PDR!

Today was INFINITELY better than yesterday!  (Thank goodness, right?)

I was traveling about an hour away for work.  There was going to be lunch, but I packed heavier snacks since I usually am not a fan of mass catering–a PB&J on an Arnold’s Thin and the remains of a bag of trail mix.

The weather was sunny and beautiful today.  Since I’m carpooling with Tim for the time being, I had to wait near work until 5 to go pick him up.  I contemplated what I was going to do in my downtime between when I’d be done working and when I’d pick him up and decided…hey, why not knock out a long run?  I’d have about an hour and a half to kill, so I might as well.  I was sold!

Around noon I had a light lunch off the buffet they provided–it was Mexican, so I made a wrap with a tortilla, some grilled chicken strips, some salsa and a little cheese.  (Okay, and a small brownie.)  I finished up around 2, and on the drive back to KC I ate the rest of the trail mix and the PB&J in preparation for my big run.

Rewind: the longest I’d ever run (before today! Spoiler alert!) was 7 miles.  This was in October 2008, so a year and a half ago, and it was done the wrong way–I didn’t fuel, and I did it while eating nowhere NEAR enough.  But still, it’s stood as my personal distance record (PDR) since then.  Today, I was determined to smash it.

I prepared.

My inhaler, a stick of peppermint gum, my iPod shuffle, and some Pineapple Gu Roctane I’d gotten for free at my last race.  (Please note the 30 minute limit during peak hours sign.  Yeah, right.  I gots PDRs to smash!)

Anyway, I was justifiably pumped.  The gym was pretty empty, and I’d staked out a good treadmill in front of a TV.  Because my gym LOVES to tune the TVs to the FitTV channel (WHY? If you wanted to do a TV workout, wouldn’t you do it at home instead of behind a random row of treadmills?), I got to watch vintage Gilad circa 1993.  Holy asscheeks, thong leotards were IN.  It was hilarious.

The first 3.5 miles were nice and easy.  I purposely scaled down to a 10:10 mile because I didn’t want to burn out too soon.

At mile 3.5  I took a 1 minute walk, Gu, and Twitter break.  This was my first ever Gu!  It was…creamier? than I expected.  While it wasn’t horrible, a rapid injection of slimy goo is always going to be a test of the gag reflex, especially when you’re panting from running.  I got it down and it was icky.

When I started running again, I picked up my pace to a steady 10:00 mile and then to a 9:50.  As gross as the Gu was, I will say that I think it absolutely helped me to not hit a mental wall energy-wise.  I definitely felt a little peppier afterwards, and while it might be a placebo effect, I liked it.  Two thumbs up for Gu (though I think I need to find a better flavor).

I kept plugging away until I hit 60:00 and…the treadmill shut off?!!?!?  Apparently, the treadmills won’t let you work out for more than an hour.  So, at one hour, I was at 5.85 miles, so I re-started and ran another 1.25.  (Sad, because I was excited to see that 7.1.  Jerks.)

Anyway, I literally had so much energy I sprinted to the finish.  (Note: sprinting, relatively speaking.  I think it was maybe a 9:00/mile pace.)  Final verdict?  7.1 miles in 1:12:25, or just a hair over a 10:00/mile pace.  Hoorah!

Since I couldn’t take a picture of the pretty 7.1 miles on the treadmill, here is proof from my Polar that I at least did SOMETHING strenuous for an extended period of time.  (This includes a 5 minute walking cooldown.)

I win!  Overall I felt very strong on this run.  You know, some days I run and I feel like a rockstar athlete, like today, and then some days I feel like just a random schlub in running shoes.  That’s what makes it so frustrating AND so rewarding–the highs are so high, but the lows can be really low.

Anyway, I picked Tim up from work and we broke into something I’d picked up on my trip.  I’ve seen this on various blogs but hadn’t seen it in my area before.

Surprisingly, after my run my skin was all salty and grimy, so OBVIOUSLY I needed to replenish my salt quickly.  And really, what more pleasant way to do this?  This stuff was incredible.

Anyway, I feel wonderful about today, aside from a tiny blister on my foot and a little bit of chafing.  From here on out, every week’s long run will be a new PDR for me!  I’m excited more than anything.   Chicago Marathon, here I come. Onward and upward!

What’s your PDR?  Are you happy with it or do you plan to break it?

24 Responses

  1. Congrats on the PDR – that’s great! Mine is 13.1 miles, from a few half marathons. I definitely plan to break it someday when I run a full!

  2. haha i hate those stickers on the gym equipment that says you can only be on for 30 minutes…wtf!

    Congrats on your PDR, maybe i’ll see ya in the chicago marathon! (as a spectator only! chicago is my hometown, too)

  3. My personal distance record is being broken every weekend! I’m training for a half marathon and had never run more than 4 miles (and almost died..) before training. Guess what? Last weekend my co-author and I did 10. Every week is a challenge and it feels great afterwards. Keep it up. 7 is SO amazing!

