2009 Recap

So, 2009 is drawing to a close.  Here’s a brief summary (also useful, because I didn’t start blogging until August!).

January

Since Tim proposed on New Year’s Eve, we started January out with the whole “OMG WE’RE ENGAGED!” shenanigans.  We got a bunch of cute engagement cards, which I saved.

(Gotta love the graduation card with “…on your engagement” written underneath it!)

I also got my ring sometime towards the end of the month–he proposed without it, we went shopping just after New Year’s, and it came in a week or two later.  This is my first horrible attempt at ring photography so my mom could see it:

At the end of January, we set a date for the wedding (5/8/10) and booked our reception venue.  It’s funny to think how far away everything seemed at that point–we were almost 16 months/500 days away at that point, and now we’re at about 4 months/130 days!

I also got into the swing of The New Rules of Lifting for Women and discovered that lifting can be super fun!

February

Um, I don’t remember February much.  Law school will do that to you.  Valentine’s Day?  I think we went out to dinner.  Good times.  Oh, yeah, we got all spiffed up and went to our final Barrister’s Ball of law school!

Every dress should really be accessorized with a Miller High Life wristband, don’t you think?

March

In March, we celebrated Tim’s big 2-5 with my first ever trip to Kansas City.  We hunted for and found our house (that we rent), and I got to see where we’d be living.  I also met all of Tim’s aunts and uncles that live there for the first time!  It involved a long road trip and we went to Cracker Barrel.  Tim was excited.

April

April…April.  Huh.  Don’t remember much about April either, probably because I was pushing through my final  round of law school finals.  They suck pretty hard, and I’m so glad I’ll never have to do it again.  Apparently, the only pictures I took in April were of the cats, so here you go.  Our cats, in April.  (Did you really think I could get through a recap of the entire year without cat pictures?  Come on, now.)

May

May was a big month.  First, we went to Chicago and took our gorgeous engagement pictures:

And I went dress shopping, but didn’t buy a dress.  (My ass looks pretty great in this one, though.)

(Look familiar?)

Then we graduated from law school!


And moved to Kansas City.  I had the pleasure of driving four hours with two screeching, screaming angry cats in the backseat.  I don’t recommend it.  By the time we arrived, my nerves were completely shredded.  I cried, I begged, and we had even given them a mild tranquilizer…it didn’t work.

On May 30, I found and bought my wedding dress!

We also started our bar review class.  No fun.

June

June was occupied mostly with bar review courses.  No fun.  But, we did manage to take a little break for my 25th birthday–we went out for Chicago-style deep dish pizza, and Tim bought me tickets to a White Sox-Royals game!  (I love baseball and the Sox are my team.)  We had incredible seats and the weather was bee-yoo-tee-ful.

Tim makes funny faces in pictures sometimes.

July

July is a big haze of bar review and taking the bar exam, which was entirely as awful as it sounds.  It was hot, I was cranky, and I was convinced I was going to fail.  Bad times, y’all.

But, I did manage to fly to Rhode Island for my beautiful friend Lindsey’s wedding!

But then, the exam was over and we were gloriously free!

August

On August 1, we departed for a beautiful vacation to the Outer Banks with Tim’s family.  I’d never been and it was gorgeous.  We really needed a long week at the beach after all our bar studying!

(Tim and his brother were dispatched to the ice cream truck more than once.)

Then, when we got home, my mom and sister came to visit KC and we picked out bridesmaid’s dresses.

Also, I started blogging at the end of the month.  Woo!

September

September was largely defined by panic over being unemployed.  I sent out a lot of resumes and applied for lots of jobs.  I also struggled with depression, which I haven’t talked about much here, but being out of work really took a toll on my emotional health.

I also ran my first race, and had so much fun I registered for a few more right away.

I think that part of the reason I got so addicted to racing was that even though I couldn’t find a job and I felt helpless, finishing races proved to me that I COULD do something and be successful.  It was an immense help to me, mentally.

October

In October, I got a job and started it!

We also went to Chicago and picked out our wedding cake, met our florist and officiant, and I ran a race with my sister.

When we got home, we officially adopted Milhouse and brought him home.

November

In November, I went on my first ever business trip.  And also I ran an 8K and another 5K!

We spent Turkey Day with Tim’s family and I shot guns and played with dogs. (Not at the same time, though.)

December

We went to visit my fambly for Christmas, and found out we’re going to be an aunt and uncle soon!

And now, on New Year’s Eve, I’m at work, planning to finish out the year tomorrow.  I remember New Year’s Day 2009 thinking of how big of a year this was going to be–I’d just gotten engaged, and in the next year I had to graduate, plan a wedding, move to a city I’d never even visited, take and pass the bar exam AND get a job.  I was overwhelmed and, frankly, scared shitless.   2009 was going to be the most stressful year of my life. I had no idea how I was going to do it all.

But I did.  It wasn’t easy.  I struggled.  I gained a few pounds.  I cried.  Tim was there to support me every step of the way, even when I was angry and felt cheated that I’d worked so hard to be rewarded with unemployment.

I made it through, and somehow, I will look back on 2009 as also one of the best years I’ve ever had because of the insane amount of things I made it through.  I went from student to gainful employed adult.  Tim and I moved in together and we got closer and our relationship grew stronger.   I ran, and I ate, and lifted.  I learned how much my family and friends mean to me because they are now out of my immediate reach.  I grew up, a lot.

Cheers, friends, and here’s to 2010!  (blows party horn)

11 Responses

  1. WOW! 2009 was an incredible year for you! I loved reading your recap. I feel like it really helped me get to know you better!

    We saw the Sox play the Royals here at the Cell a few years ago. I have only been to a few baseball games but I think they are fun!

    Did running help with the depression as well? I feel like it helps me with my anxiety issues!

  2. I am new to your blog. What a fantastic journey you’ve been on and what a great year! Love your summary in pics! Happy New Year!

  3. I feel much the same way – I grew up in ’09. Also a new lawyer. City girl living in the sticks. Got engaged. Planned a wedding. Gained a few pounds. Was also depressed at times. But had some great adventures!

    Here’s to the fantastic adventures we’ll have in 2009! 🙂

  4. Wow, that is such a crazy but awesome year! I’m glad you made it through it, think of how “easy” 2010 will be in comparison?!

  5. Happy New Year!!

  6. I love you! So proud of you 🙂 Happy New Year!

  7. Love it! All of it! I think I’m going to copy your idea too! Imitation is the best form of flattery, right? 😉

    It was a big year for me too. I’m exited to recap it. I’m not big on goals and shizz so this is more up my alley.

  8. Happy New Year! What’s that saying… “may the best day of your life be the worst day of your future”, or something like that. Anyway, in a nutshell – Here’s to an EVEN BETTER 2010!

  9. We were also sworn into the bar in September. Just sayin’ – Tim

  10. Woooonderful wrap-up post Brie!! Wow wow, it has been a huge year for you. Here I am thinking I had a big year with finishing school + getting a job, but damn, you finished Law school, moved cities and planned a wedding! Major props to you Brie, you are one strong woman 🙂 2010 is going to be awesome for you – I know it!

  11. Hello! I absolutely love your blog girly! Congrats on your weight loss! I got engaged in September, and I am on my weight loss journey currently. I added you to my blog roll and will be keeping up on your blog for sure! Good luck with everything this year. Your ring is amazing & so are you!

Leave a Reply

