Spring is here!

It’s in the air, officially, for sure.  High today in Kansas City was in the high 50s, and it was sunny and cloudless and we flung our windows open.  We got up early and went to church.  It was lovely.  We are approximately 70% more productive when we get up, get our butts moving, and go to church than on mornings we sleep in and lounge around making pancakes.

I slept horribly last night, thanks to wearing those stupid arch supports yesterday.  I swear I’m going to fling those things out the window soon.  Again, a huge, throbbing, swollen knot/bruise just above my right arch that ached all night long.  Confidence in a solution=waning severely.

I also think I am on my way to my first black toenail.  Glorious!  My right big toe has been tingly/sore and sensitive to pressure since Friday’s long run.  Ugly toes are pretty low on my list of foot complaints right now, so, whatever.

Last night I broke down and bought the dress for the shower:

dress

From Nordstrom’s online.  I sincerely hope it fits.   What do you guys think of these shoes with it?

8316_642278910775_2401942_37215497_983895_n

(Picture from my friend/bridesmaid Lindsey’s wedding—the photographer complimented my shoes!)  I love, love, love these, and really, I’m cool with any excuse to wear them again.  I’m thinking yellow shoes and perhaps either a yellow headband or bracelet to finish the look?

Anyway, we spent the day cleaning (we did laundry, vacuumed, cleaned the bathroom, and washed the sheets), doing wedding stuff (going over the budget, working on a brochure for the out-of-town bags, mailing payments to our musicians, finishing the menus), and generally lounging. 

I’m off to take a shower before the Oscars start!  I’m REALLY pulling for A Serious Man to win, but I doubt it will.  I’d be happy with Inglorious Basterds winning as well.

Oscars: who are you pulling for?  If you’re not watching, what was your favorite movie of 2009?

13 Responses

  1. I love how you consider spring 50s. It was in the 70s today and that’s spring for me!

    Like I said on the knot last night, I think those shoes will look great with the dress as long as you use a yellow accessory to tie it in. I think a yellow headband would look great! We have a $1 accessory store in town. I’ll check next time I’m there and see if I can come across anything for you.

  2. Gorgeous dress! I like the shoes paired with it. I agree that you’ll need another yellow accessory to tie it in.

  3. The dress is gorgeous! I think the whole outfit will look very light and fresh with the yellow shoes. I agree with the others that a yellow accessory (even a light yellow – it doesn’t have to match the shoes exactly) will tie it all together quite nicely! 🙂

  4. I love the dress.

    I haven’t seen much of the Oscar nominees but I just added a ton of them to my Netflix queue.

    Black toenails mean you’re hardcore!

  5. Absolutely love the yellow shoes! I’m a sucker for brightly colored shoes like that. I think they’ll look great with the dress, especially if you wear another accessory that will tie them in. Love the dress, too!

  6. I *love* those shoes. Where are they from?

    • They are Nine West from Zappos, but they discontinued them last year! My cousin wanted to get a pair but she was too late.

  7. The Blind Side and The Hangover!

    So excited you went with the blue dress. It’s adorable! And the yellow shoes would totally work.

  8. i love the yellow shoes with that dress great together can’t wait for spring i’m tired of cold weather

  9. That was my favorite dress all along! I’m tempted to try it out for my shower! Love the yellow shoes w/ it.

  10. I love that dress, it’s gorgeous. I was thinking of buying it for a summer wedding!

    I love the shoes, but not the dress and the shoes together. there’s so much going on with the dress that I think the shoes would be distracting. just my opinion!

  11. I love love love that dress!! And definitely those shoes or a yellow headband with it- I love the idea of the bright yellow & those shades of blue together!!

  12. The dress is great, have you checked TJ Maxx for it? I know mine in NC have had this very dress. Just a thought!

Leave a Reply

