The weird things that happen when you get in shape

Having been formerly obese, and having observed a major change in my body, I thought I would point out a few interesting things that have happened since getting my arse in gear.

Here’s what happened, oddly, between this:

and

  • Obviously, I lost clothing sizes.  I went from a 16/18 in pants to an 8/10 (depending on the store), a 16 to a 6 in dresses (I have to have bigger pants than dresses because of my monstroquads), and a L/XL to S/M in shirts.  But never in a million years did I expect that my SHOE SIZE would go down. I used to wear a 9.5 or 10, and now I wear an 8.5 or 9.  AND my feet are two different sizes now.  WEIRD.  I guess I had some chub on my feet that was accounting for the fit, but I am still hanging on to several pairs of old shoes that are SO CUTE that I can’t bear to part with.  Because when you’re overweight, shoes are the one thing that you can wear just like any other small woman.
  • I never get sick anymore. When I was out of shape and sedentary, I probably got 2 or 3 colds a winter, plus regular sinus infections and the occasional flu.  Now…I don’t remember the last time I had a cold.  I occasionally feel vaguely sick, like I’m coming down with something, but I guess my immune system is in high gear now.  If I do get sick, it’s usually during a rest week away from the gym!  Weird.
  • I am much colder. Last winter, I was amazed at how many more layers I needed to add to my wardrobe.  I’ve always prided myself on being a wintry panda, but I guess I’ve shed my natural insulator and now I need to pile on the artificial ones.
  • I don’t get sore from everyday activities.  My feet don’t hurt after a day of shopping.  My back doesn’t hurt from hauling around a large set of girls.
  • Jewelry changes! A ring my mother gave me is way too large now, and my necklaces have miraculously gotten an inch or so longer.
  • I’m not as tired. I used to nap every day at some point or another–when I got home from class (ah, the benefits of being a student) usually.  When I work out, the energy boost keeps me going through my afternoon/evening slump.  I’ve always had a weird circadian rhythm–I function well in the morning and at night, but I’m sluggish and unfocused between 2 and 5 p.m.  Exercise pulls me through now!
  • I’m less of a dishrag. I don’t let people walk all over me like I used to and I stand up for myself and speak my mind more.  I think working out, especially running, has taught me that I CAN do things and be successful and I shouldn’t just let myself sink back into a corner
  • But not all of my problems went away. Weight loss ISN’T a magic bullet.  I still cry when I’m stressed.  Ketchup still makes me panic.  My thighs are still big in relation to the rest of my body.  Sometimes, pants still don’t fit me.  But it’s okay.

For those of you who have lost weight…what’s happened to you that you didn’t expect?

11 Responses

  1. I was really surprised about the shoe size thing too! I was an 8-8.5 and now I’m a 7-7.5, it was SO crazy! I do not get sick anymore at all, and I love that! Those were the two most surprising things that I did not really expect to come with losing weight and staying in shape and regaining my health!

  2. The cold thing definitely happened to me!

  3. A lot of these are so true for me too…. I am ALWAYS cold now! My shoe size went from 10/9.5 to 9.5/9. My engagement ring went from “it’s cutting off the circulation in my finger and making a scar (yuck!)” to “desperately needs to be resized or I will lose it”! Unfortunately my thighs are still big too. Sigh.

  4. These are such great accomplishments! What an awesome feeling!

  5. I’m definitely cold all the time now. My hands and feet are constantly cold, and I’m getting kind of tired of the comments people make about them if they touch them.

    And this is maybe TMI, but I feel A LOT more confident with men in all areas, including the bedroom.

  6. Really interesting post! Thanks for sharing! I have noticed my jewelry is looser as well.

  7. Wow…you look fantastic. Very interesting post!

  8. AWESOME GIRL! I wish my size 9.5-10 would shrink. lol

  9. That’s an AWESOME list- especially the fact that you have more energy and get sick less! Sadly, I think I get sick way too often no matter what but I blame that on the kindergarten kids. I did notice I get cold way more often now, after losing 20-25 pounds. Less body fat I guess haha

  10. Yes, yes and YES!! I only lost 30 lbs but so many of these apply to me. I even dropped a shoe size! I’ve noticed the napping thing too. Although, I think part of it is because I’m more regimented about my sleep. I make sure I get 7 hours every single night so I can have a decent workout the next day. Whereas before, I was nothing but a log, so being a tired log didn’t matter as much.

    You may not want to know this, but I’ll share anyways. Sex completely changed for me after losing weight. Not so much better/worse, but just, um, different approaches for my different body… Ya dig? 😛

  11. hey, i found your blog from the knot….congrats on the weight loss! Looks like youre doing great and doing it healthily too! keep it up! you look fantastic in your pics! and its ok if your thighs are always a bit bigger 🙂 I think thats just part of many female bodies 🙂 Im pretty small all around, and I still have to buy bigger pants than I do tops! and dresses fit me weird cause cause little up top and bigger on bottom! anyways, you look great!!

Leave a Reply

