It’s a monster!

Last night I got busy creating my first green monster in awhile—chocolate cherry style, as is in vogue on the blogs lately. 

0303 001 I used:

  • about 2/3 c. frozen bing cherries
  • 1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder
  • a few Ghirardelli dark  chocolate chips
  • 1 packet Truvia
  • about 3/4 c. milk
  • as much spinach as I could cram in

I love my Magic Bullet.  Greatest infomercial product EVER.  Look!  I made the smoothie IN THE SAME CUP I DRANK IT OUT OF.  Minimal dishes, everyone!

0303 003

The final result looked and tasted delicious:0303 004

I stuck it in the freezer overnight and thawed it out in the fridge all morning.  It did not go well.  My beautiful, cherry red smoothie with flecks of brown and green turned into a muddy brown mess.

0303 006

I ate it anyway, but I don’t think freezing/thawing was a good idea. The spinach tasted off, like it had wilted, and the texture was slushy, not creamy.  Bleh.  Note to self: Green Monsters are best fresh.  I am seriously considering bringing my Magic Bullet to work so I can pack the ingredients and mix one up in my office behind  closed doors at lunchtime!  I WILL say that it kept me quite full. 

I had it with a cup of chicken noodle soup and a Western bagel with Trader Joe’s almond butter.

0303 005 

After work, as usual, I went to run.  As soon as I put my Brooks + arch supports on, I knew it was not going to be a good one.  Every step was excruciating.  The pain was mostly in my arches—an intense rubbing sensation that just felt like my feet were on fire.  However, I also now have what feels like a huge knot on the inside of my right shin, kind of behind the bone on the side.  Fabulous! 

Warning: gross foot pictures ahead.  Just so you all know I’m not a big baby, here’s the current status of my footsies.

0303 007

And a really gross one of my random, New Balance-imposed toe blisters:

0303 008

Tim commented the other day that the blisters on my feet are like rings on a tree, and really, it’s true!  That big red circle on my right foot is the remains of Blistersquatch, which I got in my Sauconys circa early January 2010.  The tiny blood blister is from my New Balances.  The crap in my left arch is a New Balance/Brooks hybrid.  I can tell many a tale from my feet!

Seriously, though, I’m frustrated.  I literally limped off the treadmill and hated every searingly painful step of my run.  Everything from my knees down hurt and seriously considered stopping pretty much every 3.2 seconds.  But I didn’t, and ended up running 4.5 miles in about 44:30.  4.5 hard, painful, frustrating miles.  I get that arch supports might take some breaking in, but this doesn’t feel like breaking in to me.  This feels like, “WE WERE NOT MEANT TO BE ON YOUR FEET” pain.

I hate to be a complainer, but I just don’t know what to do.  A kind reader  (Hi Sarah!) suggested via e-mail that I try custom orthotics, which is a good idea, though I am afraid of the cost.  My buddies at the Sports Medicine Store actually make them, so it might be a good topic to broach with them eventually.  I will probably go back this weekend and beg Bob and the trainers for more help.   I just feel like I’ve done it all at this point: Nikes, Adidas, Asics, Sauconys, New Balances, Brooks, Body Glide, various synthetic socks, taping, liquid bandages, non-liquid bandages and a partridge in a pear tree.  I’m frustrated, but I will not give up on this.  I can’t.

Anyway, in more interesting news, thank you all for your confessions this morning!   It’s good to get it all out there sometimes.

No wedding RSVP’s yet, but hopefully tomorrow!

Any Green Monster fans out there?  How do you make yours?

18 Responses

  1. You’ll find the perfect shoe eventually! Then you should buy about 10 pairs in case they discontinue them.

  2. I’m a huge GM monster! I use a Magic Bullet too. I actually need to buy more cups on eBay or something. I go through them quickly and never feel like washing them 😉

  3. I feel so sorry for you and the foot pain! It looks horrible, and I don’t know how you actually ran with blisters all over the place. I hope you find the solution soon, but unfortunately, I don’t have much advice to offer.

    I’ve been making my green smoothies with amazing grass powder and love it!

