Strenuous Activity

This morning at work I donated blood.  Good times!

Donating blood is super important to me, and I do it as much as possible.   I had no trouble with it and hopped off the table for some pretzels and water!

Today at work we had a lunch for a lady who is retiring.  It was very sweet and they had catered barbecue!  (Which foiled my plans to make barbecue chicken for dinner, but whatever.)  I had a barbecue turkey sandwich…and a brownie.  Yum!

One of the things they tell you after donating blood is to “avoid strenuous activity” for 24 hours.  I would assume that means running, but I’m defiant.  I waited…7 hours?  Close enough.  I took it easy on the pace–3.5 miles in 35 minutes–just in case.  (Also, my legs are sore from lifting yesterday.)  It felt great though!  I didn’t feel weak at all.  The run flew by.  (Note:  I do not recommend this!  I’ve donated blood a lot in the past and know how it impacts my body.  Do as I say, not as I do, and all that.)

For those of you who have been curious about what’s happened to Blistersquatch, here he is, morphed into the world’s most badass callus:

Unsightly, yes, but I have to admit, I’m a weensy bit proud of that sucker.

Anyway, I’m so glad tomorrow’s Friday.  This week has dragged!   I’ve got a new issue of Runner’s World to catch up on.

Do you listen to medical advice or are you noncompliant like me?

4 Responses

  1. Most of the time, I’m the noncompliant patient. This irritates my mother (who is an RN) to no end, but I’m quite stubborn. A few years back, I tore a ligament in my ankle area and the doctor wanted me in a walking cast for 6-8 weeks. He also told me not to participate in colorguard rehearsal. With this being my senior year of high school (and therefore, last marching season), I wasn’t about to be out for that long. I wore the cast for under 2 weeks and performed at our first show. I was definitely in pain after rehearsals and shows, but not missing out was definitely worth it.

    Yep, noncompliant.

  2. Wow. Your blistercallous is certainly looking rather badass!

    Well done for donating blood – I think it’s something that’s really important and meaningful, and I admire you for mentioning it on your blog.

    When I studied in Canada I tried to donate blood at the local hospital, but I got rejected. Why? I tested positive for tuberculosis. Turns out that here in Norway we get vaccinated (not the norm in Canada), and the antibodies cause the TB test to look positive.

  3. I’m really bad about being noncompliant. When I sprained my ankle 2 years ago the doctor told me to stay off of it for 6 weeks. Yeah…I couldn’t do that. I was getting married in 6 weeks and I had to fit into a dress. I probably stayed off of it for a week and just worked through the pain. Stupid, I know. This last time I sprained my ankle, I did listen to the doctor though because it was a really bad sprain (I had to use crutches and a boot). Plus, I wanted it to heal correctly so that my dreams of running full and half marathons wouldn’t be shot to hell. 🙂

  4. I’m not allowed to donate blood. I’m a fainter :\ I also don’t have a doctor, so I have no one to give me medical advice to listen to! I do have a dentist though, and I definitely don’t floss everyday like they tell me to.

Leave a Reply

