Sunshine

I’m so happy to see the sun after our six inches of snow and slush this weekend.  Thankfully, pretty much everything is melted, and today was in the high 60s/low70s.  I walked to the gym in my tank top!  Can’t beat that.

I traveled a bit for work today, so I split my lunch up some.  I had a bagel thin sandwich in the car around 12:45, and a Greek yogurt pile when I got back to the office around 1:30.

0323 001

See?  Sunny.

I snacked on a Clif Mojo PB&J bar before I hit the gym around 4:30 to get me through my run.  Who doesn’t like purple food?

0323 003

These bars are always startlingly bright, but still delicious and reasonably wholesome.  And filling!  They have a fair amount of fat and protein, which helps keep me full longer.

I went to the gym today with a goal of beating yesterday’s 5 miles in 46:45.  I like to set stupid little goals, like beating my times, to help keep workouts interesting.  It’s one thing to run 5 miles after work, it’s totally another to kick Yesterday Brie’s butt.

Instead of starting out slow and aggressively speeding up, I started out faster today so I didn’t have to pick up my speed quite as much.  I started at a 9:30 mile for about half a mile to warm up, then held at a 9:22 mile for a little while, then chilled between 9:00-9:10 until mile 4, when I cranked it up to an 8:55 mile.

Total?  5 miles in 46:11, smashing Yesterday Brie to smithereens.  Hooray!

Oh, and I got an invitation to my second bridal shower today.  Whee!

0323004

In other news, I’m very sad to hear about the loss of Harvey, Ryan at Greens For Good’s cat.  So, here are some things I love about my animals, since I often take them for granted.

  • If Buckley had thumbs, he would take over the world!  He is the smartest of our three animals, and can often be found making (well-planned, clever) mischief.  He likes to be near us (though not always touched) and always wants to know what’s going on.
  • Southpaw is perhaps the sweetest cat I’ve ever known.  She is a pile of cuddles.  All she needs is food and love.  She loves Buckley and Milhouse, sunbeams and milk.  What she lacks in grace, she makes up for in heart.
  • Milhouse is so easygoing.  He’s not barky or high-strung, and he doesn’t (usually) beg for food.  He’s content to lay on the couch and is great with kids, the cats, and other dogs.

Anyway, hug your loved ones (two- or four-legged) extra hard tonight.

Who do YOU love and why?

6 Responses

  1. I am heartbroken just reading about the struggle that Ryan had gone through with Harvey!

    I love my fiance because everything that I lack as a person he has and helps me be better at!
    I love our cats:
    Goomba – fetches which is amazing and if you just to comfy to bend over and get his ball he will bring it to your lap
    Dakota – we have lovingly nicknamed my stalker cat. He will just lay there and stare at me and is always in the same room as me
    Chrisma – is very low key and will give you love when you need it but most of the time she is independent.
    and of course my mother is an amazing person who truly teaches me about unconditional love!

  2. So sad about Harvey. 😦

    I love lots of people (and animals!), but today I especially love my little brother. Something happened to me today that made me REALLY upset, and he let me cry on his shoulder.

    Way to go kicking Yesterday Brie’s booty! You are getting FAST girl!

  3. Love your bridal shower invitations. Gorgeous!

  4. In keeping with the animal theme, I’ll do a shout-out to my horse-sized dogs:

    Maddi: (our yellow lab) is very possibly the best dog in the history of dogs. She doesn’t bark (only grunts and groans), loves children, the elderly, men, women, etc. Aside from twice daily feedings, Maddi’s only demand is pets, lots of pets. I could go on about her awesomeness, but I’ll refrain.

    Olive: (our black lab/pitt bull mix) loves life! Every day is the best day of her life, & she is always SO happy to see us. She is a huge goofball with tons of personality (and energy), but she is also my 65 pound lap dog & is so sweet it would make your heart melt. She might be a little misunderstood by the general public (when she jumps out of the dark barking at you, she’s not trying to eat you, she’s just saying “HI WHAT ARE YOU DOING HERE I DIDN’T KNOW YOU WERE COMING!”)

    I also love people, but it’s good to remind ourselves of all the joy & unconditional love our animals bring to our lives! Our dogs will even be represented on our cake topper… obsessed much? 🙂

  5. Catching up – SO happy you got in to the foot doc on April fools!! I’m finally breaking down and seeing a doctor tonight about my skin. I’m scared they’ll chop my legs off or something 😛

    Awesome job on the speedy 5 miles! Wowza. I’m super competitive with myself too. Although, not at all with other people.

    The only pets I have live with my mom. I miss them!!!!

  6. I get so sad hearing about a lost pet! 😦

    People-wise I love my husband because he’s funny and an altogether good guy. My parents because they are the best! My daughter…though I am quite certain she’ll drive me legally insane. My friends because they are wonderful, fun people.

    Animal-wise I love my cat Buttercup. She’s big and beautiful and has no grace at all! She’s so funny. She will jump in bed and pull the covers off me when she’s ready for breakfast! She follows me everywhere and makes sounds that really sound like words. I also love my dogs Cocoa and Storm.

Leave a Reply