  4. I love, love, love sea salt chocolate. Yum.

    Congrats on your PDR! Chicago 2010 is going to be awesome!!

  5. Haha, my PDR is a 5k. Yep. That’s right. HUA!

  6. My PDR is a half marathon. I hope to smash that record someday training for a marathon…someday!

    Note on the Gu – make sure you take it with LOTS of water. My favorite flavor is chocolate – it’s like frosting! I think this time around, I think I’m going to experiment with different things, like sport beans, sharkies, blocks, etc.

  7. That sea salt chocolate is awesome. I’m not even that big of a chocolate person, but it was great.

    I like the chocolate gu. It tastes like icing. Have you tried that kind?

    My PDR is 26.2. I don’t think Im going to break it but I’d like to do it faster. It took me like 6 hours.

  8. Good luck in Chicago!! My goal is to run the 2011 marathon but we’ll see how this 1/2 goes in August!

  9. CONGRATULATIONS on reaching a PDR! I think it is awesome you learned from past experience and I do the same on the treadmill- inhaler, glucose ( gu or shot blocks or luna moons) and a towel!

    Way to go Brie!

  10. Congrats on your PDR. You did a great job running 7.1. I think GU is awesome and when running I made sure to always take GU at the 30 minute mark before I got warn out. I really liked the strawberry banana and the tri berry. I also liked 1 shot blok before starting too. You’re doing awesome, keep it up!

  11. Congratulations!! That’s awesome!!

    Is that chocolate with sea salt? I’m confused. lol If it is, that sounds yucky. Can you tell me a little more about it? I’m intrigued.

    • It’s dark chocolate with just a tiny bit of sea salt in it. It works REALLY well together–Tim thought it sounded gross and then asked for a second square! It’s just a little bit salty with the sweet–it’s like how a chocolate covered pretzel works!

  12. Yesss!! You definitely win!! Congrats Brie! Breaking a PDR is such an awesome feeling. Especially when it’s a good run that does it. My PDR is 10 miles and that’s definitely going to get broke when I train for my half marathon this summer! I’ve been able to maintain an easy 10k distance over the winter, so hopefully it won’t take me much longer to get back up there.

    As for the GU, I tried the mocha flavour once and it wasn’t too bad. Although, the whole goo texture/experience was strange for me too. My favourite mid-run sugar is Clif shot bloks in cran-razz. They’re not super chewy, are easy to pop throughout the run, and sit best in my belly. Although, dates on the road bike never steered me wrong either!

  13. Rock on chick!! I’ve got some margarita flavored shot bloks but have yet to try them…Hope you have another awesome day!!!

  14. Congrats on your new PDR!!! That’s awesome. I find Gu really keeps me going well too and I actually kind of like the chocolate flavor.

  15. Ooooh I’m dying to try that dark chocolate with sea salt. Nice work on the PDR, especially on the treadmill! My PDR is 8.73, from my race this past weekend. I plan on running a half in September so until then, it’s likely that the 8.73 will be my PDR for awhile!

  16. AWESOME job!! 7.1 miles is really great!
    my PDR is 8 miles, I don’t think I will ever get past that because I have a reoccuring knee problem and can barely run more than 3 miles now ;/

  17. Congrats Brie! How exciting! I remember during marathon training when we had our first 14 miler and I was totally freaked out because my PDR was 13.1. It was awesome to crush it!

    I like the vanilla bean and the mixed berry Gu – I alternated between the two on my long runs and I always felt more peppy after. You get used to it!

  18. Congrats! My PDR is a couple 8ks I have run, so almost 5 miles. I really want to run a half marathon in August so I’m sure I will break that eventually!

    A few of my coworkers are running the Chicago Marathon this year so I will probably be there cheering them on – good luck!

  19. Congrats on the PDR. Definitely try different flavors of GU. Some are way better than others. And it goes down easier if you drink A LOT of water with it. I would use the GU only when I absolutely had to – I prefer the shot block or jelly beans. The more I read your blog the more I feel like a fat ass. I really have to start running again.

  20. Congrats on the PDR! And on the treadmill no less–quite an accomplishment. My PDR is a little sad to think about–20 miles during marathon training….just before the start of an injury that eventually prevented me from running the race (just now getting back into easy walk-slow run intervals after 6 months of no running). My TMDR (treadmill distance record) is only about 6.5, and even that was too much for me!

  21. Congrats! What a great accomplishment! I hope to one day like running:)

  22. Congrats, Brie! I admire your ability to remain on a treadmill for that long.
    I’m not sure what my PDR is, probably 6.5 mi. I plan to beat that very soon, once the snow and ice clears from our area. I’m clumsy and don’t want to trip on the ice.

Leave a Reply

