Happy Fun Surprise Day

Today was one of those days that started out absolutely ordinary and blah, but turned pretty great with some fun surprises!

Anyway.  Work this morning was rather hectic and I was feeling blah.  For several hours, I kept looking to see if there were knives sticking out of my stomach, but there weren’t.  My day instantly cheered up when I saw a box on my desk!  It contained our rehearsal dinner invitations (which I still have to make a little thingamabob with the information on it to put inside, but oh well) and our invitation envelopes all fancily addressed!  These are the rehearsal invites:

And the envelopes. Unfortunately I had to blur out most of the address.  But as you can see, my aunt’s calligraphy is really pretty.

Today’s orange wasn’t too bad.  But check out that peel!  It’s seriously impenetrable it’s so thick.  I had to stab it with a pencil to get the peeling started, so if I die of lead poisoning, hey, it’s been fun.

I also had an English muffin with Blue Diamond Honey Almond Butter.  I am undecided about this product.  I think the honey makes it a little bit too sweet for me, but it’s a nice change from regular almond or peanut butter from time to time.  I don’t hate it, but I don’t love it.  (Great review, huh?)

As you know, my laptop has been in the hands of the Geek Squad since Monday.  I happened to check the repair status online today about 5 minutes before leaving work and it had changed to something like, “Please contact the store for more information.”  Well, as it so happens, with exactly three weeks left on my service plan, they put my poor old laptop in the junk heap and decided to give me a free, brand new laptop so I’d stop heckling their geeks every two months.  Hooray!  So, that was awesome news.

Because I wanted to get to Best Buy, I decided to listen to the overwhelming response from my fantastic commenters and only ran 4 miles today.  However, I wanted to make it a good, productive, hard 4 miles since I missed a run yesterday.  At about 2 miles in, I decided to push hard on speed and finish the run as fast as I could.  (A free, new computer is a GREAT reason to run fast.)  I ran 4 miles in 38:38, which is pretty fast for me!  The best part was that I did negative splits the whole way–started at a 6.0 speed for half a mile, then just went and up and up and up until I was sprinting an 8 minute mile at the end.  Super fun and exhilarating.

And then, I came home, and oh yeah, I got an invitation to my bridal shower!  (I made my aunt send me one so I could see how cute they were.)

Tim and I ate a quick homemade pizza dinner and then we went to Best Buy.  We were in and out, no hassle, with a brand new computer of my choice in approximately half an hour.  Meet my new blogging buddy/free Sony Vaio!

I set the box on the couch and Southie claimed it immediately.

And now, I am sitting here working my proverbial ass groove into this computer–I have lots of links to save and files to load!  Thankfully, I saved everything on my external hard drive before taking it in, so I haven’t lost any documents or pictures.

What’s been the best surprise you’ve gotten recently?

6 Responses

  1. I was asked to be an assistant coach for my town’s Girls on the Run program. We start Monday and I am SO excited!!

  2. I have the same exact laptop … just in pink. 😉

  3. I got a second interview for a position that I am really interested in!

    I love all of the invitations 🙂

  4. Free laptop? That’s awesome!

  5. Oooh, keep us updated on how you like the Vaio, I’ll be in the market for a new one soon as mine is a piece of junk 😛

    I haaaate it when I try to peel an orange and the peel is an inch thick. I think I have this big juicy orange, and I’m left with this little wimpy one. I feel gypped!

  6. Wow, a brand new laptop AND an invitation to your shower in one day?! Sounds like a great day to me!

Leave a Reply

