Home Again

Ahh.  It’s so good to be curled up in my PJs at home once again, even if I can’t celebrate because it’s the weekend until tomorrow.  (Harumph.)

Anyway, I woke up this morning to this scene outside my hotel window.

Snow.  Wet, sticky, gross, snow.  Normally I don’t mind snow…but when you’re 3.5 hours away from home in a rental car, it’s a little irksome.

Luckily I have a very understanding boss.  I canceled the stuff I had to do today and just headed straight home.

But first I had room service!

I was looking forward to a big bowl of fruit, but it was all really bitter?  I guess that’s what I get for ordering a fruit cup in Iowa in February.  I had the sourdough toast, Raisin Bran, and coffee instead.

Then I began the long slog.  I drove verrrry slow.  The roads weren’t slippery, but visibility was low and it was wet and cold.

I made it back to work around 2.  Tim was my ride home, and his office closed early, so we got on the road home around 3 and since then I’ve been relaxing.

Oh, except I fell down the stairs.  Hard.   That wasn’t fun.  I landed on my left asscheek/hip.  Ow.

Dinner?  Homemade (lopsided) pizza.

In other news, I am starting to feel the wedding stress just a little bit.  I’ve been very calm until now, and it’s starting to creep up on me and I’ve been very cranky about all things wedding lately.  Little things are popping up–the format of the addresses on the envelopes, the number of rooms in the hotel block, buying stuff to wear to my shower, and bachelorette parties, and rehearsal–that need to be taken care of  that I just can’t get it up to care about.   I just want to be married!  I’m getting snappy with Tim (sorry, Tim) because I get the brunt of the wedding planning complaints and problem thrown my way, and I’m just…over it.  I am sure the wedding will be incredible, and I can’t wait to be married to such a wonderful dude, but I’m tired of the little things I do not care about and will not matter in the long run.

Ahh, that was cathartic.

Any solutions for wedding planning stress?

6 Responses

  1. Ugh, driving in that kind of weather is the worst! I live in upper new england, so I’m used to it…but still, it is NEVER ever fun.

    The pizza looks great! I keep thinking that I should invite over a bunch of friends and have everyone design their own pizza…might be a fun get together 🙂

  2. I was hoping you had some solutions for me! I’m starting to feel it too! lol

  3. keep working out – not that you’d stop ms. marathoner to be! ive found in the last couple of weeks working out has really let me blow off steam that i was blowing off at my fiance instead. can you delegate any tasks to him or maybe some family? it’s hard when you’re someone who likes to be in control, like me, but maybe a little help would ease the stress? stay strong lady!

  4. I’ve never had to drive in weather like that but it looks terrible, sorry!

    Sometimes fruit has the ability to look beautiful yet taste disgusting, sorry this was the case.

    The wedding will be completely worth it. I can assure you ever bride-to-be goes through the same emotions your feeling. I’d suggest lists, lists & more liss & don’t be scared to ask your fiance to help. I’m sure he’d love to be involved in the process just a little bit.

  5. If you get any solutions, let me know. I started really feeling it this week too. Mostly financial stress though.

  6. oh wow, sorry that you fell- hope your ass/hip feel better soon!
    that homemade pizza looks fantastic!

    wedding stress- well, when jeff and i started planning and the same kinds of things became too much for me- it just turned me into a different person almost, it made me feel confused and lost. and ultimately, well we broke up for now but I think it was because I just lost focus on the goal, lost focus on what really mattered.

    I would say just try to keep what you want (long term) in mind, and let everything that really won’t make or break that roll off your back and ” fall into a puddle” because it doesn’t matter.

    Yoga! Best stress reliever ever!

Leave a Reply

