Hanger

Now that my mileage has started to go over 20 miles a week, I cannot stop eating.  I feel like my body is a garbage disposal.  I put something in it, it destroys it to smithereens quickly, and then I’m empty again.  It’s ridiculous.

Usually I either go snack-less between breakfast at 7 a.m. and lunch at noon, but that’s just not been possible lately.  I’ve been munching on clementines lately, but I saw these at the store the other day and had to try them.

0309 001

They are pretty nutritionally devoid—9 g. of sugar with only 2 g. of protein (but 3 g. of fiber!) but they totally remind me of being a kid.  Nutri-Grain bars were my favorites!  It was delicious.

Lunch involved a strawberry-chocolate bomb shake—not as good as the cherry-chocolate variety, but still okay.  Lotsa spinach and a few banana slices in this guy, too!

 0309 002

I was so crabby and hungry that I ate my afternoon snack (another Oh Yeah! bar) by 3, and by 4:30 my boss asked me if I was okay!  I must have been sporting some serious hungry bitchface.  I just told her “oh, I’ve been running a lot and I’m hungry all the time!” and she felt bad and brought me some pretzels and a granola bar from her office.  She’s awesome.  

Anyway, today’s run was better than yesterday’s.  I tend to drag a bit on Mondays, but Tuesdays are always better.  I did 5 miles in 48:45 by alternating the speed between 6.0-6.5 totally based on how I was feeling.  If I felt like it was too easy, I went faster; if my heart rate was getting too high I slowed down. 

No RSVPs today, but we got another package!

0309 003 0309 004 0309 005

A set of white CorningWare casserole type dishes from my aunt and cousins that can’t make it to my first shower!  Hooray!

Tomorrow is going to be my long run day—9 miles after work.  It’s not ideal doing that much in the middle of the week, but Tim’s heading to Vegas on Thursday for his bachelor party, so I need to go straight home after work to walk Mr. Milhouse on Friday.  Oh, and I have my first dress fitting on Thursday!  I’m really nervous—I haven’t tried my dress on for six months and I’m terrified I’ll suddenly hate it.

The plan for tomorrow?  Eat a lot, hydrate, take my medication, and do the damn thing.  It’ll be a new PDR, so that’s exciting!

What makes your inner hungry monster come out? 

11 Responses

  1. Running also makes my hungry intensify so much. I have been trying to eat less carbs, but it’s been backfiring a little bit because I just seem to watch chocolate more! I love that corningware set ! I just used it tonight!

  2. We got the same coringware set and love it! i especially like the mini casserole dishes.

    I get super hungry every time I work out. I eat probably 3 times more on days I work out compared to days that I don’t.

  3. Haha we got the same Corningware set too!

    I find that the day AFTER a longer run, my hunger is out of control. I ran 6.8 miles today (that’s my PDR!!!! WOO HOO!) and while I wasn’t super hungry today, I have a feeling tomorrow I will be a MONSTER!

  4. I empathize with your anxieties entirely, having been there myself– but your dress is beautiful, tasteful, and, if not literally unique, a welcome change from the more common styles. Try not to worry too much!

    -Alice/Morfudd

  5. So I have a question about the bomb shakes–can you really taste the spinach, or do they taste like other protein/fruit smoothies? They look like a great morning shake that would keep me going…

    • They don’t taste like spinach, but they are less sweet than regular smoothies because of it, and the texture is a little different. It takes a little adjustment but isn’t a huge difference!

  6. You can go 5 hours without eating??? That’s impressive. I’m lucky if I get three hours. It’s 8:30am and I’m already itching for my mid-morning snack, and I just ate breakfast 90 minutes ago :\

    “hungry bitchface” Love that term 😛

    Six months is a long time since picking out your dress! Whatever you do, don’t be polite about it. If you don’t like something, pull out your hungry bitchface and get them to change it.

    Good luck on the 9 miles!!!

  7. Hi! just found your blog and really enjoying it…I’m kind of in the same boat as you….working toward my 3rd half marathon this April (keeping up with the training schedule and planning a wedding is such hard work!) and also getting married next May 2011. I’m in my friend’s wedding this May..so the running is helping me stay in shape and keep my weight down for her big day. I’m def. going to start reading your blog more…I have a question for you. How did you get to be a knottie blogger?? I think that sounds great!

    I’m loving blogging about my wedding and running!

    Thanks!
    Laura

  8. Strangely what really makes me hungry is a sore throat. I don’t know if it’s because I’m getting sick and my body needs fuel but they go together somehow.

  9. What makes my hungry monster come out? My period.

    On a semi-related note, I love those Weight Watchers commercials with the furry orange hungry monster.

  10. My first fitting was last week and I was really nervous, but it was a lot of fun! It made the wedding seem so real and not too far away. Have a good time!!

Leave a Reply

