Mental Health Day

Today I woke up feeling much better (thankfully).  I’m so glad I took today off (and Tim had the day off) as a mental health day!  I needed it.

I had been planning a short 2 mile run and cross training today, but I figured I wait to see how food sat in my stomach before I went out.  I had a small bowl of cereal for breakfast and I was okay, but after lunch…bleh.  The nausea returned–not as bad as yesterday, but I don’t think running would have been advisable.  I hate skipping out–I feel like I’m making excuses, ESPECIALLY since I’ve been off for about a week now, but sometimes it’s just necessary.  I’m hoping everything is back to normal tomorrow.

Anyhow.  Unrelated, but I caught all three of our animals in one frame today, which is unusual.

Buckley was unlucky enough to get a bath today due to a mysterious poop odor surrounding him wherever he went.  Southpaw helped him dry off.

I post too many animal pictures, don’t I?  I should stop that.  Sorry.  We’re obsessed.

Anyway.  This afternoon I decided to finish menus for the tables at the reception.  I like knowing what I’m eating at plated dinners!   I’m just planning on putting one or two on a table.  Unfortunately, Michael’s only had seven sheets of vellum left, and I messed up a few, so I only ended up getting about ten done.  I’ll have to stop and get more next time I’m there, but I think they turned out well!

That menu makes me drool just looking at it.  Too bad I’ll split my wedding dress if I eat any of it!  (Our venue coordinator will be under strict instructions to pack us a full doggie bag for the honeymoon suite after the reception.  Yup.  Sexy.)

Oh, and also?  My poor laptop is broken again.  I’m using Tim’s.  The screen started flickering and going totally white, and the mouse button stopped clicking.  I have one month left on my Best Buy service plan, so it’s back in the shop, hoping they’ll fix it.  I could really use a new laptop!

For dinner, I thought I’d try this soup that Leah sent in her care package.

It smelled and looked so good!

Cheese tortellini and Italian chicken sausage in a tomato-y broth with lots of spices!  Yum.  Unfortunately, due to my tummy issues, I had a few bites and stopped because I knew it would be too spicy for me to handle tonight.  I had a few pieces of French bread instead.  Tim, however, gave it two thumbs up and plans on eating the rest of it for lunch this week!  He REALLY liked it.  Thanks, Leah!

I also made some peanut butter brownies for Tim to take to work.  Unfortunately, I underbaked them, so they’re almost raw in the center.  Grr.

Anyway, hopefully my stomach and shins will cooperate and I’ll be able to run tomorrow!  I felt great on Friday…so here’s hoping I can get back on track.  I’m starting to get a wee bit nervous after missing almost a week of half training!

Animal pictures: more, less, or just enough?

22 Responses

  1. Feel better!

  2. more pet pics – I love them!

  3. More! Your kitties are so cute (and the pup too)!

    Signed,
    Fellow obsessed cat owner

  4. I love the pet pics. Also, where is your bedding from? I love it.

    • It’s from Target about a year ago! It’s pretty, but it doesn’t hold up well–it’s gotten really shabby and worn in places.

  5. I love the animal pictures. I really should post more on my blog.

    I hope you feel better!

    Oh, and I absolutely love your menus. I’m kind of jealous we’re having a buffet and not doing menus.

    • You should totally do menus for a buffet! That way people can plan their attack before they go up!

      • Ugh! You make a valid point! I had pretty much decided I wasn’t going to do menus but now you are making me rethink it.

    • They’re pretty simple. Since I have a major food allergy (shellfish) I always like to know what everything is before I go up.

  6. I like the pet pictures! Especially of your cats because so many bloggers have dogs. We’re partial to cats at our house.
    Hope your tummy feels better tomorrow!

  7. I like the animal pictures! Esp Milhouse!

  8. Another vote for more pet pictures! 🙂

  9. YUM! That looks delicious!

  10. I like the pet pictures. I have a 12-yr-old fat cat that looks like a larger version of Buckley. 🙂

    Glad you are feeling better, and hope that your body cooperates so you can get back on your training schedule!

  11. I think I would like brownies that are almost raw at the center haha. I love under cooked baked goods 🙂

    Your menus look AWESOME. I hope you feel 100 times better by tomorrow!

  12. Never enough animal pictures! ❤ them. We're obsessed with ours, too! lol

    Ps your menus look terrific. I love some of your ideas!

  13. There’s no such thing as too many pet pics. I love your little furballs 🙂 Also, I think you should frame that pic of the three of them together and put it on your desk. It is so precious!!

  14. Sorry you had tummy issues and couldn’t enjoy the soup but I am glad that Tim gave it the stamp of approval!!

    Always MORE animal pics!! They are too cute and I have to live vicariously through your furry friends since I don’t have any of my own though I would love to.

  15. PS – I LOVE raw cookie bars!

  16. Hope your tummy is feeling better today! Your menu looks uh-mazing.

    You have an HP Pavillion, don’t you? I have the same one and I’ve had to send it back to be fixed three times. Apparently my model was recalled and they never told me. Thanks HP.

  17. I love those menus! You are inspiring me to get creative.

    Glad that you are feeling better!

  18. The menus are great – I love them.

    And definitely keep the animal pics coming – they are all very cute.

Leave a Reply

