Negative Splits

Today was a good day.  Not great, but good. 

This morning Tim ate his first breakfast cookie!  He has been complaining that his normal breakfasts (either a bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios or a peanut butter sandwich) don’t hold him over until lunch.  I made it my mission to make him a filling breakfast that tasted good too!  The verdict?  He thought it took too long to eat (he’s a slow eater generally).   I asked him if it was delicious, and his response was, “Well, you’re a healthy eater, so it’s delicious for you, but maybe not delicious for normal people, like steak, and bacon are.”

So, I’ll take that as a mixed review.  I tried.  I think I am going to start packing him a morning snack instead.  😦

I think I need a bigger lunch box.

0223 001

Same lunch as yesterday, with the last sweet wheat Western Bagel instead of the corn muffin.

I can’t get enough of clementines lately.  I ate 3 today and might have another before bed!  They’re so tiny, but they take a long time to eat.  Andplusalso they’re pretty.

0223 002

I have successfully polished off one of the two bags of spinach so far this week.  Success!

Unfortunately, the volume trick didn’t work for me today.  I was hangry.   Around 3 o’clock, I had a Clif Mountain Mix Mojo bar.  I looove these things—salty and sweet, with nuts and raisins and seeds and chocolate chips and pretzels…yum.

0223 003

But, yeah.  Didn’t hold me.  I feel like a bottomless pit today!

My stomach felt like it was eating itself by the time I got to the gym, but today was just 3 miles so I powered through anyway.  Since I had some lung trouble yesterday, I took my inhaler before I ran and oh my gosh, what a difference!  This was an AWESOME run.  I pushed my speed and it felt great.  I really think sometimes I’m being a little too conservative with my pace and I need to crank it up a bit.  I did:

  • 0-0.5 miles at 6.1 mph
  • 0.5-1.0 miles at 6.2 mph
  • 1.0-1.5 miles at 6.3 mph
  • 1.5-2.0 miles at 6.4 mph
  • 2.0-2.33 miles at 6.5 mph
  • 2.33-2.66 miles at 6.6 mph
  • 2.66-2.9 miles at 6.7 mph
  • 2.9-3.0 miles at 7.0 mph

Final total?  3.0 miles in 28:15.  Boo.  Yah.  I felt like I could keep going, too! 

Anyway, we just ate dinner (burger on a sammich thin and brown rice) and I already feel hangry again.  Guess it’s just one of those hollow leg days!

I’m off to prepare a rant-y post for tomorrow.  Get excited, because I am one angry bear!

What do you do on bottomless pit days?  Feed it or fight it?

10 Responses

  1. wow – great run! I normally try to fight it….but that ends up making me super cranky and gives me a headache, so I ultimately end up feeding it

  2. I eat on bottomless pit days. Your body is hungry, so feed it.
    But, on emotional eating days I try to fight it. *Try is the key word there.

  3. Great job on the negative splits!!

    I usually feed the bottomless pit, but only after I’ve assessed whether I’m actually hungry of just feel like munching on something.

  4. I try to fill the hunger with other things first – water or another cup of coffee. If I find I am just famished, I go ahead and feed it. I can’t keep things at work or I would eat them even when I’m not hungry – so my go to back up is pretzels from the vending machine. Usually I find if I’m really hungry during the day I can off set it at night and eat less. But there are those days where I could just keep going and going and going. On those days I always look at what I choose to fill the pit – and feel good that it is at least healthier than what I would have ate in the past!

    Looking forward to the rant 🙂

  5. I’m having a bottomless pit day myself! If I’m 100% certain it’s physical hunger (and not wanting to eat out of boredom or stress or something like that) then I go ahead and eat more. The idea of being ravenously hungry and NOT eating sounds like complete torture to me!

  6. AH! I had 3 days in a row like that last week! I didn’t feed it until the 3rd day, and it felt great to be ‘full.’ I haven’t had those feelings since! Sometimes we just need a complete refill! ha.

  7. I hate the days when you feel hungry no matter what you eat. They frustrate me to no end.

  8. FEED IT. I am just not physically capable of putting off hunger. Not only do I become a giant bitch, but I get really weak and dizzy. I think I’m sensitive to my blood sugar levels or something. Besides, hungry days are usually followed by not-so-hungry days, so it evens out 🙂

    Awesome run!! I am liking that treadmill workout, I may steal it 😉

  9. Um, yeah. Yesterday was a bottomless pit day for me. I tried to balance out satisfying my appetite with trying to ignore it. It didn’t work so well.

  10. I loveee those Cliff Mojo bars, they are yummy!

Leave a Reply

