RoadID Review and Giveaway!

So, in my quest to become a safe runner with my asthma problems, I decided that the time had come to get a RoadID.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with them, RoadIDs are identification tags worn by athletes (or, really, anyone who wants to be safe) with personal contact information and medical information in case of an illness or injury that leaves you unable to speak for yourself.  Unfortunately, when I’m having an asthma attack, it can be difficult for me to speak clearly (or at all), so I figured this would be a good way to go.  This gives emergency workers (and, heck, even concerned citizens) a way to know who to call and if you have any medical issues.

RoadID offers IDs that can be worn on your shoe, around your neck, or as a wristband.  Because I am ridiculously indecisive, I spent quite awhile agonizing over what I should get.  I decided against the shoe one, because I might like to take up swimming in the future and I would want one I could bring with me for that.  I also thought that if something is wrong with me, people might not be looking at my shoes first.  I was debating between the wrist and the neck version, but ultimately went with the wristband because I thought a bouncing necklace might be bothersome.  I also realized that the wristband could be worn a multitude of ways, as I’ll demonstrate later.

This is my Road ID!  I went with a nice bright purple so it would attract attention in case of an emergency.  Plus, it’s my alma mater’s color, so good luck, right?  (Although their sports history isn’t so great, so maybe not…)

(I put “Husband” on there a bit prematurely because I didn’t want to have to get a new one in 4 months!  I verified with Tim that he would, indeed, respond to any phone calls saying “Your wife, Brieanne, has been injured while running.”)  The blurred out areas are my last name and emergency contact phone numbers.  I also noted that I have asthma, which is pretty relevant, and that I’m allergic to Ceclor (which would really be important if I needed an antibiotic for any reason.)

I also could not think of a good phrase, so I put “Run Faster” on it, because, uh, why not.

I’ve been wearing my RoadID in the last few weeks during my workouts.  I even wear it at the gym, because it’s entirely feasible that I could get injured there and my bag with ID is usually locked in a locker that only I have the combination to.  It’s not just for outdoorsy types!

My only tiny issue is that I do find the RoadID a little scratchy/irritating to my wrist.  I have really sensitive skin, and even if I loop it loosely it bothers me a bit.  I’m hoping that with more wear, it will get a little softer, but until then, I’ve devised a few tricky little solutions!  (It’s fine when I’m running outdoors in long sleeves, but this is for when I’m indoors in a tank top or short sleeves.)

Solution 1: Loop it around the strap of my tank top.  I did this at the gym twice and it was fine, other than looking a little weird.

Solution 2:  Loop it on my SPIbelt.

Solution 3: Loop on shoe.  (I’m doing this until I miraculously get over my swimming issues.)

Solution 4.  Get a necklace and put it on that.  Haven’t done this yet, because I’m very happy with my shoe-lution for the time being!

So, yeah, not a big deal.

All in all, I give the RoadID a hearty endorsement.  Despite the minor comfort issues, it’s a worthwhile investment to have the peace of mind I need that I’m being responsible while running!

RoadID has been awesomely generous enough to offer TWO (count ’em, one, two) $35 gift cards to Fit Bride readers! This is enough to pay for their fanciest RoadID, the Elite, and shipping too!  Shipping to Canada is just $1.49, so this will also be good for my northernmost readers.

Here’s how to enter.  Again, you can enter up to three times!

  1. Leave a comment on this post about the saying you would put on your RoadID, obviously something cooler than “Run Faster.”  It must be less than 24 characters!  (Or, 48 characters, split over two lines.)
  2. Follow me and tweet the following on Twitter: “I want to be safe and win a RoadID from @thefitbride! http://wp.me/pCOfh-mI” then come back and comment that you tweeted.
  3. Blog about the giveaway, and come back and leave a link to your post.

The giveaway will end at noon on Monday, January 4 and winners will be selected at random and announced later that day.

Happy entering!  Start your new year off safely!

