Test Drive

Apparently, people got our wedding invitations today!  I got an email around noon from my mom saying that she got hers already in Chicago, and a few hours later I’d gotten another e-mail from my aunt saying she had hers in Indiana.  So, apparently the USPS is very speedy.  Well done.

Today I did something fun.  I brought a lemon to work so I could drink lemon water all day.  I drink plenty of water plain anyway, but the lemon made it a little more fun. 

0301 001

Unfortunately, the knife I brought to cut the lemon with cut a hole in my lunch bag.  Oops.

In other, more interesting news, I tried out my new running shoes today. 

I wore my ancient Pumas to and from the gym so as not to get them dirty.  I want to only run on them on the treadmill for the time being in case I have to return them.  I’ve become highly skeptical of running shoes, unfortunately.

0301 002

I have to say, this was the strangest-feeling pair of running shoes I’ve tried to date.   The arch supports made me feel about three inches taller, and for the first half mile my stride felt weird.  I felt like my legs and hips were aligned properly and like I had very good posture and a longer stride, if that makes any sense.   I felt less bounce in my step, which was nice.

After about 3/4 of a mile, I started having some pain.  Namely, the shoe felt quite narrow on my right foot and my outer ankle/little toe bone area got a little sore (althoug .  Then my left arch felt blistery again, and the bottoms of my feet felt weird and like they were being rubbed funny.  (This may also be due to wearing my new Wright double-layer socks today.  I will try my trusty Balegas tomorrow and see if that feels better.)

My buddy Bob at the running store warned me that these might take some breaking in and getting used to.  I hope he’s right, but I am not feeling optimistic about these shoes right now.  I ran pretty fast anyway, so that’s good:

  • Mile 0-0.5: 6.0 mph
  • Mile 0.5-1: 6.1 mph
  • Mile 1-2: 6.2 mph
  • Mile 2-3: 6.3 mph
  • Mile 3-3.5: 6.4 mph
  • Mile 3.5-4: 6.5 mph
  • Mile 4-4.25: 6.6 mph
  • Mile 4.25-4.5: 6.7 mph

For a grand total of 4.5 miles in a hair over 43:00.  My body feels so much stronger and better at running than it did even a month ago…I just wish my stupid feet would get the memo.

Anyone out there used arch supports?  Do they get better with time?

5 Responses

  1. foot/sneaker problems can be super challenging. my mom has great difficulty finding sneaks also. hope it gets better!

  2. I wear custom made orthotics. When I first got my current pair, my arches and various joints were pretty achey for a few days, but that went away as my body got used to the new alignment. I don’t know if it makes any difference, but I wear mine underneath the cloth liner that comes with the shoe. Hope you get your shoe problems worked out soon!

  3. So exciting about the invites! I Just mailed mine today, and can’t wait to start getting the rsvp’s back!

    I hope these shoes work for you.. maybe an orthotic would be a better option?

  4. I use arch supports. They definitely take some getting used to, and depending on the type you got, they can take some time to conform to your feet. I always wear my running shoes with new arch supports in them around the house for a couple days before I run in them. Also, since it changes the alignment, it can definitely make your stride feel funny and make you sore in places you wouldn’t normally be sore until you get used to them. But you probably figured that!

  5. My latest pair of Nikes has been giving me some arch pain, mostly in my right foot. I have really high arches, and I think I’m just not getting the support I need. I’m going to try arch supports, I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

