Hi from Chi!

Hi everyone!

I’m in my home state, enjoying all it has to offer (namely, friends, family, and giant Italian beef sandwiches). There are lots of surprises afoot for tonight and tomorrow and I’m being a good bride and keeping my nose out of them

Today, I have my hair and makeup trial, and then my downtown bachelorette party. All I know is we have a gorgeous downtown hotel room and are going out for tapas and sangria. Yum!

Full recap on Monday! Hope everybody is having a great weekend too!

10 Responses

  1. Have fun! Are you going to Cafe Ba Ba Reeba by any chance? The best tapas in the city!

  2. hope you are having a GREAT time!! enjoy your party tonight!!!

  3. Have a great time! Today looks like it is going to be beautiful 🙂 Take lots of pics and have FUN!

  4. Have fun! And have an italian beef sandwich for me! (The food is easily the thing I miss most about no longer living in Chicago.)

  5. Italian beef with sweet peppers, dipped…. i ❤ them!
    I miss them!

  6. Have a great time and take lots of pictures!

  7. Hi Brie, I am a long time reader and first time commenter. I wanted to say I really do hope you are having fun and appreciating your bridal weekend. I have to say, you seem a little bit… well, for lack of a better word, ungrateful, in your Twitter posts. You sure do a lot of complaining about being a bride. (And you kind of always have, as far as I’ve seen.) I mean, you want to curl up in a ball and die because you made a decision to have a wedding with all the trimmings? I mean, we all know what having an actual wedding entails, and if you knew you wouldn’t be comfortable, I guess I just don’t understand why you didn’t just choose to elope. Sometimes you make it seem like you are just so above this wedding stuff, like you’re too good for it, and it’s frustrating for other brides like myself to see. I get that not everyone is all “OMG I’M A BRIDE!!!” and that’s totally fine, everyone’s different. But sometimes you’re a real downer about it. I hope you don’t think I’m attacking you, because I love your blog and I have a lot of respect for you and what you do and your commitment to running and bettering yourself. This has just been gnawing at me every time I see you be overdramatic about wedding stuff. I mean, be happy. You’re marrying the love of your life.

    • A few things:

      1). Hyperbole. I am exaggerating to be funny. I don’t actually want to curl into a ball and die. I am also, frankly, tired of wedding planning since we’ve been engaged for 15 months now. Yes, I am having fun, but I’m over “being a bride” and all the expectations that come with it, if that makes sense. I am ready to move on and be married!
      2). I am incredibly grateful–I’ve also been tweeting about how great everyone is. I bought gifts for the eight hostesses of my shower. Thank you notes will be written this afternoon. I sent Tim an email yesterday saying something to the effect of “do you have any idea how lucky and loved we are?”. They are incredible and I absolutely know that.
      3). You don’t know half of what’s going on because I make a point not to talk about some things going on in my family that are very stressful.

      That said, I did have a most excellent weekend, t

  8. (sorry, I got cut off)

    but I will write a full recap later, and you will see that I did have a great time and appreciate everyone.

  9. Brie, please ignore Angela. I follow you on Twitter, and read your blog daily. I get your sarcasm, and I understand the drama you are going through with planning a wedding as I’m getting married myself in 2 months. I’m glad you don’t take yourself too seriously, and I find it refreshing to see a bride who isn’t all rainbows and ponies and butterflies and PRINCESSES all the time. I kind of gag a little bit whenever someone says “whatever the bride wants” or “it”s your day” or any reference to being a princess. Keep doing what you’re doing, vent when you need to, and ignore the naysayers 🙂

Leave a Reply

