Dog Jog

Hi from the road!  I’m shacked up in a nice hotel for the night.

Thankfully, I got to sleep in a bit this morning because I was traveling.  I needed it.  Last night I had a bit of a breakdown–I’m stressed about working a lot, about running, about money, about the wedding…it’s just a lot for me and I tend to deal with it by sobbing dramatically for awhile.  God bless Tim.

Anyway, I didn’t feel like running this morning, but I did anyway.  I figured hey, it’s just two miles, piece of cake.  And it was!  I ran outside with Milhouse, and it felt so good.  He slows me down with his sniffing and peeing on things, which is exactly what I needed.  The two of us happily jogged around our neighborhood for about 25 minutes.

My running buddy was tired out.  I let him off the leash, he drank some water and went right to sleep!


Then I showered and got on the road.  I stopped for lunch at Subway.  I usually travel on fairly desolate stretches of highway, so it’s clearly the best option by a mile.  I love their roasted chicken subs!  I never eat chips at home, so they’re a nice treat when I’m on the road.

Then, I drove some more, did my work thing for a few hours, and then stopped at a Panera on the way to the hotel.  Turkey and gouda on tomato basil bread…yum.  (I may or may not have a brownie for later too.  Shh!)

As much as I hate being away from Tim and the animals, I think a hotel night is exactly what I needed.  If I was home, I’d be trying to clean things and do laundry and pay bills and pack my lunch.  I’m here in my room now, and seriously, I’m just going to chill…watch some TV, read some blogs, and relax.  After five days in a row of running, I seriously need to veg a little.

In other hilarious news, my race photos from Sunday are in.  Check out the series of three finish line shots.  Hilarious.  I swear.  I am not photogenic AT ALL.  I should probably be concerned about this for the wedding.  Thank god we have a great photographer.

Also, I got a few more questions about my heart rate monitor, so here goes:

  • Do you wear it below your bust every time you use it? Yes, that’s where it picks up your heartbeat.  You can’t really put it anywhere else!
  • When do you wear it as a watch? I don’t, because I’m usually dressed up for work, but you could wear it without the chest strap as a regular casual watch it you want.
  • Do you input your weight? Yes.  When you initially set it up, you input your gender, weight, and height.  You can change it at any time.
  • Does it count calories burned AND heart rate at the same time? Yes.  The display shows your current heart rate with a tiny “kCal” followed by a number in one of the screns.  You can also toggle between screens: time of day, duration of workout, and heart rate/calories.
  • Does it work for swimming? Yes!  I used to swim a fair bit and wore it without any issues. You’re just not supposed to push the buttons underwater.
  • Have you ever had the battery changed?  Was it difficult? I haven’t, but I have heard it’s pretty easy–I think you just send it in to Polar.

Anyway, I’ll be back in KC tomorrow night–I just hope the snow holds off long enough for me to get home!

Anyone else have a question for me/something you want me to talk about or show you in an upcoming blog post, fitness-related or not? Leave a comment!

11 Responses

  1. My race photos are ALWAYS bad! But my wedding pictures turned out really good, so don’t worry! 🙂

    I do have a fitness-related question…how are you getting along with the increased running mileage + New Rules… weight program? I have that book, and it looks like an excellent program, but I’m worried that picking it up in the middle of half marathon training will be too much. I lifted consistently for about a year before I trained for my first half marathon last April, but I’ve really slacked off since then.

    • I actually did NROLFW from December 2008-May 2009. I’m done! I just lift one day a week now if I can fit it in. I would never attempt training for a half or full marathon on the plan–they’re kind of conflicting goals and I’d be WAY too tired.

      • Thanks for the clarification! That’s what I suspected. Maybe I’ll try it after my two big races this spring, then.

  2. Still confused about Polar. When you wear it with the chest strap, is it attached to that or on your wrist? I (obviously) have never seen one of these. I’m thinking about joining a gym and it might be a useful/fun item. I just can’t picture where it is actually located. Can you see what your HR is while you are exercising?

    • You wear the watch on your wrist and the strap on your chest under your shirt. It transmits directly to the watch so you can keep an eye on it while you work out.

  3. I love being away & on vacation, there is smething extremely freeing about it. Enjoy yourself.

    I seriously wouldn’t stress so much, everything will fall into plan

  4. I understand what you mean about getting stressed by travel, work, money and weddings. I’ve come to realize that wedding planning is a time for a few mini breakdowns. haha
    You were smart to go for a run this morning, that calms the stress 🙂

  5. Not sure if you touched on this subject before but I would love to hear how you got into running. I really want to start but I’m at a loss. I feel like a fool running at the gym since I will prob. go 2 minutes before huffing & puffing. So, I’m asking for guidance, how did you start?.. Did you wake up one day and just run?

  6. Actually I do have a question, and it kinda piggybacks off the last one: It’s about your running pace.

    I did the couch to 5k program in the summer/fall, and did 2 5ks this fall. But I run SLOW. I envy you your pace. So I’m wondering are you just a fast person, or did work up to it? If so, how did you do it?

  7. Just wanna say I hope you get some much needed stress relief. I am like you and let it all pile up on me and then it comes pouring out but I usually mix a little yelling in with my crying, usually about absolutly nothing important. Gotta love it.
    Oh and your pup is adorable, FI has an american foxhound who basically is a taller version of him =)

  8. Such a cute puppy picture!!!

Leave a Reply