63 Responses

  1. I’ve been dying for a road ID! As much as I want to be safe, I really just want it for the motivation line. 🙂

    Mine would be “Thats not what ships are made for”. I went to an outdoor survival school when I was younger, and they taught us that you always had to leave your comfort zone to grow as a person. The full quote is “A ship is safe in harbor, but that’s not what ships are made for” It was always a huge motivation to me.

    Novel done. I hope I win! Thanks Brie!!!

  2. Meggowaffles tweeted, too. 🙂

  3. great giveaway!! I would write something really lame like “don’t stop believing” lol

  4. I retweeted! from @blastcapsgirl
    Ran my first 15K this fall and loved it! This is a great idea. I’m new to all running “gadgets” and think this is fabulous.

  5. I would put on my Road ID: Finish your race strong.

  6. “I want to be safe and win a RoadID from @thefitbride! http://wp.me/pCOfh-mI” was RT also. Thanks @TheFitBride !

  7. I’ve been procrastinating getting a RoadID for some time now. My husband is a paramedic and he saysa RoadID would be super beneficial in case if anything were to ever happen. On mine, I would put “Run like a MoFo.” It doesn’t mean the obvious. It means run like a crazy person (at 5 am on Saturday mornings for 20 miles)

  8. Christina416 also tweeted!

  9. Great giveaway! My fiance just got me one for christmas (and he put husband, too, since we’ll be married in three months) and I love it! Re: the comfort issue- my id is the rubbery material and I don’t even notice it while I run. Not that that helps you now or anything. Good luck everyone!

  10. I asked for one of these for Christmas and didn’t get one!
    I would put: Keep going

    because that’s all you have to do, just keep going.

  11. This is a very good idea. I think I would put something along the lines of “Keep Moving.” It’s so easy to stop when you are by yourself.

  12. “Breathe through it” because I have asthma and I have to tell myself to breathe through it when it gets difficult!

  13. I’d put “Shut up and ride.”
    Quit yapping and just ride your bike! 🙂

  14. I love me some Abba and so I’d put- The winner takes it all.

  15. hmmm….well, I’m not super creative, so I think on my band I would put: The Little Runner Who Could

  16. Great giveaway!

    I’m not super creative, but I’d probably put
    “Don’t stop believin’!” (my Nike+ power song) or

    “Keep pushing- almost there!”

  17. Difficult things take a long time, impossible things take a little longer is a great quote so I would probably put “impossible things take a little longer”

  18. I tweeted! RunnJRun is my twitter name.

    I would put “I run because I am able” on my RoadID.

    I ran a 5k for the Special Olympics and it was just really inspirational.

  19. I would write: Keep Running

  20. Just tweeted your message!

  21. I would put “Faster, Looser”
    It’s the mantra I say when I’m nearing the end of a race and my arms start to tighten up! It helps me through the last bit!

  22. I am so excited about the RoadID, and have been meaning to get one for a while! I mostly run from my house on rural roads, and it would be comforting to know someone would be able to contact someone if something happened to me! I think on mine, I would put “I love hills!”

  23. As a daughter of two people who I could easily describe as “Officer Safety” this is a great thing!! I would write on mine “The camera doesn’t lie” because I hate being disappointed with how I look in photos and that definitely motivates me!

  24. That looks like a great safety device! I would put “you can do it” haha or something equally cheeseball

  25. This is a great giveaway! I’d probably put:

    “Impossible=I’m Possible”

    I think of that whenever I feel like I just absolutely can’t make it one more rep or like something just won’t ever work out the way I want it to.

  26. sarahalazar tweeted it!

  27. I love the idea and want one asap

    I think if you can’t wear it on your arm, your show is an excellent choice.

