Spring Forward

Whatever I did yesterday must have worked, because my hamstrings and glutes are killing me.   It is seriously painful to sit and stand.  Guess that’s what I get for not doing any strength training for, oh, a month.  Hmph.

Today was nice and chill.  The dog let me sleep in, which was nice,

Last night I made Susan’s protein bars.  

0314 001

They were super easy.  It was basically like making a big breakfast cookie!  (Click the link for the recipe.)  The hardest part was cutting them into 8 and wrapping them in foil.  I stuck them in the freezer to pull out one at a time.  I ate one today and wowza, are they good!

 0314 002

The animals and I had a pretty lazy afternoon.  I did a bit of grocery shopping, but we mostly watched a True Life marathon on MTV.

0314 003

The birthday boy got home around 5:30 and requested Chipotle for his birthday dinner.  I gladly obliged!  We got his and hers burritos:

 0314 004

Tim also brought me a gift back from Vegas—chocolate peanut butter eggs!

 0314 005

(I’m sharing with him.)

 0314 006

It sounds like he had a fun weekend of eating, drinking, and carousing with the boys.  Hopefully he’ll stick to his word and write a recap for the blog!

For later, we have Tim’s birthday cake!

 0314 007

It’s called Gooey Butter Cake, and I swear this is the best thing (besides Tim) to come out of the state of Missouri.  Here’s the recipe I got from Tim’s mom:

Gooey Butter Cake

  • yellow cake mix
  • 1/2 c. butter
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 lb. powdered sugar
  • 8 oz. cream cheese
  • 1 t. vanilla

Mix together the cake mix, softened butter, and 1 egg until crumbly.  Pat in a 9 by 13 pan.   Blend the remaining 2 eggs, powdered sugar, cream cheese and vanilla with a mixer until fluffy and pour over the first layer.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes.  Top with sifted powdered sugar.

This stuff is insanely good.  Not at all healthy, but a worthy treat.   I’d never heard of it until I started dating Tim, but man, I’m glad I know about it now.

What are your favorite regional foods?

7 Responses

  1. Wow that is a crazy cake, I’ve never heard of it either! I need to make some of those bars before I go on vacation to take with me. they look SO good!

  2. I love gooey butter cake. My MIL makes pumpkin ones every Thanksgiving.

  3. Those protein bars look good. I’ve seen them on Susan’s blog so I need to try them.

    So nice he brought you home chocolate peanut butter eggs!

  4. I’m from Missouri, and that cake right there would be my favorite regional food! I also have a recipe for gooey butter cookies that I make at Christmas (and various other times throughout the year). YUM.

  5. Gooey butter cake is delish!

    I’m from central Illinois, & we have this magical culinary creation called a horseshoe. Imagine this: a piece of texas toast, covered by your favorite meat (traditionally hamburger), covered with fries, covered with cheese sauce. We’re not talking nacho cheese people, but a delicious beer & white cheese sauce. All over. SO GOOD. It’s one of those must-haves when I’m home visiting!

  6. Yay the protein bars worked!!! I’ve got a batch of cherry dark chocolate setting in the fridge right now 😉

    Bookmarked this post for the cake recipe! I have no idea how I’ll find an excuse to make that cake. I need to make a new friend with a birthday next week.

    Favourite regional food is poutine. Or garlic fingers with donair sauce. Or anything with maple syrup.

Leave a Reply

