Resolutions

Yeah, yeah.  I know.  New Year’s Resolutions are stupid, change yourself now, blah blah blah.  I get it.

In 2009, I had two resolutions. I technically failed one, but succeeded wildly on the other.  My first resolution was to be able to do a chin-up by the end of the year.  I cannot do one, still, BUT I still consider this resolution a success because I’m much closer to being able to do one than I’ve ever been in my life.  I still have a lot of weight/bulk to pull up, more than most women, and if I weighed 130 pounds I’d be ripping them out like a champion.  So, maybe in 2010.  Progress is key!  My second resolution was sillier–learn to make stir-fry!  I did and now we eat it regularly.

I don’t see resolutions as a bad thing.  I think it’s just a nice time to sit back and reflect a little on my goals, which I’ve been working on all year.  (Points to “Goals” tab.)  January 1 is basically a time for me to prioritize which goals I’d like to specifically attack this year.  Running a marathon, for example, is a life goal of mine, but I won’t be ready for it in 2010.  2011…maybe.  But not yet.  Progress towards goals, in my opinion, is as good as achieving them, especially when it comes to fitness.

Without further ado, here are my 2010 Resolutions:

1.  Finish my half marathon.

  • Bonus Sub-goal A: Run the entire thing.
  • Bonus Sub-goal B: Come in under 2:10:00, so maintain an under 10:00/mile pace for 13.1 miles.
  • Bonus Sub-goal C: Run another one.
  • Important NON-bonus sub-goal: Remain in such shape that, if I wanted to, I could run a half on a week’s notice at pretty much any time.

Here is my half marathon plan, written on a calendar Tim got me for Christmas, in my office.

I’m currently debating whether the kittens and puppies say “whimsical and fun” in my office, or “this chick is nuts.”

2.  Eat mindfully. Ask myself, “Are you really hungry?” before eating things.  Try to internalize healthy eating rather than relying on tracking, et cetera, to get the job done.   Try to eliminate boredom eating.  Stop making excuses.  (Note: I have worked on this lately, and been rather successful, so this is more of a “continued progress” type goal.)

3.  Strength train regularly.

  • Bonus sub-goal A: While half marathon training, strength train at least once a week.  I have a tendency to have tunnel vision with exercise, and I’m not the greatest at keeping up more than one thing.  If I’m working on strength, cardio endurance goes out the window, and I want to stop that.
  • Bonus sub-goal B: Keep trying for that damn chin-up.

4.  Begin biking.  I think that my freakishly strong quads and I would really enjoy, and be good at, biking as a sport.  While I’m not brave enough to conquer triathlon swimming yet,, I think a duathlon sounds pretty nice and do-able.  I don’t know if completing one in 2010 is in the cards, but I want to begin to make strides in that direction.  Once my half is done in April, I am going to begin seriously looking for a bike, and I’m hoping that I can fund the purchase, at least partially, with birthday money in June.

5.  No regrets when it comes to the wedding. This is vain, but as my header says, I don’t want to cringe when I look at my wedding pictures.  I’ve been spinning my wheels weight-wise for awhile, and that has just got to stop.  The extra 10 pounds shows in my face, and I don’t want that.  The next four months are going to be crucial lockdown mode, and I need to be on my best fitness and eating behavior.  I don’t want to feel that disappointment that I could have done more when all is said and done.  Thinking about regretting ANYTHING about the wedding makes me want to cry, and I don’t want to feel that.  I’m fine with compromising or letting other people do what they want for things I don’t care about, but I don’t want to compromise on things I feel strongly about.  (Like, for example, I will not allow myself to be pressured into letting Tim publicly rip off my undergarments and toss them to a pack of drunken bachelors.  No. Way.)

So, that’s it.  I also plan on scratching a few other goals on my list this year, like running a 10K, which is on tap for the end of January.  Silly resolution?  I would like to learn to cook both portabella mushrooms and eggplant.

Tim’s resolution is to eat more fresh mozzarella cheese in 2010.  We also, jointly, resolved to do the Boulevard Brewery Tour, which we’ve wanted to do since we moved to KC but never did.

What are your resolutions, or are you of the “they’re stupid” camp?

5 Responses

  1. I also want to continue to eat mindfully this year. I feel like I am kind of getting the hang of it.

    I love that calendar! I have animals calendars at work too 🙂 I can’t wait to follow you on your half training!

    You know, I was a bit overweight at my wedding, but I still think the pics look fab and it was the best day of my life, so try not to stress too much 🙂

  2. Your resolutions are awesome! Good luck with them!!

  3. I’ve been thinking of a full marathon for 2011 too. Granted I don’t get a running injury, which seems pretty likely… I also think taking up biking is a fabulous idea 😉 Wonderful goals Brie!

    You put up the puppies and kittens calendar!! I like it. The pictures are at least classy. Now, if it was kittens in costumes, it may be a different story 😛

  4. I definitely do not think resolutions are stupid- it just depends on how you make them.
    I definitely hope you can have no regrets as far as your wedding goes. I agree with you that people will NOT pressure me into doing stuff I don’t want- I won’t be doing either “toss” I don’t think- not my thing and I usually don’t like them at weddings

  5. Eating mindfully is a biggie on my list. I have my first 5K at the end of January and I am a little freaked out right now!! I’ve got a weight loss goal for the month and workout goals, the usual. Also working on being more kind and patient…both of which I was not graced with! Love the post!!

Leave a Reply

