Monogram!

Today…I have been crabby.  My feet are hurty, mostly. This morning I felt like I was cramming size 12 feet into size 9 shoes. I don’t know if the blister is making my feet swell generally, or what the deal is, but it felt so godawful I broke down and finally bought a pair of new comfy work shoes on Zappos.  They are Clarks brand, which several people I know swear by, and hopefully will not have the stench my current pointy-toed ancient Ann Taylor patent leather pumps have.   Happily, they upgraded me to free overnight shipping, so they should be here ASAP!  Hoorah.  I had fun with XL Band-aids for the time being.

(The dirt was from the walk to the gym.  We’re melting two feet of snow here and it gets MESSY!)

Other reasons I felt crabby: a dull headache, general leg pain, and an overwhelming desire to do anything but run today.  Happily, Tim’s friend (and groomsman) James and his wife Sarah (they’re married) are coming to visit from St. Louis this weekend.  They’re super awesome and we haven’t seen them since the fall so I’m excited, BUT since we’re having houseguests I’m juggling my training seshes around a little–“long run” today instead of Saturday, rest day on Saturday, possibly strength and stretching tomorrow if we have the time before they show up.  (This will probably involve a lot of stretching and foam rolling.)  They are super fun so I’m excited to see them!

Anyway.  Also, at lunch, I found a button/pill thing in my yogurt.

I nearly cracked a tooth on that sucker!

Confession: I ate the rest of the yogurt anyway.  It was good and I was hungry.  I’m not dead yet.  I’ll report back if I start foaming at the mouth.

Then I hauled myself (literally) to the gym for four miles.  It wasn’t awful, especially not considering how lackluster I was feeling beforehand.  It wasn’t my best run either.  It was just so-so.  I got a treadmill in front of the fan, which is always a bonus, so that’s something.  I kept at my half goal pace  (9:55ish) the whole way.  Nice and easy and it was over relatively painlessly.

Then I went home and my Christmas gift from Tim had finally arrived!

Long story short, there were shipping issues that related to our holiday travel so I couldn’t get my gift until now.  Isn’t it pretty?

Yes, it has my married monogram on it, and no, I’m not waiting until after the wedding to use it.  In fact, I’ve been using this business card holder with my married monogram on it since October!  There is a special circle of bridal hell reserved just for me, I’m certain.  See?

In other news, I’m looking forward to changing my name.  I am definitely trading up.  My current last name is also a first name, so I’m always getting called “LastName” and it’s really annoying to have to correct people or just smile and deal with it.  Plus, my new last name is short and easy to spell, but not super-duper common.  And it makes me sound like a soap opera character.  I like it.

5 Responses

  1. Brie, I’ve never commented here before, but I stumbled upon your blog a while ago and I really enjoy your posts.
    Your jewelry box is lovely.
    I’m sorry you’re dealing with that huge blister; hopefully your new comfy work shoes will provide some comfort while you heal.
    I changed my name when I got married and went from the name of a very popular, assasinated president with an infamous family (is that a big enough hint!?) to the most common (and boring) last name EVER. Oh well; at least I never have to correct spelling.
    Sorry, I tend to ramble……Your blog is great and you totally crack me up.

  2. Wait a minute, is your married name going to be Brie Hodge? 😉

    Sorry, just watching Desperate Housewives. I hope your foot gets better. That looks HORRIBLE!

  3. Oh the last name issue – I feel ya! I am going from a last name that often causes me to receive stares (as if they can’t believe that it’s really a name), to something much more “normal.” My current last name inspires the same joke repeatedly (think “under road” and flip it, that will give you an idea of what I’m working with), which stopped amusing me in the 3rd grade! Ahh well…

    The only downside – I’m still going to have a ridiculously LONG name — 10 letters in my last name alone… I should have picked someone with a shorter name!

  4. My SIL does all kinds of cute embroidery so at every shower, she gave me something monogrammed with my new last name (robe, towels, apron etc) and I used them all before the wedding! So far, I don’t think I’ve been cursed.
    Also a while back, you posted a picture of your ring..my ring is very similar, if not the same as yours! It’s the only one I’ve seen that looks similar!

  5. Awww, I’m so sorry about your foot! My old roomie used to work at a shoe store and swears by Clarks too. Sometimes, you gotta pick comfort over fashion, especially when you’re an athlete! (yes, I’m calling us athletes now 😉 )

    That button is random. You should call the company – maybe they’ll send you free stuff!

Leave a Reply

