Stuffed, Sealed, Stamped

Happy weekend!

This morning I worked.  It was interesting, since we were sharing a space with a convention of people in superhero-anime-type costumes.  Made for some interesting people-watching!

Since I was going to be gone during the hours the post office is open, I asked Tim to go get the postage for our wedding invitations.  He took one and had it weighed, and thankfully, a .61 cent wedding stamp will do the job.  Then, all afternoon, we stuffed, sealed, and stamped the wedding invitation envelopes.  Major props to Tim, who licked all 92 envelopes himself!

Here they are, all ready to go!

I think we’re going to send them March 1st, so a week from Monday, but I’m not going to lie, I’m a little eager to get them out.  Today marks 11 weeks to the wedding, so I think if we wait until 10 weeks out we’ll be good.

Oh, and a tip I learned from The Knot: put a small pencil number in the corner/on the back of the RSVP card that corresponds to a number on your guest list.  (Ours is in Excel, so I just used the row numbers.)  That way, when you get RSVPs back with missing or illegible names, you can cross-reference your list to figure out who sent it!  I’ve heard this can come in VERY handy.

Also, in the mail, I got address labels I’d ordered from Vistaprint.  I love this site–if you sign up for their e-mails, you get free stuff all the time.  I got each set of labels for free, with $3 shipping.  Not a bad deal!  These are for our cute shower thank you notes:

And these are for our wedding thank you notes (with my new married name on it!  Eep!).

Then I went and got an oil change.  Boooring, but my car really needed it.  (I was about 1,000 miles over the suggested replacing time.  Oops.)

Tim and I were planning on going out to dinner and getting Coldstone with my new gift card, but we went out and turned around to go back home about halfway there because it started snowing really heavily!  Boo.  We stopped at Chipotle for dinner instead.

Anyway, I’m going to finish up some odds and ends around here tonight–clean the kitchen, maybe do some DIY stuff, maybe hunt for bridesmaid’s gifts…we’ll see.

What’s the best insider wedding tip you have?

4 Responses

  1. Love the address labels! I really need to order some for our thank you cards.

  2. Great tips!

  3. for my sister’s wedding we did the numbers on the back of the invites that cooresponded with a name on the master guest list. It worked out great for us. I plan on doing this with my invites, too. mine are going out in 2 weeks, eek!!!

  4. I just used vistaprint.com to order rehearsal dinner invitations. I plan on using them for a few other wedding related things, too. Thanks for showing us the labels! I really like them. It must have been exciting to order something with your new name.

    My only “insider tip” so far is what you just mentioned – putting numbers on that back of the cards. I have also heard that it is a huge help.

Leave a Reply

