  6. That is the best idea EVER!! My mom doesn’t do recipes. She just throws everything together and calls it a dish – no two are the same. hmm, must be where I get it from…

  7. For my bridal shower, I also received recipes from each guest. My sister (MOH) collected them ahead of time and put together a recipe book. Best. Gift. Ever. I am also uber jealous of your recipe box, it is gorgeous.

  8. A few years ago for Christmas my mom had a recipe box made for me as well and the craftsman’s wife painted a maple tree and a sap bucket on the front. SO SPECIAL! Of course I need to actually organize my recipes stil!

  9. I’m curious about these make-your-own cleaning wipes!

  10. What a cool shower gift! My mom gave me something similar as a wedding present, she wrote down all of my favorites and put them in a book.

    My absolute favorite is this pasta she makes, which I haven’t eaten in like a year because it is suuuuper unhealthy… but oh man is it good!

  11. Such a beautiful recipe box! There is a ‘foodie’ theme to my bridal shower, so everyone is bringing their favorite recipe as part of their gift too!

  12. Awesome gift idea! I would love to see the recipe for cookie dough brownies because those two foods are my two favorite things!

  13. What a cool gift idea! It looks beautiful too!

  14. What an incredibly thoughtful gift!! Is your fiance ready for some good home cooking now?
    My favorite family recipe is, by far, my Nana’s gravy (ie spaghetti sauce.. but they call it “gravy”). It’s not written down anywhere, but it’s in my aunt’s head, so I guess I should probably get her to jot it down!

  15. I love that recipe card! Its hilarious!

    My favorite family recipe is my husband’s grandmother’s sour cream pound cake… I cannot for the life of me get it right though!

  16. My family makes buffalo chicken dip too! It’s always the hit at parties. What a gorgeous recipe box.

Leave a Reply

