Alabama Downpour

Today has got to be the weirdest eating day I’ve had in a long time.

Breakfast was at 8:00.  I love raisin bran, so I had a big bowl with skim milk and some OJ.

Since I was going to be at a work thing all day, and work things mean boxed lunches, I prepared.  I hate, hate, hate pre-packed boxed deli sandwiches–the thought of deli meat sitting out for goodness knows how long makes me want to retch.  I packed a bagel and PB from the hotel breakfast buffet instead!

I didn’t find time to eat it until 3 p.m.  I was hangry at that point.  This stupid bagel and PB was all I ate pretty much all day!

Then I had to drive three hours to my next destination.  Which is fine, I don’t mind driving…but it was torrential downpour.  The whole way.  White knuckle, follow a truck and count down the miles on the GPS driving.  AWFUL.  And Alabama has mountains!  Who knew?

So, when I finally got to Godknowswhere, Alabama, I was obviously hangry.  And I drove around and GPS-ed for awhile looking for something–anything–halfway decent to eat.  It’s no wonder Alabama is the third fattest state in the United States–absolutely every single one of my options was no good.

So I got a Wendy’s value meal.  I didn’t particularly enjoy it.  It satisfied my hunger.  But I feel gross now.  I’m ready to go home, please!

Anyway, tonight will involve Google Video Chatting with Tim.  And our cats, because we are those people.

Blistersquatch is the same as yesterday.  The red part is a little darker.  I’m debating a doctor’s appointment.  I don’t want to be that person that goes in for stupid reasons, which is main while I’m holding back.  I don’t want them to think I’m crazy!  It does hurt still, but it’s not quite as raw since I didn’t run today.  We’ll see.

Anyway, onward and upward.  What do you miss most when you’re away from home? I miss Tim, of course…but the animals come in a close second.  And good food, too!

6 Responses

  1. I’m not an expert but I would take a bet that your blister is infected. If its red or warm around the blister, that’s a sign that it’s infected. I’d make an appointment ASAP. Also, if you haven’t been doing so, you should be putting a triple antibiotic ointment on it after each shower. I would recommend a sports medicine doc over a podiatrist…and take your running shoes with you, he/she can see how they fit, how they have worn and recommend inserts to help keep your foot more stable. Just my 2 cents 🙂 Hope it gets better soon!

  2. Hope you’ll have better food soon.

    About the blistersquatch, If you’re feeling unconfortable and it hurts why not going to the doctor? Meanwhile clean it everyday before bed and check if it’s getting better.

  3. The doctor is probably just going to tell you to rest it for a while. Which means no running. If you keep running and irritating, it’s not going to get any better. If it doesn’t get any better after a few days of resting though, I’d go to the doctor to make sure it’s not infected.

  4. Have you been putting Neosporin or an antibacterial cream on it? If its still inflammed after a couple of days of that, I’d get it checked.

    I’m so with you on the fast food – even a “healthy” fast food meal (other than Chic Fil A’s grilled chicken and fruit) makes me feel icky!

  5. I would say go to the dr for the blister, it can’t hurt to go!

  6. I definitely miss home cooked food when I am away from home!

Leave a Reply

