Vitamin and honeymoon update

First–the winner of the Progresso Soup Giveaway is comment #4, Leah from Leftovers for Lunch!   Leah, please e-mail me your address and I’ll pass it along.

Tim and I both have the day off work thanks to Martin Luther King Jr. Day.  It’s been such a great long weekend, what with the visit from our friends AND time for just us as a couple.

Yesterday I went out and bought my new vitamin regime after a bit of internet research.

Operation Healthy Hair is in full swing.  I’ve taken fish oil in the past without problems–I honestly just forgot to replace my bottle a few months ago.  I have high cholesterol, and dislike fish, so it’s pretty important to get Omega-3s in my diet somehow.  The prenatals have not upset my stomach or constipated me thus far, like some people said they would.  I’d also read that Biotin was great for hair and nails, so I picked up a bottle of that.  (Hy-Vee has Nature Made vitamins for 50% off now!)  My hair actually feels nice and soft already, but I’m pretty sure that’s just a placebo.

Anyway, today’s training plan was 2 miles and cross training.  So, I ran two miles.  My asthma was acting up, so I was slower than usual–about a 10:30 pace, thanks to a short walk break.  I hate that some runs are awesome and some are such a struggle.  My “cross training” was a long walk with Milhouse!  Not exactly intense, but it was definitely activity and definitely fun.

Today’s Blistersquatch report is, again, bad.

(That’s a clementine.)

That was taken last night.  After today’s run, it was super red and purple in places, and I could barely walk.  I can’t even wear my regular casual running-around-town Pumas without pain.  It sucks.  And I am worried about it getting infected, BUT I can’t even find a Band-Aid large enough to cover it without the adhesive getting stuck to the skin somehow.  Awesome.

I googled a bit and found another store in town that bills themselves as a sports medicine/running store.  Apparently they do digital foot analysis and videotaping, which I’ve never had done.  I really want to go, but I’m reluctant because we’re trying to save a bit for the wedding and I keep telling myself sooner or later this will just turn into an awesome callus.  I’m considering it.  I’ve been planning on new running shoes in March, so hopefully I can hold out until then.

In other news, we booked our honeymoon today!  Thank goodness.  We are doing a bit of road tripping and a bit of cruising.  We’re going two weeks after the wedding, and the plan is to road trip it to New Orleans, take a five-day Carnival cruise to Mexico, and then stay a day or two in New Orleans before we head home.  We may also stop in Memphis for awhile!

Anyway, I’m off to pack for my trip to Alabama tomorrow–fun times!

Any advice for a first-time cruise taker?  We’ve never been!

8 Responses

  1. YAY! 😀

    I’ve never been on a cruise either.

    We haven’t booked our honeymoon yet. We are thinking of just doing an all-inclusive in Mexico. Probably Puerto Vallarta.

  2. Ouch to the blister!!! There’s a product out called second skin that’s supposed to be great. You might want to check it out.

  3. That sounds like an awesome honeymoon! Where in Mexico does your cruise go? If its Cozumel its absolutely beautiful there!

  4. Ahh!! New Orleans + Mexico sounds awesome!!! I’ve never been on a cruise, but I have been to Mexico. The food is mind blowingly good (and the Corona, if you swing that way).

  5. I just found your blog yesterday and LOVE it! Congrats on the weight loss and the increased activity!!!!

    The funny thing is that I also ran the Jingle Bell Run (you beat me!) :0) and when I saw your link to the Groundhog Run, I decided I should do that too! Thanks!

    Have you tried the Band Aid Healing Blister things? I forget what they are technically called but they are large enough for your ginormous blister and since they are waterproof, they stay on through everything. They saved me MANY time during my marathon training!!!! Check them out! Totally worth the money!!!!

    • I’ve tried those–my blister is about twice the size of them now, though!

      So cool to have a KC reader–I think you’re my first!

  6. Cruises are the ONLY way to travel 🙂 Well.. just about!
    You will be overwhelmed by the amount of activities – don’t try to do it all, just relax and have fun. Maybe try out the Bingo 🙂
    If you are at a dinner table with people that make you uncomfy or are hard to talk to, change tables right away. It will make for a much better trip!
    Don’t schedule excursions through the ship – you can usually schedule them yourself and save TONS of money!

  7. ow that looks so painful! I hope you can find something to cover it. Ow. I took a cruise with my girlfriends after college graduation and it was the best vacation I’ve ever been on! I would definitely look into excursions. We took a catamaran to a separate beach and it was really fun. Congrats on booking the honeymoon!

Leave a Reply

