Action plan

Hi, friends!

Today was an on-the-go, traveling-for-work kind of day.  No complaints, though—I was home by 4!

And who says you can’t eat healthy on the road.  I packed another green monster and drank it as I drove!  They are still best fresh, but I made this one this morning instead of the night before and it was considerably better. 

0304 001

I rounded things out with a PB&J.

0304 002

Anyway, after work, I got home and guess what?  We got two RSVPs back!  One was from my mom, saying that she’s coming (duh), and the other was from Tim’s great-aunt and uncle with this lovely note.

0304 003

They got married in the same town we are…62 years ago.  Whoa.  But they are not coming.  Total so far?  3 coming (me and Tim included), 2 not coming, 199 people…undecided.

After I got home, I decided to visit the running store again after yesterday’s most heinous run.  I packed up all my old running shoes, since Bob had mentioned wanting to see them last time I was in.  And then I figured I could donate them there, because lord knows I’m not using them and five pairs of running shoes=major closet space.

 0304 004

My friends at the Sports Medicine Store (and no, they are not paying me—I just really like this place) recognized me as soon as I came in with an “uh-oh.”  I explained to them what was going on—the intense rubbing in the arches, the tender knot in my shin/calf directly above my right arch—and, apparently, in all the excitement of Saturday, I missed the memo that I’m not supposed to be actually RUNNING in the arch supports for a week.

I think I got confused because they sent me home with the arch supports IN the running shoes.  So, apparently, I need to put the insoles in my shoes and gradually build up to wearing them all day just walking.  Until then, they said I will be fine to run in the shoes with the regular sockliner in them.  Back to the drawing board!  As always, the staff was super nice.  I bought a pair of socks just because I felt bad they had to deal with my crazycakes again.

Promise: if I make it through my half marathon with happy feet/shins/calves, I will bring the staff at the Sports Medicine Store cake balls.

Anyway, I’ve also been reading some about heel striking versus forefoot striking.  I think I’m a heel striker, which is apparently the worst thing you can do for your body, so I am going to play with my gait a little tomorrow to see if I can feel any difference if I attempt to strike with the front of my feet rather than my heels.

SO.  Tomorrow is long run day—another 8 miler.  Here is my superfab action plan for not crashing and burning.

  • Eat.  Last week I was barfy afterwards because I didn’t eat enough during the day.  I am going to eat a slightly larger breakfast, pack a bigger lunch than I usually do, and a bigger-than-normal snack for about an hour beforehand.
  • Hydrate.  But not too much.  I get sloshy if I drink 3 of my 24 oz. water bottles before a run, but 2 or 2.5 is okay.
  • Foot care.  To prevent arch blistering I am going to use Second Skin pads and moleskin on both arches.  I wore it on my left arch on Monday and very much liked it.  I will also not be using the arch supports tomorrow, just the sockliner. 
  • Leg care.  Apparently the knot-type feeling I have in my right leg is a little bit of internal bruising of some sort from the arch supports.  I’m going to ice it tonight and wear my Zensah compression sleeves tomorrow.  (I would wear them when I run, but I think I would be too hot!)
  • Asthma.  Take my medicine.  Duh.
  • Fuel.  I am deciding whether to try the much-touted Chocolate Outrage Gu or the assorted flavor Sports Beans I picked up today on sale.  Decisions, decisions.
  • Mental.  Download the couple fun songs I tagged on Shazam to keep the beats interesting.    Bring a post-run snack so I don’t eat the steering wheel on the ride home.  Attempt to protect asscheeks from chafing.  Embrace the hardcore!  Eat the ellipticalizers for breakfast.

Anyway, that’s my plan.  Hopefully one of these days everything will fall into place.

What’s your favorite mental tactic to get through a long run?

6 Responses

  1. I’m pretty sure I follow the exact same routine to get myself psyched up for a long run: pre-run food, check; pre (and during) hydration, check; new gu flavors (I’m so excited, I’m going to try the mint-chocolate on this weekend!), check; new songs (or at least ones I haven’t heard in a while but that bring a smile to my face), check; compression–double check!! Have fun! And good luck with those blisters. I have a couple on my toes that I’ve been whining about, but they are nothing compared to your ordeal…

  2. I don’t usually have too much trouble getting through long runs. I just settle into a comfortable pace, zone out, and go. Sometimes I’ll listen to an audiobook for the first half of my run to mix things up. But when things get tough towards the end I just start taking it one mile (or half mile, or whatever I deem manageable at that point) at a time.

    Good luck tomorrow!

  3. On my long runs, if I can’t seem to find the motivation near the end of the run to keep running, I will tell myself to run for at least 3-5 more songs…that way I concentrate on the music, not the running. If you think about it, 3-5 songs is at least 9-15 minutes of running…

  4. Have you heard of Chi Running? There is a work shop in Lee’s Summit (I believe) some time in March. I would LOVE LOVE to go but at $125 is a bit spendy! Check out the website for all of the details. Maybe I will use some tax money and treat myself!

  5. what do you take for your asthma? i think you mentioned it before and do you think it contributes to your weight? I think you mentioned that side-effects are weight gain? ugh. I think I’m on the same meds as you but thankfully I don’t take mine year round. I use my advair when I “know” my lungs could be inflammed (i.e. various times during the winter, and religiously during the spring time) I have allergic asthma which is awesome because I’m allergic to trees/grass/dogs (apparently I’m slightly allergic to cats but I have 2 and they dont bother me – but my friend has 3 huge dogs and I get bothered by them).

    my springtime regime = singulair at night, zyrtec in morning, advair twice a day. proair/nebulizer when necessary

    and I’m supposed to be running a 10mile CHERRY BLOSSOM race in DC in one month. fantastic!

    I will mention that docs say I was gonna “grow” out of this….hasn’t happened, I was diagnosed when I was 5 and 23 years later, still suffering. I dont have to do my nebulizer nearly as much as I used to during my trouble periods which is the month of May and I FULLY attribute that to NO DAIRY and less meat. also I implement HIIT workouts to strengthen my lungs

    I went mostly vegan last spring and last spring was my BEST spring yet in terms of allergies/asthma and I fully believe my diet contributed 🙂 win!

  6. I take Advair 100/50 twice a day, and I have an emergency ProAir inhaler. I also take Zyrtec for seasonal allergies, but I take mine at night because it makes me sleepy. I’m allergic to pretty much everything outdoors too!

    I worried that starting Advair would lead to weight gain, but thankfully it hasn’t. Good luck with your race!

Leave a Reply

