New shoes

Today I slept until 11:30 a.m.  Saturdays are for sleeping in!  I needed it.  I felt so great when I got up (finally).

Today’s mission: solve the Blistersquatch problem.  I found another running store on Google so I decided to give them a try.  I wasn’t totally thrilled with the last running store I went to–I kind of felt like they told me, “Well, if these shoes don’t work, there’s nothing we can do for you.”

Anyway.  It looked promising from the outside.


One thing I loved right away about the store is that everyone working there has a background and degree in athletic training.  I feel like a lot of running stores are staffed by runners, which is great, but their experience is largely personal and less scientific.

Immediately two women came over to help me.  I explained what was going on, and showed them the ‘squatch, and they were really concerned and helpful from the very beginning.  They both helped me the entire time, which was INCREDIBLE–they were really great about working together, AND they were both women who’d run marathons.  And maybe this was silly, but they looked like regular people–not super-elite athletes–which put me at ease.

The first women measured both of my feet, length AND width-wise.  My right foot came in at a size 8.5, width D (meaning I have a wide foot on that side–B is normal).  My left foot was an 8 exactly, and was between a B and D width.  I’d never had the width of my feet measured before,  so I’d had no idea that they were wider than average!

Then they did a video gait analysis.  The three gait analyses I’ve had before have consisted of me walking in my shoes while someone watched.  This was different–I ran in my socks only on a treadmill and they videotaped me and we watched the tape back, both in real time and in slow-mo.  I took a video for you guys!

The slow-mo revealed that I pronate and my arch collapses, especially in my left foot. My right foot and ankle remains pretty straight, but my left foot rolls around a LOT.

My previous shoes that brought on Blistersquatch, Saucony Progrid Rides, are a neutral shoe, and I had the regular, B width. The trainers at the store immediately suggested I try a wide stability shoe instead.

When I tried these shoes on…they felt wonderful. I always was under the impression that my foot shouldn’t move in the shoe when I run–that they should be basically locked into position. However, they explained to me that a shoe should feel GOOD when I put it on. My previous running shoes have always felt kind of stiff and heavy and tight on my foot. This pair felt like slippers. They were light and I didn’t feel like anything was being “pushed on,” for lack of a better phrase. I’ve always felt a lot of pressure in my arches from the neutral shoes I’ve tried, but the wider width feels like my foot is comfortable. I didn’t want to take them off!

Before I left, the first trainer asked the second trainer to explain to me the best way to avoid and treat blisters. (LOVE.) She said I was already doing the right thing by wearing moisture wicking socks, but she also suggested lots of Body Glide. She said that from talking to me about how much my feet sweat and the like, it sounds like my feet swell some when I run and that would help with any friction. (The swelling would also explain the blistering–a wide foot that swells in a regular shoe=rubbing and blistering.) She also told me that feet will callus and that’s just one of the things runners have to deal with, but it should NEVER have to get as bad as mine did.

So, without further ado, meet my new (violently pink) running shoes and Body Glide.

They are New Balance 769s, part of their Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure line. I’m cautiously reserving judgment, but I feel good about a total change in what I’ve been wearing on my feet. I’ll keep you posted! I’ve been through various pairs of Adidas, Asics, Sauconys, and now New Balances…maybe one day I’ll find “the one.” 😉

Do you love your running shoes, or are you constantly looking for a better fit?

15 Responses

  1. I sooo need to get properly fitted but I can’t justify the cost on new shoes and such because I’m lazy and never make it to the gym.

    I love love love the pink, yo!

  2. I absolutely love New Balances. They’re the only workout shoes I’ll buy. Hopefully these make you feel better!

  3. I’m glad you had successful trip to the running store. I hope your new pink shoes are a perfect fit.
    It’s SO hard to find the right pair of running shoes. I used to buy whatever was on sale, looked cute and wasn’t horribly uncomfortable. A trip to Road Runner Sports taught me that I need stability shoes, and what a difference they have made.
    After a pair of New Balance (858 I think) I’m now wearing a pair of stability Sauconys and love them. My husband wears New Balance, and has had good luck with them.
    I really love the pink shoes!!

  4. I love getting a new pair of running shoes. Glad you found some made just for you…

  5. I JUST bought a brand new pair of NB 760s! I’ve been running in that line of shoes since I got fitted correctly about 2 years ago. I LOVE them! My foot biomechanics are similar to yours – pronation + wider width. I am forever envious of people with neutral, normal-width feet.

    Glad you found a potential remedy to the blister problem! Happy running. 🙂

  6. Oooh! How pretty! I need to get fitted for new shoes too!

  7. For awhile, I was running in a pair of Nike crosstrainers but then decided to invest in a pair of Asics back in October. I LOVE them and can very much relate to the “slipper” feeling that you have.

    Hopefully, your awesome new shoes will mean the end of the blistersqatch!

  8. We’re on the exact same running shoe schedule, aren’t we… I’m buying a new pair tomorrow!!

    SO happy you found a good place. SO hoping these new shoes alleviate the blistersquatch sitch! From the sounds of it, it feels like it could be the beginning of the end for the beast 😉

    I currently have Saucony pro glides as well and haven’t had any issues with them, but I want to get my gait looked at again too. It never hurts, and who knows, I could be running differently than I did 6 months ago. I don’t really pay too much attention to brand or colour, so long as they work with me and not against me!

  9. Those NB are beautiful! I hope they work for you. You’ve been through quite a lot!

    I love my Brooks. I am on my third pair.

  10. hey!
    i’ve been lurking on your journal for a while now and never comment but when i saw your new shoes i just had to say something! i also have wide feet and got fitted for that exact same shoe a few months back…they are awesome and so very comfortable! i hope you love them as much as i do. 🙂

  11. YEAH!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE the new shoes!!!!! Congrats!!!!

  12. Hi Brie! Great Blog! Hope you don’t mind, but I would like to introduce the women at Traxee to your Blog. We have a quite a few runners there who I think would be very interested in what you have to say.

  13. Ack! I love your new shoes!! They’re really fun looking! 🙂 I’d love putting those on whenever I got the chance!

    I LOVE getting new running shoes! I never realized how important it is to get fitting for running shoes until I finally bit the bullet and did it a few years ago. The difference between how my feet felt in the shoes I had purchased on a whim because they ‘looked pretty’ and the ones I was fitted with, was like night and day! And my feet felt fantastic after long runs, which usually wasn’t the case with my other shoes.

  14. […] giggled when I saw that she used her new New Balance […]

  15. […] those of you who have been here awhile, you’ll recall that about a month ago, I went to get fitted for running shoes, again, after battling the world’s largest blister, AKA Blistersquatch, in my right arch.  […]

Leave a Reply

