It’s Friday, I’m in love

TGIF, friends.  TGIF.

Today I was determined to have a fresh green monster at lunchtime, no matter how crazy I had to be to do it. 

I packed the components separately—1 cup of milk, frozen strawberries and half a frozen sliced bananer, and a whole bunch of spinach and protein powder.

0305 001

And yes, I brought my Magic Bullet to work today.  It’s that fabulous.

0305 002

It was kind of messy.  I went through lots of paper towels because I packed the cup too full. 0305 003

But in the end, I reaped a delicious reward—a strawberry choco-nana green monster.  I swear these things keep me full for hours.

 0305 004

I also had this random trail mix left over from my Christmas stocking, and a turkey sammich on a bagel thin.  My goal was to take in a lot of food pre-run today to avoid the voms afterward.

0305 005

Look at my pretty new Feetures socks!  These were my pity purchase at the running store yesterday.  God love them.0305 006

I also wrapped my feet with Second Skin pads and moleskin before my long run.  The pads are funny—they’re kind of like jelly, and they are really ice cold when you stick them to your feet.

0305 007

Then you cover them with moleskin. 0305 008

I did this to the arches of both feet.

I wasn’t really hungry pre-workout, but ate half a Clif Builder’s Bar anyway.  I was planning to eat the other half on my way home from the gym, but I wasn’t that hungry afterwards so I didn’t.

0305 009

Anyway, apparently my action plan paid off.  The verdict?  8 miles in 1:19:30, shaving 1 minute off last week’s time.  Woo!  I knew it would be a good run when all the treadmills were open, so I could pick my favorite—the one where you can watch the news channel AND the sunset out the window with a fan directly aimed at you. Bliss.

Random: does everyone else’s gym have Super Fit Guy (or Girl)?  Because I am in constant awe of this dude I see at the gym every day.  He looks like this:

eriq_lasalleDr. Benton, from old school ER, but in running clothes.  He gets on the treadmill and runs 5 miles at a 6:00-6:30 pace…and then goes and lifts for about half an hour.  When he finished his run I felt like I should congratulate him, but that would be awkward.  Anyway.  I find people who are truly athletic and in effortless good shape inspiring.  Hats off to you, Super Fit Guy!

In other news, Chocolate Outrage is indeed Outrageously Good.  It does taste like frosting and will probably become my go-tu Gu.   Yum!

Anyhoo, my run was pretty uneventful, which is good.  At about mile 5, the moleskin on my foot started (surprise surprise) rubbing and irritating my foot.  So, now I’ve added chafing and a few more blisters to each foot.  Ironic, huh—the anti-blister moleskin…gives me blisters.  WTF.

Left foot post-run:

0305 010

And right: 0305 011

Oh, running.  You hurt so good.  When I got home, out of curiosity, I did the Runner’s World wet foot test (twice).  I am having trouble interpreting the results, though.  Help?

0305 014

In other news, more RSVPs today!  5 yeses, 2 nos.  I love the notes people are writing on them!

0305012

We also got a wedding card from Tim’s great-aunt and uncle.  I love this sweet note.

0305 013

Getting RSVPs is really exciting, but I’m not going to lie—wedding stress has been starting to get to me.  I feel like I’m being tugged in a million directions, and though I think people mean well, it’s incredibly stressful to try to please everyone (even though I know I won’t).  Ultimately, I’m just trying to focus on Tim and drown out the noise, but it’s been hard.  Please tell me it’s worth it!

So, that’s that.  I think Tim and I are off to Coldstone for a little post-run refueling.  Have a great night!

16 Responses

  1. I am SUPER impressed by your determination to have a green monster for lunch. I need to do this!! maybe tomorrow! ouch I feel bad for your feet 😦 have a great weekend! I LOVED getting my rsvps back – it was all so exciting – enjoy this time together!

  2. That green monster looks really yummy! I hope your feet get better soon! 🙂

  3. yay for wedding response cards! We’ve received 7 so far and we just mailed them on Monday! i love reading what people write on them, too.

  4. No RSVPs here. 😦

  5. Dude. HOW DO YOU WALK, let alone run, on those things?? I guess I am a blister wimp. I am in awe.

  6. Out of curiosity, which wet test did you do first? It looks like you were trying to compensate between the first and second test, so your problems almost switched between feet.

    • The left one was first.

      • Then I would be inclined to use the left one as your “true” test. It’s pretty common to look at a test like this and subconsciously try to correct how you stand. In that case, it looks like your left arch is higher than your left (which looks pretty flat), which also makes sense given your blister patterns. Do you have any blisters on the outside of your left foot?

      • I kind of just jumped into reading your blog…Regarding your blisters. What type of shoes are you running in? Are they new? If so where did you get them? I have run three marathons and you may have already gotten this advice but you can get fitted for running shoes. Bring in your old/current pair and they can see how they wear on the bottom. Also they watch you run/walk in them and can find a pair that is just right for you. THIS IS A LIFE SAVER when it comes to running/ training. Also tell them wear you are getting the blisters. All shoes fit different and have different arch shapes. They may be a little expensive but in the long run a good investment!

      • I’ve been fitted for running shoes 5 or 6 times at 3 different running stores with no luck. 😦

  7. I give you serious credit for running through those blisters. Wow. Blisters are the worst….I hope they callous over or something soon!

  8. That green monster looks incredible, unbelievably AMAZING!

    I have a super fit guy also & i’m in constant awe. i don’t get how he does it.

  9. Haha, I can’t believe you brought your magic bullet to work, that’s great.

    I hear ya on the wedding stress, going through the same thing now (mine is 2 weeks after yours). Just keep your eye on the prize! 😉

  10. I’m amazed that you run with those blisters. That’s really impressive.

  11. Don’t get stressed out about the wedding (easy to say, right?). You and Tim are numero 1!!!

    I remember that guy from ER!! My gym doesn’t really have that guy though. Just the creeper who looks like Charlotte’s husband on Sex and the City that chats up any girl in there under the age of 25 :\

    Yay for the 8 miles!!! I wonder if it’s a skin thing on your feet? I suppose you’ve probably already done tons of Googling on the matter…

  12. i would love to have a green monster at work and all that running good for the mind and body but not the FEET!

Leave a Reply

