Muzak

Weddings have to have music.

For the ceremony.  The processional.

And the recessional.

We will have a trumpet player and an organist.

My pet peeve is really bad singers at wedding. We are still debating whether we are going to ask an old friend to sing–he sang at my friend’s wedding last summer and totally blew me away. He was an actual vocal performance major, so he is real good. I swear. There is nothing worse than sitting through a wedding with someone’s awkward friend singing a really bad love song. I’ve been there.

Our first dance will be to this:

I like Big Love, but that’s not why we picked this. It doesn’t have any special meaning, since we’re not really the type to attach deep emotional connections to songs…it’s short. And not awkward. “Not awkward” is our standard for wedding music, basically. I also hate watching a bride and groom dance to some song that’s intimately personal. Weirds me out, yo.

This is our father-daughter dance.

Meanwhile, I am trying to talk Tim into using this for our entrance song to the reception.

How can you beat the ‘loaf? Also, about six weeks into our relationship, Tim burned me a Meatloaf mix CD for my birthday when I said I was unfamiliar with his discography. I still have it in my car! (Interesting fact: Did you know Meatloaf can’t physically perform for more than half an hour at a time? He has a bad heart and the performance is so intense that his doctors at one point advised him not to.)

Our DJ is my uncle. He actually has real DJ equipment and stuff, and does weddings on occasion, so he’s legit. His tastes run from the 50s to 80s, which is fine with us. Frankly, we’re not big dancing people so we’re not incredibly concerned with having a crazy rager. As long as we get to eat good food, drink, and chat with our family and friends, we’ll be happy.

So, that’s that. Music. Yup.

8 Responses

  1. LOVE the idea of “Cheese Burger In Paradise” for the father daughter dance 🙂

  2. I too am not a fan of dancing, yet I was out on the floor most of the night at my wedding this past Sept! Who knew… I got swept up in the fun everyone was having.. course the wine may have played a part too!

    Hey, I downloaded (Kindle girl) the book you mentioned in a previous post The 19th Wife – so far it is a very interesting and educating read. Thanks for the suggestion!

    Trish

  3. Haha, our Vegas wedding we only have 4 songs to pick out. I think we have 3 of the 4 picked. Maybe all 4 now? I can’t remember. It’s been so long since I looked at that stuff. What I’m excited about is meeting with our DJ and coming up with a “Please Play” and “Do Not PLay” list. Jodus and I also don’t have our first song or any others picked out yet. I know I want like 50’s style music played during dinner. Gimme some Nat King Cole, baby! Oh, and on the “Do Not PLay” list will be things like the Macarena, YMCA, Electric Slide, etc.

  4. I love meatloaf too!

  5. Nice! I just posted about our service music last night, though we don’t have specifics mailed down yet. We’re totally music people so we’re trying to make it all as awesome as possible. I was vocal performance at NU as well, and depending on if I can add another soloist to the service we’ll have one of my buddies who is making a go at an opera career sing something. For the reception, we have our song, but I’m not sure what my dad and I will do yet! Oh, and like Leah, we definitely have a DO NOT PLAY list 🙂

  6. I just read your aspirations to become a gorilla on Healthy Tipping Point, laughed, and immediately clicked over here :). I love your first dance song (and Big Love) selection. Good luck with your planning! -Katie

  7. Oh man- dancing is my favorite part of weddings!
    Yet of course I cannot figure out my music for my wedding at all, mainly all the ceremony stuff, I am lost!

  8. Now I want a cheeseburger 😉

    Love that you’re having a trumpet player too, that will make all the difference. And you’re right, you can’t go wrong with the ‘loaf!!

Leave a Reply

