Super official half marathon training kick off!

(Kicks dirt.)

Nah, it was more exciting than that.  (Points to tab at top of header.)  Today marks the super-official start of my half marathon training plan.   Actually, yesterday did, technically, but starting things with a rest day isn’t as much fun.

I like plans.  I’m a planner.  I get irrationally upset if people are late to things, and I create to-do lists and checklists for just about everything.  The idea of having a training plan for this half marathon comforts me in many ways.  It’s like having a big to-do list, comprised of little daily tasks, and if I do them, I will complete my half!  That sounds a lot more appealing to me than “figure out how to train to run 13.1 miles.”

Today’s plan called for 3 miles.  Frankly, the month of January shouldn’t be too too challenging for me, since I know and have recently run every distance on the calendar, but I think it will be good to keep working on my base.  I’m also planning on doing a little bit of speedwork–I’m going to attempt to make my 2 mile runs on Tuesday fast.  My bonus goal for the half is to come in at under 2:10:00, which means I’ll have to keep a pace of 9:55ish the whole way.  This seems pretty doable to me, as I generally run comfortably at about a 9:40 pace.  And if I don’t, well, as long as I finish it will be a PR!

But I digress.  I fueled up with half a Promax bar.


I can’t decide if I like these or not yet.  They’re a little chalky and protein-y tasting, but the flavor was overall good.  And I’ve never heard of a chocolate and cherry flavored protein bar, so that was fun.

Anyway, I went to the gym prepared to attack three miles on the treadmill with gusto.  But…enter…THE NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONER.  Gaaack.  I’ve never had trouble getting a treadmill at my gym, but sure enough, they were all full.

Sooo I went to the indoor track and decided to at least start out that way.  I quickly decided that track running sucks.  The whole track has a weird pitch to it, meaning that the inside lane is “downhill” from the outside lane,  so when you’re running on the curves your legs are all funky and hitting the ground differently.  It made my hips and knees hurt!  (And they never hurt.)

Anyway, I did one annoyingly painful track mile, went and checked on the treadmills next door, realized they were still full, then did another annoyingly painful track mile.  By the time I was done with the second mile, a treadmill was open and I jumped on.  (Thank goodness!)

So, not an ideal start to half marathon training, but miles are miles, right?

In other news, my computer is back after being out of commission for a month!  Hooray!  I’ve missed it.

Do you have the onslaught of New Year’s resolutioners at your gym, too, or am I just especially blessed?

13 Responses

  1. My gym was a nightmare yesterday. I’m running a half marathon about two weeks before yours. I would love to do it in 2:10 as well.

  2. ACK!!! New Years Resolutioners EVERYWHERE! I ended up cutting my workout a little short today because I couldn’t take all the people. I figure they will all be gone by mid-February and my gym will be back to normal.

    You should have seen my Sunday morning yoga class. The entire room was packed and no one had more than a block’s worth of space between their mats. We all made friends that day.

    PS… Left you a present on my blog!

  3. The New Years Resolutioners are insane. The (huge) parking lot at my gym was literally packed with cars, some parked haphazardly on sidewalks. WTF! Soo effing annoying. I hate the treadmill so I’ve been running on my gym’s track. You’re right- it sucks. I did 3.5 miles today and could not wait to finish.

    btw congrats on starting your half training!

  4. The gym that I work at was packed tonight! Mondays are usually more busy but we had nearly all cardio equipment full by 4pm. That never happens!
    I will definitely be hitting my own workouts earlier to avoid the rush!

  5. So far so good for me… part of the reason is that a bunch of new gyms have opened up recently in my area and the other reason is that I hit the gym very early in the morning. The attendance could triple at that time and I would still find an available treadmill. BUT yesterday, 4 of the treadmills were out of order! So obnoxious.

  6. LOL. We had a lot of people in the office gym yesterday. I am on my way there now to get my run in at 6:30 in hopes to get on a treadmill (we only have 5).

    It’s too bad the track has a funny pitch to it! I loved our college track.

    Yay for week 1 of training! 🙂

  7. I haven’t been to the gym yet. Does that make me an anti-resolutionist? Actually this is another good reason for me to be switching to mornings a few times a week.

  8. I use Planet Fitness and I didn’t notice a lot more people there, but I was there at noon and not at 5 or so when everyone get off from work. I’m hoping I don’t have to go during the crazy-busy time!

  9. Happens every year, but it will thin out in a few weeks! I go to the gym before work (5AM…ack!) so I have not seen much of an increase. Last night I drove by it at around 5:30 and it was so jammed the lot was full and people were parking along the street! CRAZY! I can only imagine people chickenhawking the machines. It would be yuck to work out with someone standing waiting there for you to finish so they could have the machine! Good for you for using the track. Nothing is going to stop you!

  10. I give the Resolutioners about 3 weeks before they start to die off. But since I am trying to be nicer (as part of my resolutions), I am just breathing deep.

  11. Ha, I started my January workout plan with a rest day too 😉 I love the looks of your plan. I’m contemplating doing a “half-marathon training clinic” with a local running store. It starts Jan. 19 and I think they’ll make a schedule for me. But they may also make me run outside in January…in Atlantic Canada… :\

    The treadmills and ellipticals are HOT items these days!! My gym has a gazillion treadmills, and there were only a few free this morning – at 5am!! I refuse to go after work, I can’t imagine what madness that would be. On the bright side, apparently no one made resolutions to lift weights, cause the weight area is the same as always 😉

  12. I hate the indoor track at my gym, too. I’ve only run on it once, and it made my knees hurt. I have fond memories of the track at my college’s rec center though – that’s where I rediscovered running!

    Good luck w/your half mary training. I haven’t “officially” started training yet, but I’m working on sticking to a 4-day-a-week schedule (I usually only run 3 days/wk), and it feels good!

  13. I love your blog, and I especially love it now b/c i starte the exact same half marathon program on the same day!! I’m so excited to keep up with someone now! 🙂 Best of luck. I’m sure you’ll doo great (unlike this first-time half runner).

Leave a Reply

