First fitting!

Today a hot gentleman propositioned me for a lunch date.  I couldn’t turn him down.

Tim and I ended up at The Mixx, a place that is kind of like the Coldstone of salads—you pick a base and mix-ins.  (They also have sandwiches and pastas.)

 

0311 001

I was way excited about this.  I got a spinach base, balsamic vinaigrette (full fat, thankyouverymuch), and mixed in roasted turkey, roasted yams, balsamic mushrooms, dried cranberries, goat cheese and pecans.  

0311 002

It was awesome.

 0311 003

I am ashamed to admit that the salad defeated me.  This thing was HUGE.  I barely made a dent in it!  It was super good, but next time I’ll get half the dressing.  It was super filling.

 0311 004

Around 4 o’clock before my dress fitting, I snacked on a Clif Mojo Mountain Mix bar.  Love these!

 0311 005

Then the time came—the first time I tried on my dress since September, when it was awful and I hated it.

 0311 006 0311 007

I made two big changes this time—I wore a crinoline underneath so the skirt was fuller and I pulled my hair back so my Yeti fro didn’t distract from the dress.  I also brought my veil to try!

AND I LOVED IT AGAIN!

0311 008 0311 009 0311 010

This is the bustle I’m getting—a French bustle. 0311 011

My other option was a one-point, which I don’t think looked as good.

0311 012

The seamstress had to go answer a few questions, so I played MySpace teen for awhile.

 0311 013 0311 014

I wanted to get a picture of the earrings with the dress—I like them!

0311 015 0311 016 0311 017 0311 018 0311 019

You know what?  My body ain’t perfect.  But I am still beautiful.  I love that this dress shows my curves, and I don’t care that I’m not 10 pounds lighter.  I feel great. 

Anyway, Tim left for Vegas and said “there’s three packages in the wedding room.”  Yes, our spare room is now the wedding room.  Behold.

0311 020

(Is this shameful?  I probably shouldn’t put this on the internets.)

Anyway, two wedding gifts!  Fancy hampers!  We plan to use one for clothes, and one for punishing Buckley.

 0311 021

And our new shower curtain and trash can!

 0311 022

And my shower dress came.  Guess what?  Another FAIL.  I LOVE the dress, but there is an under-boob seam that does not jive with my boobies.  It sits waaay too low and I wouldn’t be comfortable.  Back to the drawing board.  Anyone want to find me a shower dress?

 0311 023

Also, 11 yes RSVPs in the mail!

Anyway, it’s 8 o’clock and I just got home, so I need to shower and, you know, do stuff. 

What do you think?  Do we have a winner?

31 Responses

  1. wonderful pictures, and gorrrrgeous dress!! 🙂

  2. Ah so exciting! You take me back to my days of wedding planning (even though it wasn’t that long ago it seems like it was!) Your dress is beautiful and you look beautiful in it. You have that bride glow! Have you checked JCREW at all for dresses? they are my go-to store.

  3. You look gorgeous! I love love your dress!

  4. Love the dress, love the bustle, love the earrings. Love it!!!

  5. It looks great!

  6. You look amazing in your dress! I’m a huge fan of lace. I tried on several dresses in that silhouette and I agree with you, they’re perfect for showing off curves. (I have them too and they are to be celebrated!)

  7. You look amazing! I love that you posted so many pictures, you can really tell you love the dress based on your face.

  8. I love your dress! You look beautiful!

  9. i love love love the straps on your dress. so delicate and pertty!

    have you checked out the jcrew online sale page for dresses? they have really good deals.

    this is my favorite. http://www.jcrew.com/AST/Browse/WomenBrowse/Women_Shop_By_Category/dresses/weddingsparties/PRDOVR~99838/99101601468/ENE~1+2+3+22+4294967294+20~30~~20+17+4294967113~15~~~~~~~/99838.jsp

    i love the caspian blue!

  10. Oh my gosh you look so beautiful in that dress!!! Seriously STUNNING!

  11. Gorgeous dress and you look great in it! You will look wonderful on your wedding day 🙂

  12. One word: STUNNING!

    You look absolutely beautiful. 🙂

    And I like the shower dress, it’s so pretty, but I see what you’re saying about the underboob seam. Darn it! You’ll find one! 🙂

  13. i just discovered your blog:)

    you look amazing in your dress and yay for celebrating and loving your curves!

  14. I want you to know that I read your blog everyday and love that you are REAL!! you are so inspiring with your marathon training and love reading everyday. Your wedding dress is beautiful 🙂

  15. Your wedding dress is amazing. You are right though, that shower dress just does not look right-not enough space for the twins. Still a cute dress though, if the cut were better.

  16. You look gorgeous in your wedding dress, it is a perfect fit for you!! And woman you show off your curves, they are there for a reason..to flaunt and make all those tiny/skinny girls jealous!! heheh.
    But seriously, you are going to look so beautiful on your wedding day!!

  17. First time visitor here 🙂

    Dress- Gorgeous! Seriously VAVAVOOM!!!

    As for the “wedding room” the same thing happened at my house. Our spare became the wedding room and it is still lovingly referred to as such 2.5 years later 🙂

    Oh and the hampers- we got the same ones as a wedding pres too- they rock! Don’t you just love BB&B?!

  18. You look fab in Ronda! LOVE the french bustle & the long veil… so pretty!

    P.S. The Limited has been my “go to” for dresses lately – and sometimes you can find bitchin’ sales. Good luck!

  19. I LOVE it! I bet the pictures don’t even to justice to the dress, as there’s always so many intricate details on those things. I especially love the little “straps.” Also, you have an amazing figure Brie!!! I’m shaped like a boy and have always wished I had more curve to my body… You are going to STUN everyone come wedding day 😀

    Oh, and thumbs up to the second dress. Super fun!

  20. Your wedding dress looks great!

  21. Gorgeous dress- you look beautiful!

  22. I love it! You look gorgeous and HAPPY in your dress!

  23. Your dress is gorgeous! I love that it flaunts your curves, I’m not sure I’d have the guts to wear it. Good for you!

    Of the two potential shower dresses you posted awhile back, I LOVED the green one (Calvin Klein maybe?) Not sure if you have time to order another dress, but it was gorgeous.

  24. Your gown looks stunning and beyond beautiful! And the earrings are great! I really like the shower dress too! To bad it won’t work out. Enjoy your single lady weekend 🙂

  25. Simply gorgeous! I love your dress!

    I would suggest Ann Taylor Loft for dresses for your shower. I’ve been eyeing a few that look really cute.

  26. You look perfect in your dress! I think it’s stunning on you too. I love the shower dress!! Keep it up girl. It’s all worth it when you walk down that isle to get married!

  27. Your wedding dress is GORGEOUS. You’re going to look amazing.
    I think I could get used to having packages filled with presents arrive daily. Makes me wish I had a real wedding instead of getting married in my mother in law’s living room.

  28. Gorgeous dress! It is so flattering on you.

  29. I’m so glad you love your dress again! I couldn’t ever believe you hated it in the first place- I always loved it.

    Meanwhile, I’m jealous of your “wedding room”. Our gifts are starting to pile up- and I live in a teeny NYC junior one-bedroom! I am fast running out of room!

  30. the dress is beautiful, brie!

  31. You look beautiful!

    That’s disappointing about your shower dress not fitting the way you want it to. I think it’s adorable!

Leave a Reply

