Christmas break!

Christmas break!   Christmas break!

Preparations for our big Christmas trip are underway.  We fly out of Kansas City tomorrow morning around 9 and will hopefully be in Chicago by 10:30.  Then we’ll be driving to visit family.  I am crossing my fingers super hard that winter weather doesn’t get in the way!

Today work crept by so slowly.  On my lunch break, I picked up two books for reading on my trip, plus one to slip in my mom’s stocking.

But finally, 5 o’clock rolled around and I left.  FINALLY my laptop was ready to be picked up from the Geek Squad at Best Buy.  I was so excited to get her back!  I brought her home, plugged her in…and guess what?  She’s still broken!

I ate dinner quickly and turned around and went straight back to Best Buy, where they informed me that I needed a new AC adapter, which they did not have and I’d have to order.  Oh, and they knew this two weeks ago, but they didn’t tell me them and were extremely rude.  Screw you, Best Buy!  I have the new adapter ordered and I’m using Tim’s computer for the time being.

I went home and had a small meltdown.  Every once in awhile, I need to yell and swear loudly.  Today was that day.  But, it’s out of my system now, laundry is in the washer/dryer, suitcases are mostly packed, and hopefully I’ll have my computer back next week (ugh).

I will not be blogging again until Sunday.  Between broken computers, and families, and limited luggage space I’m going to take a bit of a break.  But, I will take lots of pictures and do a nice long recap when I get home!  I’ll also be tweeting from my phone.

Because today was a giant clusterfuck, here are some cute animal pictures I took last night to save this post.  (This is a pretty cheap trick of blogging, I know.  Sorry, guys.)

Merry Christmas!  I hope you are able to enjoy time with loved ones, reflect on the last year, and have a peaceful, happy, healthy day.

9 Responses

  1. Cheap tricks work on me! Especially when they involve adorable kittehs!!!

  2. 1) Best Buy blows huge ass chunks.
    2) LOL @ clusterfuck and having screamin/cursing fits. LOVE IT. Story of my life.
    3) Millhouse is ADORBS. I will steal him. Seriously. Don’t leave me unsupervised with that pooch. (Ew, that sounded bad.)

  3. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas!!!

  4. Haha, I think screaming and cursing may be better than my “call mommy and break down crying” method. My poor mom has three daughters who have a bad habit of doing this on a regular basis 😛

    Well at least the cord is on its way! Probably a sign of some sort to take a break from the computer and enjoy your break. My last day at work yesterday was loooong too. Have a wonderful trip home/Christmas!!!

  5. Aww! I always love animals pics.

    What is up with the LAME-ASS Best Buy service? I hope you file a complaint. That is BS that they didn’t tell you. Ha. My computer is all effed up right now too (I have a big laptop and a baby one – it’s the big one). I am trying not to be upset about it, but I am feeling a bit “why me?” It has a virus and I have NO IDEA how it got on there. I am not one to click on random stuff.

    My in-laws are flying to Chicago from KC today too! Hope you have a great flight! 🙂

    Merry Christmas!

  6. Have an awesome trip! I am reading Girl with the Dragon Tattoo over my vacation too 🙂

  7. Geek Squad is awful! My computer crashed a few years ago and they said there was nothing they could do to save what was on my hard drive… a friend of mine looked at it and in half an hour he had everything on a disk for me! Aaaaaargh!!!

    On a side note, I love your honesty on your blog. You seem like such a real person, something that is lacking in the blog community. Thank you for your genuineness (that’s a real word, right?) and sincerity.

  8. Safe travels and merry christmas! How annoying with the computer- I would have flipped my sh*t too.

    I loove that picture of Milhouse- what a cutie!

  9. […] poor old laptop in the junk heap and decided to give me a free, brand new laptop so I’d stop heckling their geeks every two months.  Hooray!  So, that was awesome […]

Leave a Reply