  4. I have yet to try a GM. That’s so sad that it turned into a mess after you froze it!

    Even though your run was tough, aren’t you glad you still did those miles in such a great time? That’s awesome!

  5. OUCH! I really feel bad for you having all the shoe troubles. I hope the shoe store people can help you fix them soon!

  6. OUCH!!!!
    Have you tried Brooks Trance or Mizuno Nirvana? You and I are built a lot alike….and these 2 shoes work great for me! I too went through many shoes until I found these. I have stayed with Mizuno’s recently and LOVE them!

    If the Sports Medicine Store cant help you, go over to Cycle City in Parkville. They have the treadmill and video there too! Good luck!!

    • I have not. I think Mizunos are the only major brand I haven’t tried at that point. Thanks for the store rec!

  7. You will NOT take my magic bullet to work…I need it for milkshakes!

  8. No RSVPs here either.

    You know how I do my GM – just a good old blender, banana, spinach, and soymilk. Maybe a splash of vanilla, maybe a scoop of protein powder, maybe some ice or frozen fruit. But I think I like the classic the best.

  9. I’ve never heard of green monsters, but I thought the cherry one looked delicious.. I love anything and everything cherry.

    About arch supports – I tried training for the Chicago marathon last year forgetting that I had been fitted for orthotics back in high school. I was re-fitted and although I wasn’t able to run the marathon last year because I had pushed my shins to such an injury, my training this year has been a complete difference. If you do get orthotics, they take some breaking in. I know my sports medicine doctor told me to walk in them more and more everyday until my feet felt comfortable and then do the same with running. And so far.. no pain! It might be the way to go with the problems you’ve been having! Good luck!

  10. With your feet blistering this badly, I would be more worried about the damage you may be doing to other parts of your body, mainly your knees. Since blisters represent areas of higher pressure and shear forces, they mean that you are not bearing your weight evenly.

    When we are unbalanced in one part of our legs, those forces are transmitted up to other joints. Usually, it’s our knees that really take the hit. That’s why I advised the orthotics- you need to find a way to balance out your weight. However, I do understand that they are a significant investment.

    But for what it’s worth, I have been running in Mizuno’s. They were one of the few shoes that could accomodate my orthotics and were very comfortable. Good luck!

  11. I make my GM with spinach, banana, frozen blueberries, milk, and chocolate whey protein.

  12. You should check with your health insurance provider about custom orthotics. My insurance paid for them 100%, I just had to pay the co-pay to visit the podiatrist to have them made. Totally worth $15 in my opinion.

  13. Hey, Brie! I’m a big fan of the blog. The other day, I tried a new product and thought of you! Have you heard of Yogi Granola Crisps? I found them at Whole Foods and, since I’m always on the hunt for a lower calorie granola snack, gave them a try. They ROCK! And as soon as I tried them, I thought of your blog!

    BTW: They are also a big hit with the rats, cats and bunnies. Though, they’re not the most discerning consumers.

    Can’t wait until May!

  14. I recently found your blog and really like it. I’ve been in KC now for about 10years, but am originally from STL. (uh and I still think the radio stations her suck!) I love me a GM. I’ve been drinking them almost daily since October. While I don’t believe they make my skin glow, I love how they keep me full and pack a huge punch of fruits and veggies. my basic recipe is: couple big handfuls of spinach, 1 frozen banana, milk, and 2TBSP of natural chunky PB. now usually I add some of the following depending on my mood…. 1-2 carrots, 1/2 an apple (sometimes frozen), flax, a few frozen strawberries, and occasionally 1oz dark chocolate.

    Sucks about your shoes and your feet. I’m a Saucony girl and may never train in anything else!

  15. Long time reader – first time commenter! I have been running in Brooks Adreneline for years (4 1/2 marathons, 1 marathon, etc.) and swear by them. My husband just qualified for the Boston Marathon wearing these shoes. They are the best! I would also recommend these Asics socks for your blisters – http://www.asicsamerica.com/products/product.aspx?PRODUCT_ID=240013130&TITLE_CATEGORY_ID=250001574&PARENT_CATEGORY_ID=250001541.

    Padding in all the right places. We both run in the them all the time. Amazing!

Leave a Reply

