Pretzel bread!

Today I went and picked up my race packet for Sunday’s 10K!

I got there just as it was opening and the crowds flooded in.  I have to admit, I felt pretty cool to be going to the 10K side rather than the 5K side.  Woo!  It was pretty busy, since online registration had closed and they have to cap the entrants because it’s an indoor race.

I upgraded to a tech shirt for an extra $10 or $15 when I registered.  I’m so glad I did!   This is a Brooks shirt and it’s so soft.  It reminds me of my childhood blankie.  I haven’t worn short sleeve shirts to the gym very often, but this is light enough I think it would be fine.  I’m looking forward to giving it a go.

After work I decided to try a recipe my aunt had sent me.  I don’t know where she got it from, so if you figure it out, let me know.  Awhile back I mentioned on Facebook that I was craving pretzel bread, one of my favorite Chicago foods I haven’t seen here in Kansas City.

I mixed together:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 T. yeast
  • 1/2 T. salt
  • 1 c. warm water

And let it rise for an hour.  (Best way to make dough rise?  Microwave a cup of water for two minutes.  Then cover the bowl with a damp cloth and set it in there.  The steam and contained environment keeps it cookin’.  It hasn’t failed me yet, anyway.)

Then, I boiled 5 cups of water and 1/4 c. of baking soda.  I formed the risen dough into little balls and dropped them in the boiling soda solution for about two minutes, then transferred them to a greased cookie sheet and baked them for 20 or so minutes at 400 degrees.

Pretty?  No.  Delicious?  Yes.  It tasted like the freshest hot pretzel you’ve ever had.  It was more pretzel than pretzel bread, per se, but still awesome.   I sprinkled a little salt on before I ate it…yum.

Other than my baking adventure, we are having one of those wonderful relaxing nights at home–homemade pizza, television, reading, and animals.  I’m going to do some foam rolling–my quads are still a bit sore–and some reading.   (Now that I am on a set schedule, I’m becoming a huge reader.  I love it!)

What are your hobbies other than fitness?

2 Responses

  1. Hey Brie,

    I am a lurker….Nebb from TK gave me the link to your blog. It’s funny both of our FI’s are named Tim & my FI is just about to graduate law school. I am a paralegal & hopefully will get the chance to go to law school too.

    I also lost a decent amount of weight recently (22.5 ibs so far & my goal is to lose 2.5 more pounds). FI is also losing weight too (he’s lost approx. 70ibs & finally left the obese range & his next goal is to be in the normal range).

    Good luck to you — your gonna look awesome in your wedding dress 🙂

  2. Good luck on your 10l tomorroooowww!!! Can’t wait to hear about it 🙂

    That pretzel bread looks good, I’ve never heard of it before! I’ve always been intimidated by working with dough, especially pretzels.

Leave a Reply

