Out of town boxes

One idea I really like is the new concept of the out-of-towner bag/box.  Generally I’m not into random wedding things that cost money, unless they are something I really think my guests will like and benefit from.  I travel a fair amount for work, and I always love love love Holiday Inn Express because they often have water bottles and snacks waiting for me in my room.  So…we’re having out-of-town boxes.

Thankfully, this is a project where my mom took the bull by the horns and ran with it.  So, I’m doing virtually none of the work on this one!  Hooray.

She ordered white gable boxes online to start with.  For those of you who have no clue what a gable box is, this:

They are going to be wrapped with the same ribbon we used on our invitations, as well as our monogram.  So, basically, they will have a big belly band on them.

My mom’s also gotten the following things from Sam’s Club to put in them:

  • 8 oz. bottles of water
  • Trail mix
  • Granola bars
  • Small bags of M&Ms
  • Pretzels
  • Cheese and cracker sandwiches
  • Advil

When all is said and done, they should look something like this:


Source.

I also drafted a brochure-type insert for the inside.  It has our contact information, the schedule of events for the weekend, and sights to see and things to eat in Chicago.  Like so:

What would you like to get in an out-of-town box as a wedding guest?

7 Responses

  1. I love the idea of OOT boxes. Sadly I don’t think we have enough people staying in our blocked hotels for me to dedicate time to this project.

    I would appreciate some kind of hot cocoa or tea in an OOT bag because I like to have a nice warm drink before bed.

  2. I always get excited to find a mini bottle of wine or Champagne in the OOT bag/box/basket:)

  3. We are doing OOT bags, too. I think it’s just a courtesy to your guests who flew in from out of town. It’s always nice to have a little something to snack on once you get to the hotel room

  4. I like the idea but it would be a logistical nightmare for us. You know, all of our guests are “out of town” guests. Destination wedding and all. There is no way in hell I am going to make care packages for everyone on top of everything else. I’m not rich and I don’t have the time. We aren’t even doing favors or anything. We suck. We’re lazy. But we really don’t want to waste precious time and money on stuff people aren’t going to use. They get a Thank You card for coming. Sorry guys. Oh yeah, and we are feeding them at the reception.

  5. Gum or breath mints are always nice. So are tums or antacid for the next morning 🙂

  6. My cousin did this at her wedding. I thought it was a nice and thoughtful idea. Of course, I don’t remember what was in the box, except for Milano cookies..and gum. Maybe you can include something that is uniquely “Chicago.”

  7. I love the brochure idea! I think I might do something similar for our wedding. Such a fun way to welcome the guests!

Leave a Reply

