Spaetzle and Scones

Back to work tomorrow.  Boo, hiss.  This was such a nice, relaxing weekend!

I kind of screwed myself by not running yesterday.  It’s still freezing here, but I really wanted to get out and run…but then I realized I’m officially on my half marathon training plan, and since I’m OCD about staying on schedule I can’t run tomorrow.  Oh well.  It was super slippery outside anyway.

I decided that obviously the best way to combat the “long weekend is over” blues was to cook a huge dinner and bake.

I keep seeing scones on blogs, and I’ve never had a scone.  So I made scones.  I used this recipe, but added a little extra orange juice, and threw in some dried cherries for good measure.  We split one and ohmygosh they are really good.  I’m going to pack one in my lunch for tomorrow and send the rest to work with Tim.

I also simmered a pot roast in the crock pot all day.  My “recipe?”  About 2 cups of beef broth, about 1 cup of red wine, 3 chopped cloves of garlic, and half an onion.  And a giant pot roast.  (Guess what we’re eating all week?)

Tim was enamored with the spaetzle my Uncle Don made at Christmas dinner.  Since I have a real German spaetzle maker, I decided to give it a shot.

The recipe is pretty basic.  Mix together:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1./2 c. flour
  • 1/2 c. water
  • sprinkle of salt

You may need to sprinkle in extra water or flour until the dough is elastic-y.  (It’s still a wee bit watery in this picture.  I added more flour.)

Then, bring a big pot of water to a rolling boil.  If you have a spaetzle maker, put about half a cup of the batter in it, and circle it around the pot while you squeeze the dough through to make noodles.  (A potato ricer works just as well as a spaetzle maker.)  Wait until they float, and then fish them out with a spoon.  Serve with butter and/or salt and/or gravy!  They taste like chewy egg noodles and are are really awesome.  (The first round usually won’t be too great, like with crepes.  Make sure the dough is thick enough–they should be like spaghetti noodles!)

Yum.

Spaetzle is one of those foods that will always represent a very specific feeling and memory for me.  Until I was old enough to cook, it was a once a year treat at Christmastime, and every time I eat it I think of my Uncle Don telling us about his childhood in Germany over a big pot of boiling water, while my mom makes a big salad and I’m shooed away to set the table.  I doubt I’ll ever be able to distance the food from the memory!  (But why would I want to?)

What food in your life is tied to a memory and what is it?

7 Responses

  1. wow you are one talented chef! i’ve never had spaetzle but your pics make me want to try it out sometime!!

  2. I have been wanting to try making scones! Yum oh yum. I am not sure if I would be able to stop eating them.

    I always think of my grandma when I have pumpkin pie because he used to always make them (now he has Loiue Body Disorder and not much control over his hands so he can’t make them anymore).

  3. I love spaetzle! Ahhhh! You make me miss Germany!

  4. I’ve never had either of what you made, but I have two foods that tie into memories:

    1.) homemade french fries… my great grandmother used to make them at least once a week as my “snack” when I got home from school when I was younger. I was an itty bitty skinny girl then, so I could’ve used the calories anyhow, haha.

    2.) jam tarts… my great grandmother taught my mom, aunt, and I to make them before she got sick and passed away, and now anytime any of us make them and I eat one I think of her and memories of being in the kitchen with the girls in my family.

  5. Yummy! I’ve never made scones but I want to. I make these sausage cheese ball appetizers, and they are tied to friends, laughter, and happy memories…I always make them for big get-togethers. 🙂 Food is a powerful thing! Happy new year!

  6. I went to Germany last year, and fell in love with Spaetzle! I will have to try your recipe. I tried a box mix a while back and it was awful (no surprise!). I am looking forward to hearing about your 1/2 M training!

  7. I’ve never had spaetzle – and I’m German and have been to Germany! Damn, damn shame, as it looks awesome. i can see why Tim was enamoured with it. And aren’t scones awesome?? Kinda biscuit-like. My old roommie used to make herb and cream cheese ones that were to die for. I think they were a Martha Stewart recipe and probably not healthy in the slightest 😉

    Food memory = Christmas meat pies!! My family has been making those for as long as I can remember. Also, my Nana’s egg salad sandwiches. I used to fake sick when I was a kid just so I could miss school and eat egg salad at my Nana’s. Yummm 🙂

Leave a Reply

