Winter Wonderland

Kansas City got 8 or so inches of snow while we were gone for Christmas, and another 3-4 piled on overnight!  Look!

It’s the good snow–fluffy and pretty and not icy.  The roads were fine this morning on my way to work!

This morning I snacked on the most delicious pear.  Tim is a staunch Bartlett supporter, but I picked up Anjou last week because they looked 100 times better.  And it was pretty awesome, I must say.  (Woulda been better with almond butter, though.  But isn’t everything?)

After work I headed to the gym for a bit of strength training.  I forgot my lifting gloves, so my game was off and I had another kinda ADD workout.  I did:

  • 5 minute warmup on the treadmill
  • 3 sets of 12 squats at 135 lbs.
  • 3 sets of 12 deadlifts at 75 lbs.
  • 2 sets of 12 shoulder presses at 40 lbs.
  • 2 sets of 12 Bulgarian split squats at 40 lbs.
  • 15 minutes on the elliptical with the resistance maxed out

The problem with lifting is that halfway through, I get HANGRY.  Like, thinking about breakfast cookies and pickles and almond butter constantly hangry.  And my gym’s half an hour from home!  Strangely enough, (or probably not), lifting always makes me desperately crave eggs.  So guess what was for dinner?

An egg and two egg whites with some cheese, and two slices of wheat toast, one with AB&J and one with a little buttah.  Delish!  It totally hit the spot.  I finished about 15 minutes ago, though, and my tummy’s still a-rumbling.  Hmm…

Happy New Year’s Eve Eve!  Don’t forget to enter my super awesome Road ID giveaway!

6 Responses

  1. Wow thats a lot of snow! I seriously hope that snow does not come up to me!

  2. Gorgeous snow. Send some here!

  3. Arrghhh, the snow is driving me nuts. I hate shoveling with a passion. Maybe I should take the bus for the rest of the winter 😛

    I only ever buy bartlett pears – I need to branch out!

    And weightlifting makes me crave eggs too. Odd. Not egg salad either, but greasy fried ones 😉

  4. What pretty snow! Weightlifting makes my hungry too!

  5. Jeez that’s a lot of snow. I live in North Carolina so we hardly ever get snow… It really is pretty!

  6. Steven’s parents told us how much snow they had to clean off their car (parked at the airport) when they got back to KC! Yikes!

    I always get hungry when I am doing weights too. Strange!

Leave a Reply