    I would put Boom Boom Pow! it’s my fav song to run to

    I will retweet now and blog later

  28. I never run or cycle without my Road ID! Everyone should have a Road ID, great peace of mind for your family.

  29. I’d put “off foul flubber” on mine.

  30. I love my road i’d best thing I have ever got and I get my athletes and friends to wear them as well iam a triathlete so my safey so important to me and my loved ones and to know if a had a crash etc I would have that info to hand for 999 is a god send

  31. I would put “Give ‘er” 😛

  32. Aaaaannnd tweeted!

  33. How about “just keep running, just keep running”

  34. Oh my gosh I’d looooove to win one of these! I’d have to put on mine Change of Pace just because change of pace was figurative and literal for me. I changed my pace of walking to running and changed my pace of mindset. Corny I know but hey it works for me!

    My other idea was “just keep running” but someone already used that one. That’s what my husband sings to me when I run with him.

  35. I followed you on twitter (I didn’t know you had one!) and tweeted it!

  36. Plus I blogged about it… Can you tell I really want one 😉

  37. This would be great as I start training for a half-marathon!!!

    Following you on twitter

  38. Survivor rides again!

  39. I am a cyclist who has been dying for a RoadID! I ride my bike to and from work at night and a RoadID would be very useful for First Responders if I crash.
    I would say put something like “Ride hard or die trying, LIVESTRONG”.
    Thanks for this giveaway
    -Corey Gray
    cgray92@gmail.com

  40. I just tweeted, “I want to be safe and win a RoadID from @thefitbride! http://wp.me/pCOfh-mI”. I wanna RoadID bad!

  41. I just posted this to my blog site at http://www.cyclingblog.net/wp-admin/post.php?action=edit&post=463&message=8.

    Please I want the RoadID

  42. I would put…Burn Baby Burn

  43. I’m Fondo my Road ID.

  44. We had Road IDs on our Christmas list and no one got them for us! We use dog tags now, but I would love one! I think I would write “Never Give Up” on mine. Or “every journey starts with one step” if that would fit… hmm.

    Great giveaway!

  45. I linked to the giveaway here.

  46. […] December 31, 2009 · Leave a Comment over on Fit Bride […]

  47. I love the purple!

    I’m torn between:
    You have this in the bag
    and
    I’ve fallen and I can’t get up

    Probably the first one huh?

  48. i’d choose black. because i love black.

    my motto on the road id? my blog title:

    trayn harder

  49. I would probably put “Run with joy” on my Road ID. It reminds me of Gilbert’s Gazelles – a local running group here in Austin founded by Gilbert Tuhabonye. His story inspires me so much! You can read about him on runner’s world:

    http://www.runnersworld.com/article/1,7120,s6-243-297–9818-0,00.html

  50. great giveaway!!

    I’d put ENJOY YOURSELF on my Road ID. When I’m running I sometimes have to remember that I’m doing this for fun!

  51. I have been procrastinating on getting a Road ID for AGES!!! I think I would put something like “Dig Deep” or “Finish Strong.”

  52. I’d probably put “Never Give Up” on mine, because though I’ve felt defeated in my running/weight loss, I haven’t given up and am still chugging along- although at a somewhat slower pace right now.

  53. My line would say Keep It REAL

  54. I can’t believe I still don’t have one of these with how far out I run and bike! I’d put “Push Harder” or “Remember Why You Started”!

  55. […] Have a great Saturday.  Don’t forget to enter my RoadID Giveaway! […]

  56. I’d put “Keep Running” or “Never look back” on my RoadID!

  57. I would put Power Through on mine.

  58. I would put “Just keep swimming” on mine….from Finding Nemo!

    I would love to have a RoadID…my husband is so paranoid I am going to hurt myself but my phone is too big for the tiny pockets on my running clothes!

  59. Oooh, enter me! This is such an amazing giveaway! And you make a GREAT point about it not being for just the outdoor workouts! I’m not quite sure what I’d write on there… maybe: STRENGTH IS BEAUTIFUL…

  60. Is the RoadID contest over. Great product. Especialy if you’re a bike commuter like me

Leave a Reply

