10 mile hangover

Hi, friends.  It’s been a pretty uneventful day around these parts, which is a good thing.

Lunch: a bagel thin sandwich, a nicely brown banana, and a Greek yogurt mess.  I’m a tiny bit burned out on green monsters for the time being, and I have a bunch of Chobani in my fridge I’d hate to see go to waste. 

0318 001

In other news…I have a bunch of tiny, annoying wedding crap to do before I head to Chicago (yay!) for my first shower and bachelorette party next weekend.  It’s a lot of little things needling me, and it doesn’t help that I have to work from 6:30-1 on Saturday.  The big thing?  I have to get thank-you gifts for my shower hostesses (of which there are about a million) and wrap them.  No idea what to get them. And I have to print out hair and makeup “inspiration pictures” to bring to my trial.   Agggh.

Hey, look!  2 RSVPs today.  2 people yes, 2 people no.0318 003

Post-10-miler, I am feeling…so-so.  My legs don’t really feel tired or sore, which is good.  My hips feel a little tight so I’m planning on stretching well later tonight.  My hunger has been fairly regular (except I got REALLY starving right before dinner.)  The problem, of course…my feet.  Except this time, it’s not my arch giving me the trouble (yeah, there’s a huge ugly blister in it, but it doesn’t hurt), it’s my…forefoot I guess?  The ball of my foot?  I literally have three nested blisters—a blister inside a blister inside a blister.  (I covered it with moleskin and Second Skin today, which is why it’s kind of white-ish looking.)

0318 002

This one REALLY hurts.  I am a weensy bit concerned about infection with this one, as it’s very painful to the touch and red around the edges, so I’m going to keep an eye on it.  I was limping at work all day to the point where people asked me how I’d hurt myself.  I decided to give it another day to rest and will attempt my 3 miler tomorrow instead.  Normally, I’ll push through blisters, but this one obviously didn’t want any weight on it and I could feel myself rolling my ankle to avoid pressure in my work shoes all day.  So, yeah.  No good.  I feel like my foot’s been gnawed on by a wild dog.

And for those of you who wonder how I blog…this is me, in my pajamas, with Southpaw and my laptop on my lap.  She must like this post, because she is purring loudly on my belly right now.

0318 004

Not the most flattering photo, but hey.  Real life.  (Also, please note why I can’t wait to cut all my hair off ACK.)

 Anyone have a March Madness bracket going?  I’m in Tim’s office pool and have Syracuse as my winner this year!

8 Responses

  1. aww Southpaw is such a cuddler 🙂 I can’t wait to be reunited with Gil this weekend! Having a shower and bach party in Chicago is going to be so much fun for you!

  2. ewww – your poor feet!

  3. I got my shower hostesses soap and a candle from Sabon. They were 10 dollars for each gift, so it can add up if you have a lot of them. They did a really great job with gift wrapping them, so they looked gorgeous. I don’t know if there is a Sabon in KC though?

  4. your poor foot! i don’t know how you can run with it like that…you must be tough and committed. i did 6 miles on the tm today, and on saturday, we’re planning for a nine miler in palm beach. maybe we’ll see lots of fancy people to keep us distracted. 🙂 enjoy chicago- i miss it!

  5. What kind of socks do you wear when running?

  6. Give running a rest until the blisters heal. Yikes.
    Try a spin class, Yoga, or some strength training.Great Blog!

  7. woot woot for 10 miles! i feel so bad for you foot! do you think that moving your runs off the treadmill would help?

  8. I have syracuse winning too! The rest of my bracket is going down the drain with all of those upsets… So sorry about your foot! Those are ginormous blisters. You have the right to take a few days off with those bad boys! haha. Get better!

Leave a Reply

