Superbowl Sunday

Hi guys.  Sorry for no post yesterday–it was exhausting!  I got up at 5 for work, worked until 2, came home, napped, showered, and my future brother-in-law came in for a meeting so we all went out for a late dinner at my favorite French bistro.  It was a lovely dinner–I especially love their generous pours of their delicious house red.

Also, random sidenote: I don’t talk about alcohol too much on the blog simply because it’s not a big deal for me.  I drink maybe 1-2 glasses of red wine a week, with the occasional beer thrown in, but not much more than that.  I don’t really like the way booze makes me feel in excess, and I’d usually rather eat my calories.

So, anyway.  We woke up today around 8:30 and tried out the pancake mix Leah sent!

I have never had anything marionberry before, but it was delicious!  It tasted like a cross between a blackberry and raspberry.   It was very strong, so I only used about a tablespoon for dipping.  We each had two pancakes.

Then I went grocery shopping, and came back, happily, to find John (future brother-in-law) hanging out at our house.  He lives on the east coast and his flight home was canceled, so we hung out all day.  We had Chipotle for lunch, watched Inglorious Basterds (which I really liked), and made frozen pizza and beer for dinner while watching the Superbowl.

I bought the fixings to restock my snack drawer at work:

I also bought a few different kinds of goo to experiment with while running.  I’m now putting myself on a strict “fuel during runs 5+ miles” plan in hopes I will avoid nausea.  And also some intense hand lotion, because winter is making them chapped and gross.

I went to a different grocery store today, and got some fun new products I’m looking forward to trying–the new Yoplait Greek yogurt, some new Dannon flavors, healthy wheat bagels, and some other stuff.  I’ll post about them as I eat them!

Anyway, go Colts! I’m not a big pro football fan generally, but if I had to pick, I’m a Bears fan and a Colts fan because of my family.  (Yes, I realize this is kind of impossible, but whatever.)  I like pageantry and good commercials and fun parties, and the Superbowl fits the bill.  I have to say, I’m pretty excited about the Olympics coming up too!

What’s your favorite sports event? I’m a big Olympics enthusiast!

10 Responses

  1. I don’t really care much about the Superbowl but I am really excited about the Olympics coming up too! I love the figure skating in the Winter Olympics!

  2. I’m not a big sportsfan in general, mostly b/c I don’t have much time to watch TV with 2 little kids in the house. I do love the Olympics, though! Hopefully I can carve out some time to watch. I think my 4yo daughter would really enjoy watching figure skating!

  3. I like the Olympics too especially the snowboarding and skiing. Fine, and figure skating!

    I bought Dannon Greek yogurt tonight. It’s the first time I’ve ever seen it. Haven’t tried it yet though.

  4. I’m more of a college football fan, so I love the National Championship.

  5. I love the summer olympics. I especially love watching gymnastics, because I know I could never physically make my body do the stuff they do.

  6. I was conflicted with the Superbowl. I spent 5 years in Indiana at Purdue, meaning I like the Colts and the Saints. Happy Drew won though.

    We just watched Inglorious Basterds, and I think I liked it. I was a bit surprised at how violent and serious it was. Also, that it didn’t exactly follow history . . .

  7. I also love the olympics – I’m not a big sports fan, but I find that the olympics brings out that strong feeling of wanting to support your country. For me, winter olympics are better – as Norway actually has a chance at some of the medals (mostly cross-country).

    People here get SUPER into the winter olympics – and during the opening of the 1994 olympics in Lillehammer, the painting “The Scream” by Munch was stolen from a gallery in Oslo – the opening of the Olympics served as a diversion of sorts.

  8. Last year when I was training for my 2nd 1/2 marathon, I went through the whole nausea thing. Every time I ran more than 6 miles I was EXTREMELY sick and felt horrible as soon as I stopped the run. I tried fueling during runs, drinking water (bought a camelbak), drinking gatorade and nothing worked. A few months later I had a routine blood test and realized that I’m anemic….I’m pretty sure that was the cause of the nausea! Just wanted you to know in case the fueling doesn’t work – it could be something totally different! I hope the goos work…drawing blood and taking supplements is not fun! 🙂

    Kaneil

  9. just found this article with more info on anemia in female athletes…..nausea and decreased performance are key indicators. …http://www.time-to-run.com/doctor/anemia.htm

    I plan on getting another blood test soon and will hopefully amp-up my iron intake through diet instead of pills. good luck!

    • That’s interesting. I’m sure I’m not anemic, though–I donated blood last week and they commented on how high my iron levels were! Plus, I take a prenatal vitamin (for my hair, haha) and those have lots of iron.

      I should probably talk to my doctor at some point. Hopefully the Gu will do the trick!

Leave a Reply

