DL Day Two

Self-appointed DL, day two.

Today I tried another new product–Yoplait’s Greek yogurt, this time in Honey Vanilla.  I liked this flavor better than the strawberry–it was more Greek yogurty to me!  I enjoyed it with some frozen strawberries.  Except when it’s seasonal, I buy almost exclusively frozen fruit.  It’s cheaper, and provided there’s no sugar added, it’s just as healthy as fresh.  And you don’t have to worry about it spoiling!

Note to self: bring eggs for lunch tomorrow.  You’ve gone to the microwave the last two days at lunch and gone “hmm, I wish I had eggs.”  Take it as a sign.  Eat the eggs.

I’ve also been working on my weekend to-do list.  I’m SO excited for my mental health day on Monday!

So much to do!

Moving right along, instead of running, I decided to do the OPPOSITE of healthy and make delicious Valentine’s cupcakes to foist on my co-workers.  (And Tim’s.)  I refrained from purchasing us Batman and Glee valentines to distribute as well.  Red velvet, with cream cheese frosting dyed pink and red sugar sprinkles!

Re: Valentine’s Day.  You know, I’m pretty okay with it.  I get annoyed with all the people that are like, “UGH It’s so CORPORATE and invented by HALLMARK, WE show our love EVERY DAY.”  Well, yeah.  So do we.  But really, is it that bad to have an excuse to go out and have dinner and eat some candy?  No.  Especially because January to April is pretty barren as far as holidays go.   We aren’t doing much, we’ll go out to dinner (which we do most Saturdays anyway), and I bought Tim a card and a small gift.  (Emphasis on small.)  Generally, this year, what with the wedding and all, we’re trying to not burn out on celebrating our love so chill is the key word.

Anyway, tomorrow I’m going to try to run again.  I’m also going to altogether overhaul the rest of my training schedule–I’d built in an extra week just in case something like this happened, so I’m going to do this week’s running next week, and so on.

Tomorrow’s schedule technically says I should run 7 miles.  Honestly, I’ve been really excited about this for a long time.  My personal distance record (PDR, aka, the longest I’ve ever run) was 7 miles, and it’s been over a year since I’ve done that.  I was planning on making my 7 miler a 7.1 miler just so I could say I broke it!  Anyway, I will probably just shoot to do what I can–if I’m pain-free, I might take it to 4 or 5 miles, but if I don’t want to do my longest run ever right after coming back from an injury.  Doesn’t seem smart to me.  But anyway, I WILL break that PDR…probably just next week, not this week.  Such is life.

What are your plans for V-Day?  Love it, hate it, in it for the chocolate?

10 Responses

  1. My hubby and I are going out to dinner on Saturday for V-day…which we haven’t done, just the two of us, in I can’t remember how long. I’m pretty valentine-neutral, but I’ll take chocolate whenever I can get it! 🙂

  2. Like Wendy, I’m valentine-neutral. We’re not particularly mushy-gushy people, but we’ve done the nice meal-card-candy thing.. I can’t remember the last time we did anything special; last year I made heart shaped biscuits, lol.
    This year my husband will be en route to his deployment location around Valentine’s Day, so we obviously won’t be doing anything special. I’m sure I’ll consume a fair amount of chocolate, anyway.

  3. Not a huge valentines day fan. Gotta love the chocolate though!

  4. Valentine’s Day is the boyfriend’s birthday too. Going out to eat Friday for V-day and Sunday for his birthday (friday alone, saturday with family). Hopefully I’ll keep the portions in control! I agree with your view on V-day. Not a huge day, but still fun to make it special!

  5. This may be a silly question, but do you thaw your frozen fruit, or just eat it frozen? And if you thaw it, does it get all mushy?

    • I make my lunch the night before and put the fruit in a container in the fridge. It thaws by itself by lunchtime! It’s kind of soggy, but I still like it and the nutrients are all there!

  6. Im just sort of eh about V-day. I don’t love it but I don’t hate it either. I think we’re going out to dinner tomorrow, since Jason has to work on the actual holiday.

  7. My fiance and I are running the Cupid’s Chase 5k on Saturday and volunteering for the special olympics on Sunday….I am pretty excited and nervous for the 5k because it’s my first one! I always love a good V-day dinner, but we will prob keep things low key this year since my guy was just let go from work.

  8. I like valentine’s day personally and I agree with you, it can be chill but still nice. We usually just go out to dinner but it’s still fun!

  9. Bah! New kinds of greek yogurt and I STILL can’t get any in New Brunswick! Insert giant pouty face here.

    I’m definitely in Valentine’s Day for the chocolate. And cinnamon hearts. I always saw it as a bit of a joke anyways, even when I was in a relationship.

    Off to see how that 7 miler went – hopefully okay!

Leave a Reply

