Olympics Day!

Happy Olympics day!

I listened to myself and brought eggs for lunch.  I think I overcooked them, so they weren’t great.  I’m still a bit iffy on microwave eggs.  Sigh.

In nerdier news, I downloaded a whole bunch of Olympic video profiles of athletes to watch while I was at the gym (for free).  It was nothing groundbreaking, but interesting enough to pass the time (and pump me up for the opening ceremonies)!

I realized that all I had for a snack this afternoon was very calorie-dense bars.  So I had this PowerBar Harvest Toffee Chocolate Chip bar.  It was okay–not as good as the other flavor I tried awhile back, though.

Then I went to the gym.  Rather than try to get a real long run in today, I decided to just feel my shins out and go from there.  I ran a mile–at the end I felt a few tiny twinges of shin pain, so I stopped and hit the elliptical for 20 minutes instead.  Then, I was on my way out…and there were several free treadmills…and I couldn’t resist.  I hopped back on and ran a fast 9 minute mile pain-free as well.  I feel like the rest is what my shins needed, and I’m confident that after taking off Saturday and Sunday I’ll be back in the saddle Monday with a little more ice and foam rolling.  It’s such a relief to know (I think, anyway) that what I did worked.  I really, really think my body just likes several rest days after 6-8 weeks of consistent exercise.

Anyway, I got home, and the Shape subscription my sister got me for Christmas started with double duty!  I’m looking forward to reading these.


I also got a cute Valentine’s Day gift from my boss (the flowers and chocolate) and a most adorable Valentine from my talented card-making aunt.

Now we’re eating pizza and watching the start of the Opening Ceremonies.  U-S-A!  U-S-A!

Olympics: love, hate, or neutral?

9 Responses

  1. SO glad that you could get your run in today and that you are feeling better! I love your aunt’s card – she’s a scrapbooking diva after my own heart!
    I’m more of a fan of the summer olympics, but I will watch a few winter events – women’s ice skating, speed skating and snowboarding are my faves. Am I the only one that finds curling to be a non-sport sport though?

  2. I love my Shape magazines.

    I keep hearing about foam rolling and it sounds like it would feel amazing. I might have to try it one of these days.

    I enjoy the Olympics, but we don’t watch it religiously. If there’s nothing else on we’ll watching it.

  3. Love the Olympics! On a side note, I usually do eggs in the microwave 1 minute then stir then 1 more minute. That usually does the trick!

  4. Glad you had a good workout! This is my first time reading your blog. Congrats on the weight loss and I admire your motivation and perseverance!

    I just wanted to tell you to please edit the picture of the Shape magazines–they include your full name and address. I’m not sure if you realized that.

  5. your boss gives out valentines?? how nice is that?

    Glad your shins are feeling better. I once had stress fractures in both shins and that was no fun.

  6. I’m glad your shins are feeling better.
    I love the Olympics, but I fell asleep during the Opening Ceremonies and missed the torch lighting. Also, maybe it’s because I have a severe lack of culture in my life, but I always find the interpretive dancing portion of the opening ceremonies to be really odd. But, maybe that’s just me.

  7. Olympics : neutral. I’d be more into them if I had cable. But only as entertainment. I don’t really CARE who wins or anything.

  8. Ca-na-da! Ca-na-da!! 😛 We actually just won our first gold medal on Canadian soil last night – HUGE news round these parts. I kinda love the olympics. Although, I typically enjoy the summer sports more. There’s only so many variations of skiing and skating I can watch…

Leave a Reply

