Grocery Innovations

I slept super late yet again today.  Weekends are for sleeping, what can I say?

I decided to try a new grocery shopping system today.  My mom did this when I was little, and I just remembered it and I think it’s a great idea.  Basically, I mentally went through the grocery store by aisle, and put down everything we usually buy.  That way, when it comes time to go shopping, I just need to grab one of the pre-printed lists and highlight what I need.  I tend to forget things, so I’m hoping this will cut down on the brain farts.

I got irrationally excited at the grocery store today because they had two new kinds–Bear Naked Peak Flax Oats & Honey with Blueberries and Feed Cranberry Coconut Crunch.  I’m excited to try them!  I’m a sucker for granola.

In other news, I wore my new running shoes out shopping today and to the movies last night and they feel like slippers still.  I don’t want to take them off.  I hope the magic extends into running.

Speaking of movies, last night we saw Up In the Air.  We both liked it!  Not the best movie I’ve seen all year, but worth watching.  We try to see all the Oscar best picture contenders every year, so we’re trying to get a jump on things this year.  We’re both in agreement that A Serious Man is the best we’ve seen this year–go see it!

Today was otherwise uneventful.  We’ve been watching the NFL playoffs (Go Colts, I suppose), and I’ve been ironing.  And Buckley somehow discovered the ironing basket.

Not sure what’s going on tonight other than a shower and a self-manicure–I feel like baking, but I don’t know what to make.  Any suggestions?

7 Responses

  1. That is a GREAT grocery idea.. that I fully intend to steal 🙂 Buckley is too cute! He reminds me of those shirts I have seen that say “No outfit is complete without a few cat hairs.”

    How about whipping up a batch of Tina’s protein muffins? I am anxious to try them, but I think you should be the guinea pig! 🙂
    http://carrotsncake.com/2008/04/oatmeal-raisin-protein-muffins.html

  2. you should make Kristens cookies, found here: http://iowagirleats.com/2010/01/24/the-ultimate-cookie-recipe/ I just made them and looooove them!

  3. Can I suggest a beet cake? 😛

    Really though, muffins of any sort. Apple oatmeal is always my fave. Maybe you could spice it up with some cheddar?

  4. interesting. you wear your running shoes for other things than your run? i like to keep my new ones special- maybe as motivation to put them on and run? :). Soon, I am going to go to a running store and try on shoes. It’s a little scary. I don’t picture myself as a runner really. In five more pounds, I will have lost one hundred. So that will be my special treat…if i am brave enough to go.

    • I don’t wear them around usually, but the trainers at the store suggested wearing them a bit before taking them to run.

  5. what a great idea! (The List). I tend to mentally make a list of each isle of the grocery store when making my “need” list. This helps get us in and out faster but this idea is so much better. Everything you usually buy is already there, no stressing over forgetting anything because if you think of it last minute it’s on the list. Not to mention the fact that you will save money because you won’t be just browsing the isles while you shop!

    You’re one smart cookie!

  6. Doing a bit of blog reading catch-up–it’s my first comment on here, so hi!

    I do the EXACT same thing with a pre-printed list and highlighter–it helps me make sure I don’t miss out on obvious stuff! Woe be the Sunday mornings I wake up to find no printed list ready to go…

Leave a Reply

