4 Months to Go!

Well, holy cow.

We are getting married in seventeen weeks.  I can count down to my wedding in a reasonable number of weeks now.  That is scary.  Or, 120 days if you prefer.

Wedding Countdown Ticker

Even scarier?  We are mailing out our wedding invitations in seven weeks.  OnetwothreefourfivesixSEVEN.  I’m planning to have them in the mail on March 1, which should give guests about seven weeks to RSVP.

What I’ve done recently, wedding wise:

  • The major task this week was addresses.  My aunt is a calligrapher and is doing our envelopes for us free of charge.  (Thanks, Aunt Baby!)   She’s got a vacation coming up, and the envelopes will have to be shipped to us because she lives in Indiana, so I needed to get them to her ASAP so she could start working on them.  This has proved to be a big giant pain in the butt.  I have tracked down all addresses but five, three of which I think just need to be updated.  We have 93 completed invitations, and we’re mailing out 92.  (I’m being a brat and insisting on keeping one for ourselves to frame.  This means one of Tim’s college-age cousins will be on their parents’ invite, which is technically wrong, but she will live.)
  • Last weekend we picked out the tuxes and started an account at Men’s Wearhouse.
  • Planning for my bridal shower and bachelorette party are well underway.  Like any good bride, I’m staying out of it.

Uh, we need to get on that:

  • The honeymoon.  I think Tim and I have settled on a five-day cruise to sunny Mexico with an attached road trip.  We’re going to leave from New Orleans, and drive down.  We’re hoping to stay a few days there, because I’ve never been to New Orleans and it looks like fun.  I got the days off work, we just need to pull the trigger and make the reservation.
  • A passport.  I don’t have one.  I will need one.
  • Favors.  I don’t know why I care about them, but I do.  I want them to be somewhat cute, probably edible, and not super expensive.  For some reason, nothing sounds particularly interesting or compelling to me.  And bridezilla doesn’t want to settle.
  • Ceremony readings and music.  We’ve picked the processional and recessional, but that’s about it.  I need to book an organist and a trumpeter.  We might have an old friend of mine from college sing, but I haven’t said anything to him about it yet.  We kind of want a reading, but we’re not sure and we haven’t found anything insanely compelling yet.  Bah.
  • Schedule my fittings for the wedding dress.  (I am dreading this.  Not only because of the cost, but because I’m afraid I will hate it after not seeing it for several months.  More specifically, I’m afraid I’ll hate how I look in it.)
  • Speaking of which, I have to decide about wedding undergarments.  Spanx are a must.  I think I want to buy a crinoline to make the mermaid skirt more floofy, but they are expensive and I’m hesitating.  Bra, I have no idea.  Longline?  Cups sewn in?  Crap.
  • Gifts for the bridesmaids/groomsmen/parents/kiddos in the wedding.  No idea on these.

This list only makes me want to break into hives a little bit.

So, that’s where I stand as of right now.  I’m finally starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel!  Once February is over, the fun stuff starts–sending out invites, getting RSVPs, my shower, my bachelorette party, and all sorts of other hoopla.

Someone remind me that this is worth it…right?

12 Responses

  1. On Sunday, I’m at 3 months! So I feel your pain! I still have a big list of stuff to do that I’m dragging my feet on (like making alterations appointments, and making dinner reservations for when people will be here, and so on and so forth).

    Definitely get on the passport app right away, or you might have to pay to rush your application. It really isn’t hard- I was able to submit mine at a local post office branch.

  2. Dude. You are freaking stressing me out.

    My weddings is only a few weeks after yours.

    And my to-do list is waaaaay longer than yours.

    I also need dress fittings. I haven’t started invitations. I need to start thinking music. We have to book our airfare and hotel. We need to book a honeymoon. I have little projects here and there to do. I haven’t thought about table numbers or a seating chart or anything. I have absolutely no idea how many people are actually going to be showing up. Jodus has nothing to wear. Thank god I don’t have a wedding party to deal with. And there is no shower/bachelorette party in my future.

  3. WOW, reading that has be stressed out!! Thankfully my big day isn’t until September 2011.. I guess that really isn’t to far away now is it.. yikes.. better start planning..

  4. Get the cups sewn into your dress. The last thing you want to be doing on the big day is fiddling with a strapless bra. And don’t stress about the details. The only person who will notice if something is amiss is you. Everyone else is there to watch you & Tim get married and celebrate your love. They really don’t care about the favors!

  5. You’ll be good girl. You still have plenty of time.

  6. My wedding is less than 3 months away and I’m stressing too. The to-do list seems never ending!

  7. By some miracle we just finally got everyone’s addresses and sent out our save-the-dates. It was definitely a group effort!

    I’m 4 months and a few weeks away and am sort of worried about starting fittings (mostly because I’m not terribly fit) and also what to wear under my dress. I am generally anti-sewing cups in because what if the cups are a funny shape? Of course, I haven’t found a longline that i like yet (need to start looking) so who knows. I’ve got about a month until i start fittings so i need to start exercising and stop eating crap. 🙂

    and yes, you definitely should get on your passport!! do it now, you never know how long they will take.

  8. You have to be so excited for your wedding! I have barely started to plan for my October wedding, which is kind of a really bad thing! I am an extreme perfectionist, and girly girl so I better get on that.

  9. Oh wow, four months! That’s so exciting. I liked my longline bra, personally, but mainly because I didn’t want to go the Spanx route and it sucked me in. it also made the tatas look fantastic. I never have cleavage. I love you, longline bra. How big is your wedding again?

  10. My wedding is May 16th and I’m starting to freak out, too! We’ve been engaged since November of 2008 so I always told myself “oh i have so much time to do x y and z”. Now i need to stop slacking and get movin on some major wedding projects!

  11. You shouldn’t need a passport to go on a cruise to Mexico – check it on your cruise website details, but I didn’t need one when I went a couple years ago.

  12. Congrats! I just wanted to give you an idea for the flowergirl and ringer bearer in your party. There are two books that I think are cute you can get them on Amazon.com…The Flower Girl and The Ring Bearer both written by Laura Godwin.

Leave a Reply

