Fast Five-K Friday

Hey, kiddos!  Happy Friday!

Or not.  Because I have to be at work at the asscrack of dawn tomorrow.  At least I’ll be done by lunchtime, right?  Oh, and I HAVE A SUPER AWESOME FOUR DAY WEEKEND NEXT WEEKEND.  The thought of a fun weekend in Chicago with my friends and family for my first bachelorette party and shower makes me want to jump up and down with happiness. 

Oh, and also?  We are supposed to get 4-8 inches of snow tomorrow.  At the end of March.  Suck it, winter.

Rewind to last night.  I had a pre-bedtime mug of Kashi.  I usually eat a small dessert after dinner and don’t snack otherwise, but my long run hanger apparently waited until last night to come around.  It was delicious.  (Southpaw enjoyed a spoonful of milk as well!)

0319 001

Anyway, work was really crazy today—I didn’t get a lunch break and was running around like a madwoman.  Thankfully, after tomorrow, things should calm down a bit.  Consequently, I didn’t take any pictures today.  I had a bunch of Greek salad sans dressing at lunch, plus some Greek yogurt (guess it was a Greek kind of day), and a bagel with PB.  Nom.

In foot news, I popped the blisters and they feel much better today.  Still hurty, but bearable.  I had a long chat with my triathlete co-worker about shoes and she seems very knowledgeable.  It’s always fun to talk with other people with similar interests.

After work I went to the gym.  Today’s goal was 3 miles, but I figured I might as well do 3.1 and call it a 5K.  I haven’t played much with speed lately, because distance has been my primary goal, but all I wanted to do today was run as fast as I could to see if my distance training has, in turn, improved my speed. 

I tuned out everything else and ran 5K in 28:15, setting a new PR that I feel great about.  One of my goals is to run a 5K in under 27:00.  I honestly think I can achieve this in 2010!  I tend to start out conservatively because I’m worried about crashing and burning, but I think I’m going to continue pushing my speed every week on these short workouts.  It was fun!  I broke it up like so:

  • 0-0.5 miles: 6.3 mph
  • 0.5-1.0 miles: 6.4 mph
  • 1.0-1.5 miles: 6.5 mph
  • 1.5-2.0 miles: 6.6 mph
  • 2.0-2.5 miles: 6.7 mph
  • 2.5-2.75 miles: 7.0 mph
  • 2.75-3.1 miles: 7.2 mph

I felt awesome afterwards.  Last time I ran an actual 5K race I finished in 28:53, and literally thought I was going to die at the end.  I couldn’t breathe, I didn’t pace well, I walked, and I couldn’t talk after I’d finished.  Not so today!  I think I can do it faster next week—I’ve had a headache all day which I think held me back a bit in the beginning.

In other news, we tried take n’ bake pizza tonight because I am out of both homemade pizza dough and yeast.  It was pretty good!

0319 002

Also, we got a gift card off our registry!  (The note is a joke—these people, and Tim, are conservative.)

0319 003

Oh, and HEY GUESS WHAT?  I’m running a second half marathon!

rnrchicago_lg(Source.)

On August 1st!

Rewind: my sister and I ran a race together in October.  It was fun.  She is my maid of honor at the wedding.  We really have zero in common outside of running—I love her, but we are very different people!  Running a race with her was an awesome bonding thing for us (at least, I thought so) because there are very few things we both enjoy doing. 

She’s mentioned wanting to run a half marathon to me several times lately.  (And by “mention,” I mean badger me about it via text/e-mail at least once a week.)  She’s never done one but wants to.  I need to get her a maid of honor’s gift for being in our wedding.  So…ta-da!  I bought her a race registration, and one for myself, and I will present it to her at the rehearsal dinner with a small bag of running goodies and a printout of Hal’s trusty training plan.  I’m looking forward to it—this is supposed to be a great race, lots of fun sights, live music on the course, great support, and so on.  Hopefully she likes it too!

Runners: do you find that a side effect of distance training is improved speed?  I never thought about it before, but I’ve gotten much faster since I started training for the half seriously!

3 Responses

  1. Aww that’s such a cute idea for your sister! That pizza looks amazing…making me hungry and I just ate dinner 🙂

  2. Congrats on your speedy 5k! Since I’m no fan of running in the cold, the treadmill is my friend in the winter. I’ve been using my treadmill time to work on speed, because, let’s face it, the faster I get off the treadmill, the better. I consider this my speed training and then I’ll work on endurance outside during the spring/summer/early fall. I think any training will help increase speed/endurance, if you’re running with purpose. Practice makes perfect, right?
    I’m glad you’ve found something to do with your sister. I’d love to run a race with my sister.
    Enjoy your snowy weekend.

  3. I do think my speed improves with distance. I’m guessing it’s because increased endurance allows you to maintain a faster pace for a longer time. I’ve also found that as I’ve built up my running “base”, I’ve gotten a lot faster. I’m running about 45-60 seconds/mile faster than I did at this time last year, and I don’t do any formal speedwork.

    Great idea for the MOH gift – I hope she likes it!

Leave a Reply

