Snow day!

After my disastrous commute last night, the snow kept falling, and falling, and falling.

Late last night I saw that the university I work at canceled classes and the administrative offices were on a delay.  However, after my commute last night, and the fact that this morning would have added an extra several inches of snow and more cars on top of that, I decided there was no way I was going to risk such a long drive.  Road conditions are a nightmare.  Every road in KC is marked as “covered” on the Department of Transportation’s website.   So, I called in this morning.  I’m keeping an eye on my e-mail from home, but I just did NOT feel safe driving in this mess!

I woke up, checked out the situation, called in, ate my breakfast cookie and went back to bed.  Two hours later I went into snow day prep mode!

Coffee, computer, sweatpants, and slipper socks.  Yes, please.

Check out our back porch!

The only problem is that this throws yet another wrench in my training plans.  No way can I get to the gym if I can’t even make it to work in this weather, and it’s currently 7 degrees out with 6-8ish inches of snow on the roads (plus ice).  Sigh.  I hate having to juggle SO much, but it’s just not going to happen so much.

In other news, last night I watched the documentary Spirit of the Marathon on Hulu.  It was a great watch!  I highly recommend it for any runners out there, even if you’re not a marathoner.  It had some really interesting history on the marathon and running in general (especially women in running).  And now it’s making me want to run a marathon, which I’m pretty sure is a bad idea just yet.

Anyway, today I’m hoping to get a lot of relaxing and a little cleaning done.  I’m off to vacuum now!

Anyone else have a snow day?

13 Responses

  1. We haven’t had a single snowflake all season! So weird! Last year it dumped buckets!

  2. We had a snowday just before Christmas – it was GLORIOUS. I loved the Spirit of the Marathon. I watched it a few weeks before my first marathon and I definitely cried during it, with excitement of course! Enjoy the rest of your day!

  3. Yay for snow days! it’s so much fun to stay at home and do nothing!!

  4. UGH! I wish we had a snow day today – it took foreverrrr to get into work & the roads were a hot mess this morning. Word on the street is that they’re going to let us out early though (I’m in Omaha, so I’m sure we’re having similar weather conditions). We had a snow day & a half in December, but I still had to work from home. Although, work is MUCH more enjoyable on my couch, in my pajamas… enjoy your day!!

  5. Oh my gosh that is a lot of snow! I would have called in too. Do you like your Keurig coffee maker? I really wanted one for Christmas but my husband talked me out of it. He likes really dark rich coffee and said that the Keurig doesn’t make it that way…

  6. Ah you are a lucky girl! I don’t blame you – I hate driving in the snow. Good thing you can work from home. Good luck figuring out how to change up your training schedule.

  7. I just stumbled across your website… we have quite a bit in common. I, too, am getting married soon and want to be in great shape for it, so I have taken up running… I’m still trying to get to the 5K distance, but… babysteps, right!?!

    I love my Keurig! Thanks to my brother who bought it off our registry for Christmas!! Yay! Good luck with your training!!

  8. ugh no snow here ..yet.. they say its coming but it never actually does. Its funny though because they shut down schools and businesses for like less than 1 inch. hilarious.

    🙂 hope you are well and those slipper socks are doing their job.

  9. Can I just say that I love we’re both working for universities? 🙂 Again, we are twins, just on opposite sides of the border.

    Breakfast, bed, coffee, laptop – the BEST way to do it!! That’s pretty much what every one of my days off look like. For once, there is no snow in our forecast. But it will come… it always does…

  10. I LOVE Spirit of the Marathon!

    LOL, I have to have my husband call his KC parents. They are AWFUL drivers. I wonder how they are doing in this weather.

    We are supposed to get about 9-12 inches in Chicago today.

  11. Oh BOY that’s a lot of snow! I would love a snow day though!

  12. I live on the other side of the state, near STL. We had a snow day today, too, even though we haven’t had nearly that much snow! I’m hoping for one tomorrow, too. I just don’t think it’s going to be safe to drive the 15 miles to take my daughter to preschool, considering all the wind and snow drifting going on out there!

    I’ll be with you in spirit as I do my “long” run tomorrow on the treadmill!

Leave a Reply

